??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra (page 3 of 13)

BK, BL (Sedan), AH, PJ and TS
3.6 from 255 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
86
4 star
76
3 star
31
2 star
32
1 star
30

Austin

Austin

  • 2 reviews

Great value

published

The driving experience is smooth and fun. Hardly can hear any noise while driving. The insulation does a fantastic job. The ergonomics is perfect for a first car buyer like me. However, lots of cheap plastic in the cabin which makes the quality a bit nasty. Overall a very good first car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Awesome car when in function...

published

Why does my astra 05 sedan. TS model
Thump into reverse also thump into drive selection and yet the motor runs and sounds normal.However when in drive car does not want to preform like every other day... trans oil check
Engine oil check. Battery check.. may it be a sensor fault.. car starts fine. Need advice plz
Thanks... Sonya perth...

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010

Bones269

Bones269Belmont

Good reliable drive

published

Picked up our 05 Astra Bertone Convertible a few years ago and its been a very reliable drive. They are a good handling car with low outside noise and plenty of cabin room front and back. With the top down the radio increases and decreases volume as needed to compensate for the extra ambient noise. The only real negative is the size of the sunshield being to small to really make much of a difference.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Dean

DeanSafety Bay, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car. Love it!

published

Nice smooth drive, really love its fuel efficiency. Yes to take it for a country trip but can’t wait to go do. Apple Car Play very handy and heaps of information comes from the onboard computer. No regrets at all about my purchase. Will buy an Astra again once my 5-year warranty runs out.

BodyHatch
BadgeR Auto
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Pierre

PierreGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it! VXR is a beast!

published

This car is an absolute weapon. The little 2.0L turbo engine is amazing. I've owned my Astra VXR for over a year now after purchasing it new and I've not had a single complaint except maybe the fuel economy. Smiles per miles I tell myself when driving this car because you don't even think about fuel economy while driving this beast.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

warytravelly

warytravellyPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good ride for the price

published

The astra 1.4 sports hatch is comfortable to drive with an average economy which should be better. In saying this it looks good and well featured for the cost. The integrated handsfree works well and tends to fade a bit with varying noise levels. Overall with a 7 year new car warranty I can't complain

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Phill Perry

Phill PerryQLD, 4053

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent!!

published

Fantastic car. I purchased the RSV with touring pack. Comes with a huge amount of features, drives like it's on rails and the 1.6 turbo is just perfect. I love the remote start and parking assist. The car needs no extras other than mats and tinting. Oh and it looks great!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

gori

goriAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not a Bad for safety

published

Saved my life in a massive car accident, thank god airbags worked. It was very unfortunate incident, although I believe mechanically this car wasnt A-one but m more happy to be alive. at the time of purchase it felt like a very strong carand reliable too but later iit gave me a little issues

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003

jess

jesstoowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

this is a great car need some ideas too get it fixed

published

I have not driven the car but would love too have my beautiful car on the road. And I need a bit of help to make this hapoen. My car has some sort of problem it won't kick over and it need a water pump replacement would this have anything too do with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my astra

published

I've always owned a Holden car and this won't change. I recently upgraded from my old astra and this new one certainly doesn't disappoint. The running costs are minimum as its great on petrol. I love all the new dashboard gadgets and gizmos. Its also roomier than it looks from the outside. Very happy.

BodySedan
Badge60th Anniversary
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Margaret

MargaretRuse

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little beautiful vehicle

published

I find my Holden Astra GTC handles well for short and long distance, fantastic on petrol for my long distance travels.
I love the little red lights and the layout of the dash, I would just like something on the dash to tell me what gear I am in.
My car is only just 2 years old and had never had a issues. The services are quite reasonable which has allowed me to pay off my loan earlier.

BodyCoupe
BadgeGTC
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015

John

JohnAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

12 Years trouble free

published

Really loved my 2.2 Sri. Had a punchy engine that got upto speed quick. Gear box was smooth but clutch seemed a bit on the touchy side. In my ownership i never had problem and thought the car was well put together. The only problem i had was with the rear wing, you lost a lot of vision from behind with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2003

Tash

TashPerth

2002 City Coupe - first car - owned for 5 years now

published
BodyCoupe
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012

Puss car

published

Was bad would not reccomed don't not buy very pricey in parts and Labour over all bad experience I have a car that won't start after timing belt was replaced and now car won't start if anyone is looking can I plz have some answers if possible thanks in advance

