??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (11)
  • Braking
    4.8 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (11)
  • Handling
    4.8 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (11)
  • Features
    4.6 (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Lindsay G

Lindsay GGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent hatch highly recommended.

published

Bought this Astra in February 2020 after owning ST Fiesta, Honda Civic hatch x 2, Focus, Nissan Maxima, Kia Cerato, I am extremely happy with this car, very solid European feel, quiet, enough power, not one issue after 8000ks, love this car, fun to drive, comfortable, reverse camera could be better.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$19,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Finally said goodbye to my 18 year old Astra

published

Purchased in January 2003 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Shel

ShelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Almost a year when I bought this car. Have to say one of my best cars I ever bought. Fits within my budget and an excellent fuel consumption. Very spacious

Incentivised ReviewNo
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Avinesh Lal

Avinesh Lal

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing car

published

I bought Astra LT almost a year ago. So far i had no issues with this car. A very comfy ride and spacious. Good value for money if you are looking at a good price

Incentivised ReviewNo
Philip

PhilipCroydon

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

First small car, fun to drive.

published

My Astra is a 2020 RS Black Edition.
Packed with features, this car is a delight to drive. Smooth, quiet, beautiful ride, and performance in the warm hatch category. I've driven most of the Astras competition which are very good, but this cars European roots certainly shine through. So glad to have purchased one of these cars at a fabulous end of Holden in Australia price. Having driven large cars all my life, I didn't want to downsize to a buzz box. The 1.6 litre turbo in this car is a little pocket rocket, I love it.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Claire

ClairePerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Renewed my joy of driving

published

Purchased in February 2020 for A$12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Robert

RobertPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very good car ! I do 1000kms a week . Never let me down

published

I work with my astra 2017 sedan LS+ .
Got it second hand from the car dealer.
Never had a problem.
Plenty of power with that little turbo .
Very cheap on fuel, i think my average is 5.9 Liters for 100kms.
I put lots of kms on cars cuz I am a sale rep.
Very happy with that .

Purchased in September 2019 for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
R.V.

R.V.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Nice drive

published

Purchased new in April 2018 for just over 20 thou. for the R+.
Has done over 30,000 Kims now.
This car has been quite reliable and economical. Plenty of go in the 1.4 Ltd donk.
Has excellent handling and good onboard tech. Although the forward collision alert seems to come on at odd times. But very comfortable car to drive.
Well worth the purchase price.

Purchased in April 2018 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
BERnAced7

BERnAced7Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Top Car to roll tight in!

published

Purchased car @ Ventura Autos in Welshpool Western Australia.. James the owner is professional, accommodating and goes beyond expectation of service. Bought a CDX Astra 2006 and it's valued for the price!

Purchased in August 2019 at Ventura Autos for A$2,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tashy T.

Tashy T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Snazzy car

published

The Hokden Astra is a snazzy little car, very nifty, reliable, and keeps for a long time if cared for properly. I absolutely loved the Holden Astra got me thru alot.

Purchased for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Stan Z

Stan ZPerth, WA

Astra La Vista Baby

published

Purchased in March 2019 for A$16,985.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Adrian

AdrianGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little car...solid build

published

Purchased in February 2005 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
perry

perryNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

family car

published

serviced twice a year used for visiting relatives around the state excellent on fuel economy sum long like to sydney or larger regoinal citys liks dubbo or mudgee shopping trips to larger towns mostly over an hour away or doctors appoinments eye or heart specialist, vacation driving to the coast

BodyWagon
BadgeCDXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007

Excellent small car

published

We chose the Astra RSV 1.6 turbo
Terrific car for our small family and recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable performer.
It’s fuel economy around town with Aircon on is about 7L/100km and is quite easy to drive with minimal road noise.
Holden have completed the first two services so far without anything extra needing to be fixed.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Electreks P

Electreks PAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car we've owned

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick B.

Nick B.Dunsborough

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Chimmy

ChimmyHighett

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very smooth

published

We brought our Astra in June. I’m super happy with it. We originally owned a Cruze and as much as I like it this car is better. The smoothness of it is what I love he most and it’s turbo. The features in it are great (apple car play) the old system was a bit slow but not any more I connect straight away. The boot is large which is great with a pram the back seats are roomy. Have had two adults and a car seat and everyone was fine. For what I paid and what I got I’m over the moon thanks Holden

BodySedan
BadgeLS+
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Dalma

DalmaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Perfect car

published

I absolutely love this car! Great space in the boot as it’s a sedan, plus it also has all the extras you might need in your every day driving apart from an electric engine. Average fuel consumption is around 5.7-6.5l. Really comfortable, easy to use interface, huge screen and wheels which help you to focus more on the traffic rather than worrying about how to operate what.

BodySedan
BadgeLT
Engine Size1.4 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Awful Truth

Awful TruthGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car heaps of features

published

Very impressed with this vehicle for under $20k, have compared with other vehicles, has day time driving lights, rain sensor wipers, stop start, Emergency Bracking, lane keeping assistance, auto lights, reverse camera and rear sensors, Apple car play, DAB radio, Seven inch touch screen, seventeen inch alloy wheels, leather steering, 1.4 litre turbo very fuel efficient, made in Europe. Great styling with piano finish. Seriously most expensive vehicles don't gave half the stuff. Also 7 year warranty with 3 year roadside (RACV)......

BodyHatch
BadgeR Plus
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Rae

Rae

  • 3 reviews

Astra must mean a Star.

published

My Astra Hatchback 2016 is one of a kind and I seriously rarely have seen another pass me. The sat nav is not great to use in a hurry. Twirling the dial back and forth and over and over for each letter is very tiresome. I end up using my Google Map app on my phone. Side vision is limited, but the electrics have not let me down more than once. Warranty covered that sad little affair. ( Whatever a broken front camera is, it stopped working)

BodyHatch
BadgeLimited Edition
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Page 1 of 5
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Anthony J.

Anthony J.asked

Astra

How do get a 2003 astra cdx out of limp mode. It is in limp mode and the indicators and lights aren't working and I have to change gears manually

No answers
Bue M.

Bue M.asked

Astra

My holden astra 2002 main problem is when I stop the car then put the car in parking but engine go high and low

No answers
Graeme M.

Graeme M.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Will a RF door from a '05 Astra fit a '08 model?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$22,740A$25,790A$29,790A$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4445
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.