15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 268 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
David J.
David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for $14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Troy
TroySydney, NSW

A car from Germany with excellent design and engineering and SH$% Build quality!

published
BodyWagon
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
BBBrisbane
BBBrisbaneQLD, 4101
  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Ok for the price, especially being a convertible

published

There are not many convertible 4 seater cars in the market for the price of an Astra. convertible roofs are complex and prone to faults. Astra is not exception. but finding parts for this car is easy in Australia.
My car had these issues since owning it:
- roof stopped working. busted hydraulic pipe cost around 1k to fix
- leaking engine once from rocker gasket and once from oil pressure sensor
- wheel hub and screws and nuts needed replacements
- shock absorbents needed replacement

lots of issues for a car done just 130k. but still cheaper than trying to buy a let's say golf convertible.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tai
TaiSouth Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pretty good

published

The engine is little small, but pretty economic. The interior are really good. I am very enjoy when I drive the car. Nothing have problem. It is a good first car. I guess. I would recommend this car probably. Running cost is not too high. The reliability is good. I guess I would have this car for a while.

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2011

Ok car

published

Bought second hand 2009 model in 2012 done 57,000K

Run like dream until 2016 at 100,000K. I am a light user

Last year, It has timing belt replace in Jun, air conditioner replace in November. I feel costly then

Other than that it is just fine , I have tyres replaced, always stick to service plan.

So far so good. hope there won't be any major job in the near future.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2012

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Alternator

published

Today I got replaced an alternator (new) and cost me 620 AUD dollar (400 for alternator and for fitting it with its supply is 220) moreover I asked for second hand alternator to get it fixed but he said me there wouldn't any warranty on that. I was just wondering either it was really($) that expensive for astra TS 2004 HATCHBACK or mechanic ripped me off. The reason I got it done was my car was acting up for 2 days as it was showing engine, sport (s), emission sing on dashboard moreover after getting start its steering used to get harder than harder after 30 second, at the end I would ask anyone here with same problem or similar bit. Thanks!

BodyHatch
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
monkey
monkeySydney

ripoff

published

nothing but problems timming belt cost 2000 what do I do fix it our replace engine can anyone help I like to now what the best opion is or anyone now any machines who cheap fair or might have a payment plan if any one can help please get back

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic

Traction control light problems

published

while driving our holden astra the traction light comes on the car loses all power we need to roll the car to the side of the road turn the engine off wait a few minutes start the car again only for it to happen within 10 minutes later, a few mechanics have told us there is nothing wrong with the car, we are scared to drive this car in traffic and at high speeds as I feel my family's safety is at risk . any advise on this problem would be appreciated.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Ellejay
EllejaySydney
  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Reliable, but bad paint work

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionManual
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Astra 1.8 CD 2001 Speeedo intermittant - Anyone know why?

published

We have driven our Astra from 140,000km -197,000 but gave up when the speedo became intermittant then stopped all together. Air con never worked. ABS light came on (and stayed on). Great little s/wagon to drive but reading all the bad wrap am not keen to spend more money on one....

BodyWagon
Adrian
AdrianPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK but Astranomically Expensive

published
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
BadgeCity
BodyHatch
smallcar lover
smallcar loverMELBOURNE
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fuel efficient, but has its issues

published
BodyHatch

Still not sure...

published
Engine Size1.9
TransmissionManual
BadgeCDTI
BodyHatch
Louise43
Louise43Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews

Astra cd 2000 Olympic edition

published
Engine SizeFour. Cilinder
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
PrincessChunx
PrincessChunxMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not impressed with this good-looking car

published
TransmissionManual
BodyConvertible
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Stevie-lee F.
Stevie-lee F.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Can any one tell me where i can download the workshop manual for this car

No answers
Jodie I.
Jodie I.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden Astra 2008 60th Anniversary CD hatch. Door alarm stays on. Have checked all doors and the rear hatch door seems to be the issue. Wd40 stopped it but after car starts it goes off again. Please help

No answers
Jodie I.
Jodie I.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden Astra 2008 60 Anniversary hatch. Door alarm won’t stop. Have checked all doors and hatch door seems to be the issue. Wd40 on it and it stops initially but this only lasts until car is started

No answers
See all Holden Astra questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Astra

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.