??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    1.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    2.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    1.0 (1)
  • Features
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Byron N.

Byron N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
sharon

sharonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... do not buy one

published

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... car was shuttering called dealership and( I piston had failed on motor )....40,000 on clock holden replacing Piston under car Warranty ...holden are not offering any thing else . DO NOT. BUY problems already at 40,000 KMS thinking what else is going to go wrong on this now.

Purchased in January 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Sam ADAM

Sam ADAMNowra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

DON'T BUY THIS TRASH

published

Bought this car in 2014 for $7000 however, I had to spend another $4000 repairs
The car shakes/judders when driving at 60km or higher. The sports button makes the car undrivable. Another typical European Holden, nothing but problems.

Avoid at all costs especially L and P platers as we don't have that much money to spend.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Luke

LukeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Puss car

published

Was bad would not reccomed don't not buy very pricey in parts and Labour over all bad experience I have a car that won't start after timing belt was replaced and now car won't start if anyone is looking can I plz have some answers if possible thanks in advance

BodySedan
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003

Worst car of all award goes to Astra

published

Worst car of all. Coolant started leaking just at 70000km and again at 120000k, head gasket failed at 150000K, Transmission failed at 160000K, now at 170000k engine has starting misfiring. Had to change front wheel bearings, power window motor, sway bar links. Should have gone for Japanese car.

Dealers were worse then the car itself. Rear Power window weren't working so went it to have it checked. Dealer said we need to replace the electric motor cost estimate ($900). The best part was that I had already checked and the motor was working fine, it was the window regulator that was broken cost estimate ($50). Bought it over ebay and fixed it myself rather get duped for $900. What a farce.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2005
JJm

JJmSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bottomless money pit.

published

Had this car for four years. Performed the required services but alas, the problems continued to mount. Two ecu's, two coils packs, brake rotors and pads not lasting, engine overheating and doing the head. Thousands of dollars and mechanics who haven't a clue how to diagnose a problem, I've had enough. The car has gone into limp mode again because it is misfiring. Time for another car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Karz

KarzSydney

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy this car !!! Nothing but trouble

published

I brought a 2000 Holden Astra it did last me only 5 years but during that time every 6 months something would go it cost so much money to fix and most mechanic can never fix the problem it lacked guts very slow take off , the car shook every-time I stopped or it would turn of on hills , then got that fixed other things went wrong the radio would be so loud every time I turned the car on even tho I never turned it up , oil light would stay on even tho there was no oil leaks and always oil in it faulty dash lights!
I would never ever buy this car again nothing but trouble
The only thing I like it just got me from a to b just .

BodySedan
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Holden Astra Sucks

published

After 13 fixes $41,000 later the judge says no money just 1 more fix
Watever big business sux
So 6 years later I'm supposed to be patient for one more time so the judge can say you've had the cat for 7 years you've used it right?

No I've had Anxiety each time i opened the roof.

June 6th 2018 Update: Holden Astra was so bad it hit discontinued... not only that some parts you cannot get

If you want to spend 45K then sob for the following years... deal with holden! I regretted having ever dealt with them and the last straw was to find out some parts have been totally discontinued.... joke
The times I was left by the way side - rained on ... how infuriating.

Samuel K

Samuel K

  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

STEER CLEAR OF THIS RUBBISH!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Ray

RayPerth

  • 2 reviews

Dont buy one and if you have one sell it now

published
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
drew76

drew76Perth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 18 likes

Solid and good looking. Mechanically soul destroying.

published
Engine Size1.9DTH
TransmissionManual
BadgeCDTI
BodyHatch

Astra 2001

published

This car is a lemon! Do not own one! Expensive to maintain it will be a constant replacement to all the Astras faults from electronically to michanically. Its not worth owning one.

BodyHatch
Ramz

RamzGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Junk !!

published

We have a 2000 city Olympic version with 134k's: what a heap of junk. Air con dead: Engin coils issues: ecu issues and the list goes on: and holden service : worst than ever

Will never buy a holden again: Toyota corolla will be the replacement to have something reliable and durable

BodyHatch
3 comments
mikemini1977
mikemini1977

As a non-mechanic, completely agree. I've had almost all of them

Ramz
Ramz

We had ours towed away to wreckers last month. Finally died, engine wouldn't crank up and everything else failed: go Holden: we just purchased a corolla hatch which I am sure will provide years of motoring unlike the astra

Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CourtneyLee

CourtneyLeePerth

  • 2 reviews

Absolute Rubbish!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch

2009 Holden Astra Hatch

published
TransmissionAuto
BodyHatch

Terrible car

published
Engine SizeSRI 2.2
Transmission4 speed auto
BodyHatch
1 comment
Cloudy
Cloudy
Thomatbr

ThomatbrSydney, NSW

  • 55 reviews
  • 42 likes

Terrible

published
BodyHatch

Terrible

published
BodyHatch
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Bue M.

Bue M.asked

Astra

My holden astra 2002 main problem is when I stop the car then put the car in parking but engine go high and low

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Will a RF door from a '05 Astra fit a '08 model?

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Can anyone advise me 'will a 2005 model Astra TS RF door fit a 2008 model Astra? Pl advise......

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$22,740A$25,790A$29,790A$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4445
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.