??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra (page 3 of 14)

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 264 reviews

Reviews

3.6

264 reviews
5
(93)
4
(77)
3
(31)
2
(33)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (17)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (18)
  • Handling
    4.6 (17)
  • Braking
    4.7 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (17)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (18)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (17)
  • Features
    4.0 (17)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great buy

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR+
Engine Size1.4 turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Mary	Falconer

Mary FalconerRedondo Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Dream Car

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luke

LukeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Ronnie D

Ronnie D

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dream Car

published

Oh wow, I so love my new Astra. Replaced my 2004 Astra, was so happy with the old car decided to stick with Astra. Looked at a few new ones, and fell in love with this sleek black 4 door hatch back, was a demo model. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great. Sensors here there and everywhere, so many features, still learning them. My son informed me the Sport setting/button works well. Real good on fuel consumption.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi Turbo
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Viv

VivSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car! Best purchase ever made

published

Absolute killer of a car. Engine growls at low revs and the body is an elegant but sporty shape. Plenty of legroom and leather seats are super comfortable. However there is a bit of turbo lag especially at lower speeds and at 11.0L/100km, she's a thirsty one that will keep your petrol costs high. Overall I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking for a stunner and a great driving experience.

BodyCoupe
BadgeVXR
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
woodunn

woodunnSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great low down grunt and good looking to boot

published

Good value top of the range hatch.
Plenty of power and smart traditional automatic.
Handles great around the Adelaide Hills and also on the open road.
Fantastic technology with DAB radio, Android Auto, Apple Carplay, self parking, heated seats..........
We found the seats in the R and RS too tight with the side bolsters however the RS-V with leather have a wider seat base and are very comfortable.
The lumbar support adjusts vertically and horizontally.
The only downside so far is it requires 95RON as a minimum.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
BP93

BP93Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Simplicity at its finest!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Pretty good

published

The engine is little small, but pretty economic. The interior are really good. I am very enjoy when I drive the car. Nothing have problem. It is a good first car. I guess. I would recommend this car probably. Running cost is not too high. The reliability is good. I guess I would have this car for a while.

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Austin

Austin

  • 2 reviews

Great value

published

The driving experience is smooth and fun. Hardly can hear any noise while driving. The insulation does a fantastic job. The ergonomics is perfect for a first car buyer like me. However, lots of cheap plastic in the cabin which makes the quality a bit nasty. Overall a very good first car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Awesome car when in function...

published

Why does my astra 05 sedan. TS model
Thump into reverse also thump into drive selection and yet the motor runs and sounds normal.However when in drive car does not want to preform like every other day... trans oil check
Engine oil check. Battery check.. may it be a sensor fault.. car starts fine. Need advice plz
Thanks... Sonya perth...

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Bones269

Bones269Belmont

Good reliable drive

published

Picked up our 05 Astra Bertone Convertible a few years ago and its been a very reliable drive. They are a good handling car with low outside noise and plenty of cabin room front and back. With the top down the radio increases and decreases volume as needed to compensate for the extra ambient noise. The only real negative is the size of the sunshield being to small to really make much of a difference.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Dean

DeanPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car. Love it!

published

Nice smooth drive, really love its fuel efficiency. Yes to take it for a country trip but can’t wait to go do. Apple Car Play very handy and heaps of information comes from the onboard computer. No regrets at all about my purchase. Will buy an Astra again once my 5-year warranty runs out.

BodyHatch
BadgeR Auto
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Pierre

PierreGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it! VXR is a beast!

published

This car is an absolute weapon. The little 2.0L turbo engine is amazing. I've owned my Astra VXR for over a year now after purchasing it new and I've not had a single complaint except maybe the fuel economy. Smiles per miles I tell myself when driving this car because you don't even think about fuel economy while driving this beast.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
warytravelly

warytravellyPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good ride for the price

published

The astra 1.4 sports hatch is comfortable to drive with an average economy which should be better. In saying this it looks good and well featured for the cost. The integrated handsfree works well and tends to fade a bit with varying noise levels. Overall with a 7 year new car warranty I can't complain

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phill Perry

Phill PerryQLD, 4053

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent!!

published

Fantastic car. I purchased the RSV with touring pack. Comes with a huge amount of features, drives like it's on rails and the 1.6 turbo is just perfect. I love the remote start and parking assist. The car needs no extras other than mats and tinting. Oh and it looks great!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
gori

goriAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not a Bad for safety

published

Saved my life in a massive car accident, thank god airbags worked. It was very unfortunate incident, although I believe mechanically this car wasnt A-one but m more happy to be alive. at the time of purchase it felt like a very strong carand reliable too but later iit gave me a little issues

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003
jess

jesstoowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

this is a great car need some ideas too get it fixed

published

I have not driven the car but would love too have my beautiful car on the road. And I need a bit of help to make this hapoen. My car has some sort of problem it won't kick over and it need a water pump replacement would this have anything too do with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my astra

published

I've always owned a Holden car and this won't change. I recently upgraded from my old astra and this new one certainly doesn't disappoint. The running costs are minimum as its great on petrol. I love all the new dashboard gadgets and gizmos. Its also roomier than it looks from the outside. Very happy.

BodySedan
Badge60th Anniversary
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Margaret

MargaretRuse

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little beautiful vehicle

published

I find my Holden Astra GTC handles well for short and long distance, fantastic on petrol for my long distance travels.
I love the little red lights and the layout of the dash, I would just like something on the dash to tell me what gear I am in.
My car is only just 2 years old and had never had a issues. The services are quite reasonable which has allowed me to pay off my loan earlier.

BodyCoupe
BadgeGTC
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 3 of 14
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Geoff S

Geoff Sasked

Astra

Where is the immobiliser box on a 2002 2.2ltr man Holden astra

1 answer
Brian
Brian

For the Astra TS 1.8 litre the immobiliser is located in the steering column. It is probably the same for the Astra TS with the 2.2 litre engine.

Mass R.

Mass R.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Hi there
I have a Holden Astra TS 2003 manual. the dashboard light stopped working as well as the alarm for leaving lights on, so some times I forget to turn the lights off and get out of the car. I was wondering if anyone has the solution for it?
Thank you

No answers
Jamieson78

Jamieson78asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Hi i have got a 2005 Astra it tries to drive when i have foot on brake waiting for lights to change or at a stop sign if you put in neutral it seems to do the same sort of thing but maybe like a shudder is it the idling or ?? Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.