??!
1 photo
Holden Astra TS

Holden Astra TS (1998-2005)

3.5 from 118 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Finally said goodbye to my 18 year old Astra

published

Purchased in January 2003 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick B.

Nick B.Dunsborough

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AshlynSusan

AshlynSusanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Fun Fun Fun in the Sun

published

Great all rounder car for cruising etc
Good on fuel consumption, Performance & handling on the road with the power when you need it Perfect.
If it rains while enjoying the roof down, going 50km or more you do NOT get wet. Back seat is roomy for all passengers.
Bertone interior looks stylish with sports seats that are so comfortable, even has heater in the seats for warmth in Winter

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra TS compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

JohnAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

12 Years trouble free

published

Really loved my 2.2 Sri. Had a punchy engine that got upto speed quick. Gear box was smooth but clutch seemed a bit on the touchy side. In my ownership i never had problem and thought the car was well put together. The only problem i had was with the rear wing, you lost a lot of vision from behind with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2003
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Natasha

NatashaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

2002 City Coupe - first car - owned for 5 years now

published
BodyCoupe
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great car, sweet to drive

published

I loved this car. Been very reliable and is a sweet car to drive, I loved it so much. Purchased second hand, was my very first car. Had a Holden Astra 2003 Manual. I found it easy to drive, changing gears was pretty easy to learn in and I felt very safe driving it. Great for learners or first car or just a round around. I wouldn't say it is the best for doing long distances, but still goes pretty strong witj no issues!
Have had no major issues apart from replacing the starter motor which was fairly cheap, otherwise I seriously had no problems!! It was my pride and joy, handles pretty well. The only thing was the air-con was pretty dodgy and got hot, but otherwise was great.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim

TimSydney

  • 31 reviews
  • 29 likes

Really enjoyed owning this car

published

Great combination of punchy engine, smooth ride, feeling of solid build, and incredible ease of parking.
Great storage space in the hatch. If they are regularly serviced they should be long lasting as a used car proposition. Don't know why people say they were bad - perhaps build quality was variable but mine is lasting just fine.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karmaisking

KarmaiskingNSW, 2011

  • 21 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great car

published

If you service it this particular iteration of the car (2001) was excellent. Great drive, good stereo, spacious boot, comfortable, punchy, good auto transmission. Don't know about the reliability of the later models - it actually went worse apparently. I bought NEW and have had it for 14 years. That's saying something. Service has been good from Suttons City. Can't really complain, it's been a loyal and reliable car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jinx

JinxCaloundra

Never had a problem

published

Alot of people go about how astras a crap, ive owned a ts city 2001 since new, only problem ive had was the ignition, maybe if people get them serviced when there surposed to they would find they will have no problem at all. It's the best small car of its time.

BodySedan
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra TS compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
needsleep

needsleepSydney

  • 3 reviews

2005 Astra TS Classic Equipe - Manual Hatch

published

Just wanted to say how brilliant the Astra TS Classic Equipe 2005 (manual) has been for me. I can't say for the other models but this was the last of it's series and has been rock solid. I bought it new in 2005 and I've always done the regular log book service + extra brakes/pads/dics/tyres as needed. It's been a brilliant car! It's about to go for it's 180k major service next week. I look forward to driving this for atleast another two years.

Purchased in February 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aidan Lawrence

Aidan LawrenceSouth Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

A brilliant little car.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charles

Charles

  • 3 reviews

Great runner had from new but getting on now

published
BodySedan
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
Charles
Charles
Charles
Charles
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EVM

EVMAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Ours is not a lemon. Still great after 10+ years. 2004 CDX TS

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeCDX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
track

trackWagga Wagga

I love my Astra Convertible!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeBertone
BodyConvertible
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris Mansell

Chris MansellFisherman's bay

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

So far awesome

published
TransmissionAuto
BadgeBertone
BodyConvertible
3 comments
Chris Mansell
Chris Mansell

One year on still love it-

Chris Mansell
Chris Mansell

Over two years now, great little car. Had to spend a bit on roof but otherwise really reliable. Heated seats work well, everything is still great. love this car

Chris Mansell
Chris Mansell

Coming up to 3 Years now, still love this car, reliable, fun, handles like a dream

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra TS compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

1999 Astra

published

I got this car 4 months ago off a dealership. It has done 223000 kms. Car has been kept in excellent shape. I have done about 9000 kms in these 3 months and I havent had a single glitch. Mine is the CD model. I hope I dont curse it by sharing this info. The only thing not working are the backlights of the lcd screen...so far. On a full tank i have tried going upto 550km, i think it can do a bit more.

Cheers
Reliable, fuel efficient
Lcd backlights

Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
2 comments
Shaza
Shaza
scm
scm

Hi Armaan, I am researching the Holden Astra at the moment and I'm curious if you still have yours and if it remained trouble free?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GTA Driver

GTA DriverSydney

  • 2 reviews

Just perfect!!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeBertone
BodyConvertible
1 comment
Pam
Pam

I have the same in the Bertone edition. 2005, and having trouble with the ABS and need it replaced or repaired. Anyone else had this trouble and got any hints.
Pam :-)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Astra TS - Reliable with a strong engine.

published
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
BadgeClassic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Holden Astra 2002 Equipe

published

Fairly good car. I bought it with 126,000 kms on the clock 2 years ago and now I have done just over 150,000 kms over this period with a glitch. I have had it checked at two different mechanics and they can't find any issues with it. Might need to change the brake pads soon though. Also I am bit worried with the ECU failing having heard few horror stories from other owner.
Efficient, reliable (so far)
No bells and whistle. Very simple car

Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best in the world

published

Had one for 11years an SXi in metallic silver never had a problem not as much as a light run out it 1.6 16v engine gets us around quickly even when driving smoothly I would recommend this car to anyone it's brilliant and so is Holden I had a vauxhall in England another Astra same story there
Reliable, quick, safe
Heavy car

TransmissionManaul
BodyConvertible
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

CGR

CGRasked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

I'm changing the alternator in my 2001 TS Astra, but cant get the plug undone that connects to the old alternator. Any tips on how to get this undone? The cord for the plug is very short so i cant pull the alternator out to see how the plug works

No answers
Matthew James jong

Matthew James jongasked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

make of 2003 2.0 litre turbo astra, is it Vauxhall or Holden and country of origin please ???

No answers
Con

Con asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Hi I have a 03 1.8 astra I had engine light come on had it scanned and came up with crank Angel sensor replaced it with a new one drove ok for about 1k then engine light came on again with the same code

No answers
See all Holden Astra TS (1998-2005) questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Astra TS (1998-2005)

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars, Convertibles, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $43,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
Fuel Consumption8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L
Max Power108kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1998
Discontinuation dateJan 2005
Replaced byHolden Astra AH
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

Other Convertibles

Previous
Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

4.3
(37)
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.4
(13)
Next

See all Convertibles

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.