??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Braking
    4.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    3.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Pandie

PandieCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

2009 Hatch

published

German design makes for lovely traction and handling.
Seems to be lacking some features my old 2006 Commodore had, although I haven't thoroughly searched through the manual properly:
No option for digital speed readout.
No switch for automatic headlights.
No sunglasses holder.
No Bluetooth in factory sound system.
Only one cupholder (although it will accommodate a wider cup that wouldn't fit in the Commodore's holder.
Otherwise, I'm happy.

Purchased in September 2020 for A$3,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jessica

JessicaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love my small car

published

Needed to trade in my old car (a very sad day.) This was for safety reasons. This car is for commuting to and from work and other personal use trips. The car is reliable and loves a long trip on the freeway. It has much more power than my previous small car. It's heavy and strong, unlike a lot of other small cars. Would highly recommend.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
Mark

MarkHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice commuting

published

Have driven nearly 30000km in 11 months. No problems to date (except for faulty battery which was replace under warranty during service). Great fuel economy 6.9l per 100km which is good considering I have to drive over a mountain 365m high twice daily. Car reacts good and sits well on the road. Good in corners and not noisy. Plenty of space both in the booth and back seats. I am 6'4 and have no trouble sitting in front of back seat. For $16999 end of year sale great bargain.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sagar

Sagar

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but not without quality niggles

published

Have had a 2018 Astra R+ hatchback for under 2 years with 11k kms on the clock so far.

Pros- it’s a drives like a dream with excellent ride, handling with decent power and kit. Good value for money

Cons- very bad paint quality, chips very easily, almost as if they used crayons for paint.
Headlights are extremely inadequate out of the city or on dark unlit roads
The placement of the reverse camera and the resolution are causes for limited utility

Purchased in April 2018 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ashleigh H

Ashleigh HThe Mallee, VIC

Great little run around

published

The Astra RSV is comfy, stylish and has great features. The Adaptive Cruise Control has failed numerous times and the Bendigo dealership was unable to detect the problem. The features are lacking compared to our Calais V - no front camera, no windscreen display projection and manual seat adjustments. Overall, a good car but getting faults fixed is proving to be a problem.

Purchased in December 2018 at Holden Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
xtowen

xtowenwollongong

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

wonderful fora little car

published

this car is just enough for myself , small but is put down the back seat the room is big enough for any loading. I service the car once a year but never have problem , i can not believe this car allready been 11 years. never have any big issues,

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Beck

BeckPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Easy fix for Holden Astra !!!!

published

If your Astra overheats,
goes into limp mode,
or just plain and simple runs like crap, then call me in Western Australia to fix or perhaps improve the way it runs. My mobile is 0400501037. I have had two TS Astra sedans over the years and since I made this simple modification no limp mode or faults have come and both cars have been driven by learner drivers constantly stalling.....

BodySedan
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

A real surprise! Great value, comfortable and fun to drive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRsv
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Awesome car when in function...

published

Why does my astra 05 sedan. TS model
Thump into reverse also thump into drive selection and yet the motor runs and sounds normal.However when in drive car does not want to preform like every other day... trans oil check
Engine oil check. Battery check.. may it be a sensor fault.. car starts fine. Need advice plz
Thanks... Sonya perth...

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bones269

Bones269Belmont

Good reliable drive

published

Picked up our 05 Astra Bertone Convertible a few years ago and its been a very reliable drive. They are a good handling car with low outside noise and plenty of cabin room front and back. With the top down the radio increases and decreases volume as needed to compensate for the extra ambient noise. The only real negative is the size of the sunshield being to small to really make much of a difference.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
warytravelly

warytravellyPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good ride for the price

published

The astra 1.4 sports hatch is comfortable to drive with an average economy which should be better. In saying this it looks good and well featured for the cost. The integrated handsfree works well and tends to fade a bit with varying noise levels. Overall with a 7 year new car warranty I can't complain

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
gori

goriAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Not a Bad for safety

published

Saved my life in a massive car accident, thank god airbags worked. It was very unfortunate incident, although I believe mechanically this car wasnt A-one but m more happy to be alive. at the time of purchase it felt like a very strong carand reliable too but later iit gave me a little issues

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003
jess

jesstoowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

this is a great car need some ideas too get it fixed

published

I have not driven the car but would love too have my beautiful car on the road. And I need a bit of help to make this hapoen. My car has some sort of problem it won't kick over and it need a water pump replacement would this have anything too do with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my astra

published

I've always owned a Holden car and this won't change. I recently upgraded from my old astra and this new one certainly doesn't disappoint. The running costs are minimum as its great on petrol. I love all the new dashboard gadgets and gizmos. Its also roomier than it looks from the outside. Very happy.

BodySedan
Badge60th Anniversary
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Yusufs outdoors

Yusufs outdoorsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good If maintained

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Naomi

NaomiSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car is great
Reliable...zippy...good fuel economy
After time the interior door panels came loose.
The colour and exterior has withstood the elements well.
Strangely the clutch and brake pedals feel incredibly close together and I would prefer it had some cup holders. But generally a gregreat car. Although a manual car in the city can be tough going in the traffic.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.9L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2007
snapback

snapback

  • 46 reviews
  • 23 likes

Generally good, but problems appear with age

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2002
Hobart

HobartHobart

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Coil pack misfire

published

Bought it in early 2011 in Pickle Aution OD: 41000km, running very well for small car, happy with the fuel consumption. full tank 42-45L can run 520 - 560km.

2015 found it engine misfire, change the coil pack at Motors, cost around $600 and fixed problem.

2016 replace new battery.

Will keep this car till new born baby arrive, thinking to upgrade to SUV or bigger family car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
Bullet dodger

Bullet dodgerVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Happy customer

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Franky

FrankySpear's point

Sucking to much air

published

It goes not to bad,until you try to accelerate then it dies...there is a engine light on the dash baord, a little worrying but think its just a service light,a slight tapping sound from the engine...pretty good,just need to fix air flow so it stops waisting our fuel when we drive.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Page 1 of 4
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Bue M.

Bue M.asked

Astra

My holden astra 2002 main problem is when I stop the car then put the car in parking but engine go high and low

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Will a RF door from a '05 Astra fit a '08 model?

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Can anyone advise me 'will a 2005 model Astra TS RF door fit a 2008 model Astra? Pl advise......

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$22,740A$25,790A$29,790A$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4445
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.