??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra (page 4 of 14)

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (19)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (19)
  • Braking
    4.7 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (19)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (20)
  • Handling
    4.6 (19)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (19)
  • Features
    4.0 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my astra

published

I've always owned a Holden car and this won't change. I recently upgraded from my old astra and this new one certainly doesn't disappoint. The running costs are minimum as its great on petrol. I love all the new dashboard gadgets and gizmos. Its also roomier than it looks from the outside. Very happy.

BodySedan
Badge60th Anniversary
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Margaret

MargaretRuse

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little beautiful vehicle

published

I find my Holden Astra GTC handles well for short and long distance, fantastic on petrol for my long distance travels.
I love the little red lights and the layout of the dash, I would just like something on the dash to tell me what gear I am in.
My car is only just 2 years old and had never had a issues. The services are quite reasonable which has allowed me to pay off my loan earlier.

BodyCoupe
BadgeGTC
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
John

JohnAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

12 Years trouble free

published

Really loved my 2.2 Sri. Had a punchy engine that got upto speed quick. Gear box was smooth but clutch seemed a bit on the touchy side. In my ownership i never had problem and thought the car was well put together. The only problem i had was with the rear wing, you lost a lot of vision from behind with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2003
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Natasha

NatashaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

2002 City Coupe - first car - owned for 5 years now

published
BodyCoupe
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2012

Puss car

published

Was bad would not reccomed don't not buy very pricey in parts and Labour over all bad experience I have a car that won't start after timing belt was replaced and now car won't start if anyone is looking can I plz have some answers if possible thanks in advance

BodySedan
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003
chuck

chuckSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

even better than the cruze

published

this is probably the best car I have owned. it is so responsive through the gears that you don't want to get out of it. the electronics are amazing and overall a great car. the only fault I could put on it is that it offers so much in the way of extras it will take me a while to get used to all of them

BodyHatch
BadgeCDXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
peteyman

peteymanMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

Have had my new Astra RS-V for about eight weeks now and love it! Zippy around town and feels very capable on longer drives as well, did the drive up to Canberra last weekend and barely felt it. Great handling, very settled drive & a nice tight, sporty feel which is a step up from my old Cruze which this replaced. Also really like Carplay but I know that's not unique to the Astra.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

perfect

published

performance is really really good handling is really perfect not too too much noise though
I really like the interior including dashboard and legroom and etc
the car is really really reliable to my point of view and the running cost for mine is 7.7 petrol per 100 kilo metres

BodyHatch
Badgers
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Yusufs outdoors

Yusufs outdoorsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good If maintained

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Abe

AbeAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great reliable car

published

We bought this car when it was 10 years old. It has done 160,000km and has proven to be very reliable with no major issues so far. It is quite cheap to run for city trips, however on long highway trips it could really have done with having an extra gear, at 110 it's pushing close to 3000rpm. Overall it is a good car that we plan to keep for a while, I'd highly recommend them.

BodyWagon
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
philip kerr

philip kerrbrisbane

  • 2 reviews

No help given

published

Reported that my dash panel not working eg temp fuel and speedo not working I was told to see a auto electrician I have already done that I was looking for advice of what was wrong with electric system not to contact auto electrician that was no help at all

BodySedan
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 16 likes

Very Happy

published

Recently purchased an Astra RSV and absolutely love it. This car ticks all the boxes for me (particularly with the 147kw engine) and is a pleasure to drive. It's comfortable and has all the safety and comfort features that I require. The car handles well and the bonus of 5 years warranty and three years free servicing is a plus. Holden has a winner with this car!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017

Best of 10 cars I ever owned

published

Amazing handling like a sports car -solid build throughout- pretty reliable over 10 years - large boot space -perfect dimension vehicle and perfect size for parking - good road-holding dynamics -running costs fair- easily accessible engine- had to replace electric window control, boot lid struts and plastic coolant bottle in engine after nine years.

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2007
Jasonoze

JasonozePerth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

Great Smart Car

published

The driving experience is awesome. It didn't take long to get used to the car turning the engine off when stationary.
Car is very comfortable with a lot of tech and smart capabilities.
Running costs are very efficient and can afford to but PULP as it travels longer than most sedans.
So happy with the latest offerings from Holden too.

BodySedan
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Naomi

NaomiSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car is great
Reliable...zippy...good fuel economy
After time the interior door panels came loose.
The colour and exterior has withstood the elements well.
Strangely the clutch and brake pedals feel incredibly close together and I would prefer it had some cup holders. But generally a gregreat car. Although a manual car in the city can be tough going in the traffic.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.9L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
emma.w

emma.wMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, zippy and attractive model

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
jawd

jawdAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Car

published

Recently purchased an Astra RSV and could not be happier. Powerful turbo engine yet economical. Very stylish dash with everything at your finger tips. One of the things that stood out is how well the car handles and steers which is an improvement over the Hyundai i30. Quiet inside and love the safety kit together with adaptive cruise control. Car came with free servicing for 3 years and 5 year warranty. Never considered a Holden before but the Astra is a gem!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
snapback

snapback

  • 46 reviews
  • 23 likes

Generally good, but problems appear with age

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2002
Sandra

SandraDalwallinu

Best little car I have ever driven.

published

Bought our Astra2005 new . Best little car ever. Handles like a dream seems to hug the road . Best fuel consumption I have ever had. Only issue is the paint work is now getting sunburnt and patchy

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
maximusthrashamus

maximusthrashamusnsw, 2044

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

the wild woman of street cars

published
BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 4 of 14
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Wendy J.

Wendy J.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

How reliable are the engins

1 answer
Pandie
Pandie

They have Daiwoo engines.
See how they go.

Haley C.

Haley C.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

My speedometer is not working on my Holden Astra TS series 2004 what is the problem with it.

No answers
Michael R.

Michael R.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Hi i have 2008 astra automatic and sometimes the car wont start until i tap the gear shift lever. When it dosent start the electrics come on, it just wont turn over. No warning light come either. Any ideas?

2 answers
Pandie
Pandie

The gear shift handle isn't quite closing the circuit to allow start. It's just a fraction of a millimetre out of alignment. Not worth fixing.
Just keep tapping it when it won't start.
No biggie.

Michael R.
Michael R.

Thanks mate. Sometimes it wint start at all and it takes 10 minutes of back n forth etc. I also want to get rid of it and not irritate the next owner.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.