15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 268 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    1.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next

My ownership experience

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money

ASTRA PROBLEMS

published

I have had noting but problems with my BK Astra Has only done 25,000 klms. Water level topped up at every service, Blind spot mirrors warning coming on together, Vibration on gear changes ,Irregular gear changes, Red warning light keeps coming on for no reason. Evaporative solenoid replaced.
Never will I buy another Astra/ Holden

Purchased in June 2017 for $29,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Ngoc Nam Nguyen
Ngoc Nam NguyenSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Emission and TCS light always on, pressing gas takes long time to increase speed and noisy engine

published

Hi, I just bought an old car and just recently it has some problems:
* Emission and TCS light always on
* Whenever speed back to 0 (red light, traffic), pressing gas takes long time to increase speed
* Engine has a weird noise

Can someone please help and let me know what's going on?

Thanks in advance.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nico
Nico
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seriously disappointed

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
Engine Size2.2L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2007
Cee
CeeAdelaide

Better now Holden dont touch it

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
philip kerr
philip kerrbrisbane
  • 2 reviews

No help given

published

Reported that my dash panel not working eg temp fuel and speedo not working I was told to see a auto electrician I have already done that I was looking for advice of what was wrong with electric system not to contact auto electrician that was no help at all

BodySedan
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Dianne
DianneSouthwest, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Holden Astra 2005

published

Bought the car in Feb 2006 new from the dealer has only done 40,000k, the paintwork is now shocking. I have 2 lines down the roof where the paint has faded and peeled off, this is also starting to happen on the boot and bonnet. Holdens Customer Care response (once they saw the cost of the repairs) is that this is sun damage and its an old car !! Really? We have a 15yr old Pajero with no such fading or chipping......but what do Holden care, they have my money now and can hide behind the 'out of warranty' statement. Would never buy another as clearly the paint is not up to the climate the car is being sold in.

BodyHatch
Michael012
Michael012Melbourne
  • 77 reviews
  • 27 likes

Great to drive but not to own!

published
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAuto
BadgeCD
BodyHatch
Angela
AngelaSydney

Problems Galore

published

My 2008 Astra is second hand first couple years it was fine and around 2 years ago the problems started. It suddenly went dead while driving home TWICE, engine problems, warning lights coming on for no reason, and recently speaking from somewhere my son thinks it might be the suspension.
Big boot, good braking nice sized car.
Everything that isn't the inside of the car

BodyHatch
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sara
SaraPort macquarie

Part problems

published
TransmissionAuto
BodyConvertible
Bazza1980
Bazza1980Melbourne

Astra 2004 TS

published
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAuto
BodyHatch
Tammie69
Tammie69Mackay, Queensland

Electronics!

published

Was a great car when i first purchased the cdx 2dr astra coupe 2007 model, second hand 30000km. Then the problems commenced. In four years I have had two batteries, two water pumps, no horn function, coolant sensor fault, looses idle (auto), failed to start on many occasions (starter motor/alternator/key barrell). All i get told at the mechanics is I bought an astra!
quick, compact car - suited me when i first got my licence
Electronics, or motor!

Engine Size1.8L
BodyCoupe

Asera 2002 1.8 ltr

published

Having owned this car for 3 weeks I bought it second hand ,big mistake .changed the battery in the remote control ,As only 1 key worked .now .car turns over but wont start have had auto eletrician here for 4 days on and off trying to reprogram the car ,biggest piece of rubbish Ive owned since the 1998 Landrover freelander .both cars designers should have there engineers strung up and whipped.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The stupid computers designed to make people money, unworkable ,

Engine Size1.8 ltr
TransmissionAuto
BodyHatch

Roof problems hard to fix

published

I have had a 2008 hard top. They are very heavy however my biggest disappointment is my roo stopped working. Holden can't fix it! I have taken it to one place who spent five hours on it they can't work it out. Then they said to go to another dealer, how hard can it be?

BodyConvertible
Sara
Sara

If you have the small wing replaced it should work again mine stopped and it was the motors in the wings that had too much play

Robert2121
Robert2121BRISBANE
  • 3 reviews

Nice but Costly

published
BodyHatch
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Stevie-lee F.
Stevie-lee F.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Can any one tell me where i can download the workshop manual for this car

No answers
Jodie I.
Jodie I.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden Astra 2008 60th Anniversary CD hatch. Door alarm stays on. Have checked all doors and the rear hatch door seems to be the issue. Wd40 stopped it but after car starts it goes off again. Please help

No answers
Jodie I.
Jodie I.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden Astra 2008 60 Anniversary hatch. Door alarm won’t stop. Have checked all doors and hatch door seems to be the issue. Wd40 on it and it stops initially but this only lasts until car is started

No answers
See all Holden Astra questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Astra

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.