BodySedan
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003

chuck

chuckSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

even better than the cruze

published

this is probably the best car I have owned. it is so responsive through the gears that you don't want to get out of it. the electronics are amazing and overall a great car. the only fault I could put on it is that it offers so much in the way of extras it will take me a while to get used to all of them

BodyHatch
BadgeCDXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
peteyman

peteymanMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great car!

published

Have had my new Astra RS-V for about eight weeks now and love it! Zippy around town and feels very capable on longer drives as well, did the drive up to Canberra last weekend and barely felt it. Great handling, very settled drive & a nice tight, sporty feel which is a step up from my old Cruze which this replaced. Also really like Carplay but I know that's not unique to the Astra.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

perfect

published

performance is really really good handling is really perfect not too too much noise though
I really like the interior including dashboard and legroom and etc
the car is really really reliable to my point of view and the running cost for mine is 7.7 petrol per 100 kilo metres

BodyHatch
Badgers
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Yusufs outdoors

Yusufs outdoorsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good If maintained

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Abe

AbeAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great reliable car

published

We bought this car when it was 10 years old. It has done 160,000km and has proven to be very reliable with no major issues so far. It is quite cheap to run for city trips, however on long highway trips it could really have done with having an extra gear, at 110 it's pushing close to 3000rpm. Overall it is a good car that we plan to keep for a while, I'd highly recommend them.

BodyWagon
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016

philip kerr

philip kerrbrisbane

  • 2 reviews

No help given

published

Reported that my dash panel not working eg temp fuel and speedo not working I was told to see a auto electrician I have already done that I was looking for advice of what was wrong with electric system not to contact auto electrician that was no help at all

BodySedan
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Page 3 of 13

Questions & Answers

Griff

Griffasked

How many fuel filters in 2001cd astra

No answers

mrjachenz

mrjachenzasked

Astra AH

hi, my astra wagon problem is, when i lock the door then i try to open one door behind the driver, it will unlock the whole car, even without using my remote. i did try to open the other door but only this one door can do like that. any idea what happen to my door?

No answers

Rob E.

Rob E.asked

2008 CDX Astra automatic
Car is turning over but wont start... it seems like a fuel pump
Can anyone help??

1 answer
Steve3500
Steve3500

When you turn the ignition key to the second position, you should hear the fuel pump priming,
If not it is a good chance it is faulty, especially if you run the car on empty a lot.
If you are not mechanically minded, you should take it to a mechanic to replace the pump!!


Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Details

Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LS+

Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LS+ (2017-2019)

5.0
(1)
Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LT

Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LT (2017-2019)

5.0
(1)
Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LTZ

Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LTZ (2017-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS Manual

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS Manual (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS Auto

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS Auto (2016-2019)

2.0
(1)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R Manual

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R Manual (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R Auto

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R Auto (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R+ Manual

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R+ Manual (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R+ Auto

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) R+ Auto (2016-2019)

4.0
(1)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS-V Manual

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS-V Manual (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS-V Auto

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) RS-V Auto (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra BK (Wagon) LS+

Holden Astra BK (Wagon) LS+

5.0
(1)
Holden Astra BK (Wagon) LT

Holden Astra BK (Wagon) LT

0.0
(0)
Holden Astra TS
  • Discontinued

Holden Astra TS (1998-2005)

3.5
(117)
Holden Astra AH
  • Discontinued

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

3.4
(98)
Holden Astra PJ
  • Discontinued

Holden Astra PJ (2015-2016)

5.0
(4)
Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LS
  • Discontinued

Holden Astra BL (Sedan) LS (2017-2018)

4.0
(1)
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars, Convertibles, Hatchbacks and SedansCars, Convertibles and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Sedans
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240$27,240$21,490$22,490$22,740$23,740$30,740$31,740$43,990$24,290$32,190$21,490
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel and PetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy16" Steel19" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors444555555552534
Seats555555555554555
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.3 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.8 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.3 L/100km8.2 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.5 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L48 L52 L52 L56 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm110kW @ 5600rpm110kW @ 5600rpm110kW @ 5600rpm110kW @ 5600rpm147kW @ 5500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm108kW @ 5800rpm103kW @ 6300rpm125kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm245Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2400-4800rpm245Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2400-4800rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm203Nm @ 4000rpm170Nm @ 3800rpm260Nm @ 1650-4500rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPolandPolandPolandPolandPolandPolandPolandPolandBelgiumBelgiumPolandSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 1998Jan 2004Jan 2015Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateJan 2005Dec 2009Dec 2016Dec 2018
Replaced byHolden Astra AHHolden Astra PJHolden Astra BK (Hatchback)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.