??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
David J.

David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for A$14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Troy

TroySydney, NSW

A car from Germany with excellent design and engineering and SH$% Build quality!

published
BodyWagon
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
BBBrisbane

BBBrisbaneQLD, 4101

  • 17 reviews
  • 9 likes

Ok for the price, especially being a convertible

published

There are not many convertible 4 seater cars in the market for the price of an Astra. convertible roofs are complex and prone to faults. Astra is not exception. but finding parts for this car is easy in Australia.
My car had these issues since owning it:
- roof stopped working. busted hydraulic pipe cost around 1k to fix
- leaking engine once from rocker gasket and once from oil pressure sensor
- wheel hub and screws and nuts needed replacements
- shock absorbents needed replacement

lots of issues for a car done just 130k. but still cheaper than trying to buy a let's say golf convertible.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tai

TaiSouth Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty good

published

The engine is little small, but pretty economic. The interior are really good. I am very enjoy when I drive the car. Nothing have problem. It is a good first car. I guess. I would recommend this car probably. Running cost is not too high. The reliability is good. I guess I would have this car for a while.

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Ok car

published

Bought second hand 2009 model in 2012 done 57,000K

Run like dream until 2016 at 100,000K. I am a light user

Last year, It has timing belt replace in Jun, air conditioner replace in November. I feel costly then

Other than that it is just fine , I have tyres replaced, always stick to service plan.

So far so good. hope there won't be any major job in the near future.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012

Alternator

published

Today I got replaced an alternator (new) and cost me 620 AUD dollar (400 for alternator and for fitting it with its supply is 220) moreover I asked for second hand alternator to get it fixed but he said me there wouldn't any warranty on that. I was just wondering either it was really($) that expensive for astra TS 2004 HATCHBACK or mechanic ripped me off. The reason I got it done was my car was acting up for 2 days as it was showing engine, sport (s), emission sing on dashboard moreover after getting start its steering used to get harder than harder after 30 second, at the end I would ask anyone here with same problem or similar bit. Thanks!

BodyHatch
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
monkey

monkeySydney

ripoff

published

nothing but problems timming belt cost 2000 what do I do fix it our replace engine can anyone help I like to now what the best opion is or anyone now any machines who cheap fair or might have a payment plan if any one can help please get back

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic

Traction control light problems

published

while driving our holden astra the traction light comes on the car loses all power we need to roll the car to the side of the road turn the engine off wait a few minutes start the car again only for it to happen within 10 minutes later, a few mechanics have told us there is nothing wrong with the car, we are scared to drive this car in traffic and at high speeds as I feel my family's safety is at risk . any advise on this problem would be appreciated.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Ellejay

EllejaySydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Reliable, but bad paint work

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionManual
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Astra 1.8 CD 2001 Speeedo intermittant - Anyone know why?

published

We have driven our Astra from 140,000km -197,000 but gave up when the speedo became intermittant then stopped all together. Air con never worked. ABS light came on (and stayed on). Great little s/wagon to drive but reading all the bad wrap am not keen to spend more money on one....

BodyWagon
Adrian

AdrianPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK but Astranomically Expensive

published
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
BadgeCity
BodyHatch
smallcar lover

smallcar loverMELBOURNE

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fuel efficient, but has its issues

published
BodyHatch

Still not sure...

published
Engine Size1.9
TransmissionManual
BadgeCDTI
BodyHatch
Louise43

Louise43Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Astra cd 2000 Olympic edition

published
Engine SizeFour. Cilinder
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
PrincessChunx

PrincessChunxMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not impressed with this good-looking car

published
TransmissionManual
BodyConvertible
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A smooth drive with underlying issues

published

I brought an Astra as my first car, it's a 2001 model with 150000km on the clock. It drives smooth and it's powerful for its size however after two weeks of owning it, the engine has just cut out leaving me broken down in the middle of an intersection. Twice. I believe this is a common problem with Astras. The mechanic told me that it is the ECU which needs replacing by a Holden dealer. I wouldn't recommend that anyone buy one as they are unreliable. A bit disappointed because I loved it so much in the first two weeks!
It's good on fuel, very zippy and drives smooth
Malfunctioning ECU

Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
1 comment
brett1334
brett1334

Holden astra great car until the timing belt snaps after only doing 40 000km ,airconditioning failed ,alternator failed .will never buy holden ever again most holdens are lemons with very poor design

Just a adverage car

published

Good for me to zip around in however really small, and my Key is currently stuck in the ignition and i have to disconnect my battery to turn my car fully off and get my key out, if anyone has had the same problem please tell me what you did or where you went to get this fixed!
the sound system is great!
Lack of cup holders, and tends to lack power when going up hills, lots of problems with the electrics too!

TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
1 comment
Chris
Chris

Requires the ignition barrel to be replaced as far as I know. Just one of the common faults.

was ok in the beginning

published
Engine Size2.2 16v
Transmissionmanual
BodyHatch

OK

published
BodyHatch
annon

annon

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

OK

published
BodyHatch
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Bue M.

Bue M.asked

Astra

My holden astra 2002 main problem is when I stop the car then put the car in parking but engine go high and low

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Will a RF door from a '05 Astra fit a '08 model?

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Can anyone advise me 'will a 2005 model Astra TS RF door fit a 2008 model Astra? Pl advise......

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$22,740A$25,790A$29,790A$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4445
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.