??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra (page 3 of 14)

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (19)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (19)
  • Braking
    4.7 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (19)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (20)
  • Handling
    4.6 (19)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (19)
  • Features
    4.0 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Jess Lucas

Jess Lucas

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great little hatchback

published

Great little car. We were looking for something that performed similarly to our VW Golf, but with improved reliability. (We spent more on repairs for the Golf than it was worth!).

The Holden Astra ticked all the boxes. It was affordable, small, but also provided a good driving experience.

1) Excellent handling and performance, low noise, nimble around corners, good acceleration (considering it is a 1.4L engine).
2) Simple, clean interior. Nothing too fancy, not 'gadgety'.
3) Economical. Costs $50 AUD to fill up.
4) Looks nice enough, considering it's a small car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.4L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Stacey J

Stacey JAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Favourite car!

published

My car got written off and I bought a second hand Holden Astra and have never looked back! It feels so good to drive it’s so smooth, not too big on the outside but spacious five seater on the inside and best of all it’s very cheap on fuel! It’s honestly the best car I have ever owned!

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great buy

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR+
Engine Size1.4 turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mary	Falconer

Mary FalconerRedondo Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Dream Car

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Luke

LukeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Ronnie D

Ronnie D

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dream Car

published

Oh wow, I so love my new Astra. Replaced my 2004 Astra, was so happy with the old car decided to stick with Astra. Looked at a few new ones, and fell in love with this sleek black 4 door hatch back, was a demo model. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great. Sensors here there and everywhere, so many features, still learning them. My son informed me the Sport setting/button works well. Real good on fuel consumption.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi Turbo
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Viv

VivSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car! Best purchase ever made

published

Absolute killer of a car. Engine growls at low revs and the body is an elegant but sporty shape. Plenty of legroom and leather seats are super comfortable. However there is a bit of turbo lag especially at lower speeds and at 11.0L/100km, she's a thirsty one that will keep your petrol costs high. Overall I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking for a stunner and a great driving experience.

BodyCoupe
BadgeVXR
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
woodunn

woodunnSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great low down grunt and good looking to boot

published

Good value top of the range hatch.
Plenty of power and smart traditional automatic.
Handles great around the Adelaide Hills and also on the open road.
Fantastic technology with DAB radio, Android Auto, Apple Carplay, self parking, heated seats..........
We found the seats in the R and RS too tight with the side bolsters however the RS-V with leather have a wider seat base and are very comfortable.
The lumbar support adjusts vertically and horizontally.
The only downside so far is it requires 95RON as a minimum.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BP93

BP93Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Simplicity at its finest!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Tai

TaiSouth Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty good

published

The engine is little small, but pretty economic. The interior are really good. I am very enjoy when I drive the car. Nothing have problem. It is a good first car. I guess. I would recommend this car probably. Running cost is not too high. The reliability is good. I guess I would have this car for a while.

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2011
Austin

Austin

  • 2 reviews

Great value

published

The driving experience is smooth and fun. Hardly can hear any noise while driving. The insulation does a fantastic job. The ergonomics is perfect for a first car buyer like me. However, lots of cheap plastic in the cabin which makes the quality a bit nasty. Overall a very good first car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Awesome car when in function...

published

Why does my astra 05 sedan. TS model
Thump into reverse also thump into drive selection and yet the motor runs and sounds normal.However when in drive car does not want to preform like every other day... trans oil check
Engine oil check. Battery check.. may it be a sensor fault.. car starts fine. Need advice plz
Thanks... Sonya perth...

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2010
Bones269

Bones269Belmont

Good reliable drive

published

Picked up our 05 Astra Bertone Convertible a few years ago and its been a very reliable drive. They are a good handling car with low outside noise and plenty of cabin room front and back. With the top down the radio increases and decreases volume as needed to compensate for the extra ambient noise. The only real negative is the size of the sunshield being to small to really make much of a difference.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Dean

DeanPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car. Love it!

published

Nice smooth drive, really love its fuel efficiency. Yes to take it for a country trip but can’t wait to go do. Apple Car Play very handy and heaps of information comes from the onboard computer. No regrets at all about my purchase. Will buy an Astra again once my 5-year warranty runs out.

BodyHatch
BadgeR Auto
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pierre

PierreGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it! VXR is a beast!

published

This car is an absolute weapon. The little 2.0L turbo engine is amazing. I've owned my Astra VXR for over a year now after purchasing it new and I've not had a single complaint except maybe the fuel economy. Smiles per miles I tell myself when driving this car because you don't even think about fuel economy while driving this beast.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
warytravelly

warytravellyPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good ride for the price

published

The astra 1.4 sports hatch is comfortable to drive with an average economy which should be better. In saying this it looks good and well featured for the cost. The integrated handsfree works well and tends to fade a bit with varying noise levels. Overall with a 7 year new car warranty I can't complain

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Phill Perry

Phill PerryQLD, 4053

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent!!

published

Fantastic car. I purchased the RSV with touring pack. Comes with a huge amount of features, drives like it's on rails and the 1.6 turbo is just perfect. I love the remote start and parking assist. The car needs no extras other than mats and tinting. Oh and it looks great!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
gori

goriAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Not a Bad for safety

published

Saved my life in a massive car accident, thank god airbags worked. It was very unfortunate incident, although I believe mechanically this car wasnt A-one but m more happy to be alive. at the time of purchase it felt like a very strong carand reliable too but later iit gave me a little issues

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003
jess

jesstoowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

this is a great car need some ideas too get it fixed

published

I have not driven the car but would love too have my beautiful car on the road. And I need a bit of help to make this hapoen. My car has some sort of problem it won't kick over and it need a water pump replacement would this have anything too do with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Page 3 of 14
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Haley C.

Haley C.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

My speedometer is not working on my Holden Astra TS series 2004 what is the problem with it.

No answers
Michael R.

Michael R.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Hi i have 2008 astra automatic and sometimes the car wont start until i tap the gear shift lever. When it dosent start the electrics come on, it just wont turn over. No warning light come either. Any ideas?

2 answers
Pandie
Pandie

The gear shift handle isn't quite closing the circuit to allow start. It's just a fraction of a millimetre out of alignment. Not worth fixing.
Just keep tapping it when it won't start.
No biggie.

Michael R.
Michael R.

Thanks mate. Sometimes it wint start at all and it takes 10 minutes of back n forth etc. I also want to get rid of it and not irritate the next owner.

Roy W.

Roy W.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Hi, 2005 Holden Astra CD AH Automatic, seems to be try to take off in 3rd or 4th. I change it manually and it runs fine. Occasionally All the gear selection lights All light up when selecting gears . There are No noises or gear slip. It has derated a few times, won't go over 80 kph, and won't go over 30 kph. Shut it down for 10 minutes and it starts and runs fine again. Cheers Roy

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.