15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 268 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (2)
  • Features
    2.0 (2)
Previous
Next
ethanbov1976
ethanbov1976Central, SA

Three years old and done piston 1.

published

90000 kms and 3 years old and it’s done piston number one. Will be interested to see how energetic General Motors will be on getting this fixed considering it’s a common documented problem and has tried to be fixed with a recall with different oil. Bought the Opel hatch because they were supposed to be better than the Korean sedan. Time will tell.

Purchased in January 2018 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Byron N.
Byron N.Western Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
sharon
sharonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... do not buy one

published

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... car was shuttering called dealership and( I piston had failed on motor )....40,000 on clock holden replacing Piston under car Warranty ...holden are not offering any thing else . DO NOT. BUY problems already at 40,000 KMS thinking what else is going to go wrong on this now.

Purchased in January 2018.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam ADAM
Sam ADAMNowra
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

DON'T BUY THIS TRASH

published

Bought this car in 2014 for $7000 however, I had to spend another $4000 repairs
The car shakes/judders when driving at 60km or higher. The sports button makes the car undrivable. Another typical European Holden, nothing but problems.

Avoid at all costs especially L and P platers as we don't have that much money to spend.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Jacob g
Jacob g
  • 2 reviews

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Luke
LukeSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017

Puss car

published

Was bad would not reccomed don't not buy very pricey in parts and Labour over all bad experience I have a car that won't start after timing belt was replaced and now car won't start if anyone is looking can I plz have some answers if possible thanks in advance

BodySedan
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003

Worst car of all award goes to Astra

published

Worst car of all. Coolant started leaking just at 70000km and again at 120000k, head gasket failed at 150000K, Transmission failed at 160000K, now at 170000k engine has starting misfiring. Had to change front wheel bearings, power window motor, sway bar links. Should have gone for Japanese car.

Dealers were worse then the car itself. Rear Power window weren't working so went it to have it checked. Dealer said we need to replace the electric motor cost estimate ($900). The best part was that I had already checked and the motor was working fine, it was the window regulator that was broken cost estimate ($50). Bought it over ebay and fixed it myself rather get duped for $900. What a farce.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2005
JJm
JJmSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bottomless money pit.

published

Had this car for four years. Performed the required services but alas, the problems continued to mount. Two ecu's, two coils packs, brake rotors and pads not lasting, engine overheating and doing the head. Thousands of dollars and mechanics who haven't a clue how to diagnose a problem, I've had enough. The car has gone into limp mode again because it is misfiring. Time for another car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karz
KarzSydney
  • 2 reviews

Don't buy this car !!! Nothing but trouble

published

I brought a 2000 Holden Astra it did last me only 5 years but during that time every 6 months something would go it cost so much money to fix and most mechanic can never fix the problem it lacked guts very slow take off , the car shook every-time I stopped or it would turn of on hills , then got that fixed other things went wrong the radio would be so loud every time I turned the car on even tho I never turned it up , oil light would stay on even tho there was no oil leaks and always oil in it faulty dash lights!
I would never ever buy this car again nothing but trouble
The only thing I like it just got me from a to b just .

BodySedan
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic

Holden Astra Sucks

published

After 13 fixes $41,000 later the judge says no money just 1 more fix
Watever big business sux
So 6 years later I'm supposed to be patient for one more time so the judge can say you've had the cat for 7 years you've used it right?

No I've had Anxiety each time i opened the roof.

June 6th 2018 Update: Holden Astra was so bad it hit discontinued... not only that some parts you cannot get

If you want to spend 45K then sob for the following years... deal with holden! I regretted having ever dealt with them and the last straw was to find out some parts have been totally discontinued.... joke
The times I was left by the way side - rained on ... how infuriating.

Samuel K
Samuel K
  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

STEER CLEAR OF THIS RUBBISH!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Ray
RayPerth
  • 2 reviews

Dont buy one and if you have one sell it now

published
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
drew76
drew76Perth, WA
  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

Solid and good looking. Mechanically soul destroying.

published
Engine Size1.9DTH
TransmissionManual
BadgeCDTI
BodyHatch

Astra 2001

published

This car is a lemon! Do not own one! Expensive to maintain it will be a constant replacement to all the Astras faults from electronically to michanically. Its not worth owning one.

BodyHatch
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Stevie-lee F.
Stevie-lee F.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Can any one tell me where i can download the workshop manual for this car

No answers
Jodie I.
Jodie I.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden Astra 2008 60th Anniversary CD hatch. Door alarm stays on. Have checked all doors and the rear hatch door seems to be the issue. Wd40 stopped it but after car starts it goes off again. Please help

No answers
Jodie I.
Jodie I.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden Astra 2008 60 Anniversary hatch. Door alarm won’t stop. Have checked all doors and hatch door seems to be the issue. Wd40 on it and it stops initially but this only lasts until car is started

No answers
See all Holden Astra questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Astra

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.