??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra (page 2 of 13)

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 256 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
87
4 star
76
3 star
31
2 star
32
1 star
30

Nick B.

Nick B.Dunsborough

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Chimmy

ChimmyHighett

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very smooth

published

We brought our Astra in June. I’m super happy with it. We originally owned a Cruze and as much as I like it this car is better. The smoothness of it is what I love he most and it’s turbo. The features in it are great (apple car play) the old system was a bit slow but not any more I connect straight away. The boot is large which is great with a pram the back seats are roomy. Have had two adults and a car seat and everyone was fine. For what I paid and what I got I’m over the moon thanks Holden

BodySedan
BadgeLS+
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Dalma

DalmaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Perfect car

published

I absolutely love this car! Great space in the boot as it’s a sedan, plus it also has all the extras you might need in your every day driving apart from an electric engine. Average fuel consumption is around 5.7-6.5l. Really comfortable, easy to use interface, huge screen and wheels which help you to focus more on the traffic rather than worrying about how to operate what.

BodySedan
BadgeLT
Engine Size1.4 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Awful Truth

Awful TruthGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car heaps of features

published

Very impressed with this vehicle for under $20k, have compared with other vehicles, has day time driving lights, rain sensor wipers, stop start, Emergency Bracking, lane keeping assistance, auto lights, reverse camera and rear sensors, Apple car play, DAB radio, Seven inch touch screen, seventeen inch alloy wheels, leather steering, 1.4 litre turbo very fuel efficient, made in Europe. Great styling with piano finish. Seriously most expensive vehicles don't gave half the stuff. Also 7 year warranty with 3 year roadside (RACV)......

BodyHatch
BadgeR Plus
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Beck

BeckPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy fix for Holden Astra !!!!

published

If your Astra overheats,
goes into limp mode,
or just plain and simple runs like crap, then call me in Western Australia to fix or perhaps improve the way it runs. My mobile is 0400501037. I have had two TS Astra sedans over the years and since I made this simple modification no limp mode or faults have come and both cars have been driven by learner drivers constantly stalling.....

BodySedan
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Sam ADAM

Sam ADAMNowra

  • 4 reviews

DON'T BUY THIS TRASH

published

Bought this car in 2014 for $7000 however, I had to spend another $4000 repairs
The car shakes/judders when driving at 60km or higher. The sports button makes the car undrivable. Another typical European Holden, nothing but problems.

Avoid at all costs especially L and P platers as we don't have that much money to spend.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Cee

CeeAdelaide

Better now Holden dont touch it

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009

Rae

Rae

  • 3 reviews

Astra must mean a Star.

published

My Astra Hatchback 2016 is one of a kind and I seriously rarely have seen another pass me. The sat nav is not great to use in a hurry. Twirling the dial back and forth and over and over for each letter is very tiresome. I end up using my Google Map app on my phone. Side vision is limited, but the electrics have not let me down more than once. Warranty covered that sad little affair. ( Whatever a broken front camera is, it stopped working)

BodyHatch
BadgeLimited Edition
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

AshlynSusan

AshlynSusanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Fun Fun Fun in the Sun

published

Great all rounder car for cruising etc
Good on fuel consumption, Performance & handling on the road with the power when you need it Perfect.
If it rains while enjoying the roof down, going 50km or more you do NOT get wet. Back seat is roomy for all passengers.
Bertone interior looks stylish with sports seats that are so comfortable, even has heater in the seats for warmth in Winter

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

A real surprise! Great value, comfortable and fun to drive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRsv
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Jess Lucas

Jess Lucas

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great little hatchback

published

Great little car. We were looking for something that performed similarly to our VW Golf, but with improved reliability. (We spent more on repairs for the Golf than it was worth!).

The Holden Astra ticked all the boxes. It was affordable, small, but also provided a good driving experience.

1) Excellent handling and performance, low noise, nimble around corners, good acceleration (considering it is a 1.4L engine).
2) Simple, clean interior. Nothing too fancy, not 'gadgety'.
3) Economical. Costs $50 AUD to fill up.
4) Looks nice enough, considering it's a small car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.4L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Stacey J

Stacey JAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Favourite car!

published

My car got written off and I bought a second hand Holden Astra and have never looked back! It feels so good to drive it’s so smooth, not too big on the outside but spacious five seater on the inside and best of all it’s very cheap on fuel! It’s honestly the best car I have ever owned!

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great buy

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR+
Engine Size1.4 turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Mary	Falconer

Mary FalconerRedondo Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Dream Car

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Luke

LukeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Ronnie D

Ronnie D

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dream Car

published

Oh wow, I so love my new Astra. Replaced my 2004 Astra, was so happy with the old car decided to stick with Astra. Looked at a few new ones, and fell in love with this sleek black 4 door hatch back, was a demo model. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great. Sensors here there and everywhere, so many features, still learning them. My son informed me the Sport setting/button works well. Real good on fuel consumption.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi Turbo
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Viv

VivSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car! Best purchase ever made

published

Absolute killer of a car. Engine growls at low revs and the body is an elegant but sporty shape. Plenty of legroom and leather seats are super comfortable. However there is a bit of turbo lag especially at lower speeds and at 11.0L/100km, she's a thirsty one that will keep your petrol costs high. Overall I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking for a stunner and a great driving experience.

BodyCoupe
BadgeVXR
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

woodunn

woodunnHahndorf

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great low down grunt and good looking to boot

published

Good value top of the range hatch.
Plenty of power and smart traditional automatic.
Handles great around the Adelaide Hills and also on the open road.
Fantastic technology with DAB radio, Android Auto, Apple Carplay, self parking, heated seats..........
We found the seats in the R and RS too tight with the side bolsters however the RS-V with leather have a wider seat base and are very comfortable.
The lumbar support adjusts vertically and horizontally.
The only downside so far is it requires 95RON as a minimum.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

BP93

BP93Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Simplicity at its finest!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 2 of 13

Questions & Answers

Jaider

Jaiderasked

I have a AH 2005 Astra. The break and blinker lights are fixed, but keep showing on the panel as NOT and the same with the Coolant. Would that be fuse or anything else?
Thank you.

No answers

Laurie S.

Laurie S.asked

Battery CCA rating for warm clinatw

No answers

CHRISTOPHER E.

CHRISTOPHER E.asked

Will a ah astra motor and box work in a ts astra

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.