??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VE

Holden Commodore VE (2006-2013) (page 2 of 7)

3.9 from 136 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Fizzle

FizzleMandurah WA 6210

Check Engine Light is staying on have had my VE II Commodore Berlina International Wagon check at a

published

We purchased this car brand new and we love it but I do have concerns regarding the check engine light staying on. Need advice on a fix for this that shouldn't cost me $2400.00 in doing so, we have done 134,000km in this car and it is well serviced.
Need Advice

BadgeBerlina
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2011
Mattie

MattieMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my car!

published

I love my Holden commodore ve, I upgraded from a vt and am so glad I made the leap when I did, the interior of the car is beautiful, the fabrics are soft and comfortable, the drive is smooth with minimal road noise inside. The service costs are really cheap and affordable. Petrol in my car is on the expensive side but it had the power to move and makes me feel safe and secure. Perfect car!!!

BadgeSV6
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sam O

Sam ONSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wonderful car with great presence on the road

published

Love the looks of this car, have had it for 8 years now and is going strong. almost done 144000 kms on it and never any problems apart from regular service with genuine holden parts. Only thing i dont like about it, is the interior. Very cheap plastic and the seats are uncomfortable. Fuel consumption is relatively high as oppossed to Ford XR6.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tee

TeeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

HOLDEN COMMODORE OMEGA 3 STATION WAGON

published

Love the power and size, sleek look inside and out. Lots and lots of leg room front and back of car and boot.
With continued and regular servicing which it has had, the car will continue to run smoothly.
Although v6 the gas is completely affordable, a nice alternative to gas guzzlers.
I can't fault anything on this car, love it!!

BadgeOmega
BodyStation wagon
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionTiptronic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
shopper101

shopper101Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Gearbox problem

published

brought the car and had for just over 1 year and then the gear box went on it (auto)
overheated when first picked up from dealership also tyre nuts were loose
wouldnt buy any new model commodore as they are rubbish
stick to vy and early models and save your self the hassle

BadgeSV6
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Chris

ChrisHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cheap and disappointing

published
BadgeBerlina
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
rockie

rockiensw

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

creat car best commodore i have ever owned

published

bought this car for $11500.00 as it had high ks on it but to my surprise its been everything I wanted very roomy lots of power and runs like a dream. never had an issue with anything at all. serviced every 6 months and mechanic is so surprised how clean the oil is and there are no oil leaks anywhere for how many ks are on it we thing the engines been reconditioned but not sure. in summing up best best commodore ever. by the way loved the color hazard yellow

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Kath

KathPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful Car

published

Lovely car to drive, handles well and has plenty of power. Great family car with room for everyone, you can even put the doggies in the back! It has leather interior that is easy to clean and the seats are so comfortable. Has a reverse parking camera with sensor, satnav compatible, dual zone air conditioning and fuel efficient with a 3.0 litre engine.

BadgeZ Series
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Jacob

JacobAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

VE II SV6 is sleek and smooth

published

Great Australian car. The Series II SV6 has excellent handling in both wet and dry conditions. Its steering is true and cruising at highway speeds is very smooth, comparable with cars geared more towards touring than performance. The interior is modern, clean, and has everything you need in a car. Seats are extremely comfortable. Solid reliability with parts readily available and the trade off to the 3.6L V6 engine is running costs are higher than the average sedan.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annette B

Annette BAU

  • 5 reviews

The best

published

Has to be the best car of its generation. Smooth look, timeless. Fantastic driving experience, smooth, holds the road, excellent in wet weather, holds the road perfectly. Inside, driving and passenger luxury. Comfortable, adjustable seating, cockpit layout is very driver friendly, everything is at your fingertips, auto lights, responsive cruise control. Has to be the best in its class

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Will

WillNewcastle

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable Great Car.

published

I've had a ve commodore for years and years. Very reliable and haven't had to spend any money on it. Drives great. Very comfortable. Great fuel consumption when driving on the highway. Great car and I would highly recommend it. Looks great and costs next to nothing to run. Engine has plenty of power as well. Couldn't fault the car at all. Been the best car I've ever owned.

BadgeBerlina
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Dann

DannSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Honest, reliable, relatively cheap motoring.

published

Purchased in December 2016 for A$8,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Dann
Dann

Update: Sold in October 2019 with 232,000km for $3000.
No major issues during my ownership.

erin

erinadelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

fantastic car

published

This was my dream car and it has lived up to every expectation.
It looks smart and drives great.
i recently drove from south australia to horsham victoria on half a tank of petrol which i think is brilliant.
There is a bit of a blind spot on the sides of the front window but i have learnt to adjust the way i check for cars and it is perfect.

Badge60th Anniversary
BodySportwagon
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Taffy

TaffyDubbo

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ok Family car

published

When I first picked up my ve sv6 I was over the moon. It didnt last long. Commodores are well known for getting tail happy and the ve is no exception in auto taking corners in the very wet felt like taking my life in my hands even with good tires. Then the abs module went then the remote locking. I will say having also driven a vf the steering on the ve is much better . The sidi is marketed for better fuel consumption but it was much higher then expected city driving and not flash on highway.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012

Problems - I Honestly Ask Myself "Why All The 4 Star Reviews, When These Cars Have So Many Problems"

published

Having radio problems as security has locked anyone out from resetting the radio.
Replaced the battery, as per the handbook instructions and haven't been able to get into the radio since.
The handbook mentions that for a simple battery change, the radio should be okay, ie when the ignition is turned on the computer should pick up the VIN and march it to the factory fitted radio.
However this is not the case.
Another trip to Holden...

BadgeSS
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alan

Alandandenong

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

holden 2010

published

Great looking car. It has plenty of power and more than enough torque. Fuel efficiency is very economical and very easy to maintain . Overtaking performance is exceptional.
Interior need upgrades or changes, so something else should replace black plastic and dark upholstery. The car performs very well and is a pleasure to drive.

Badge60th Anniversary
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010
barbara

barbaramelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

great looking car using oil

published

great looking car drives very well bluetooth cruise control all electrics work very well
however numerous trip to holden dealer do not resolve problem Holden Australia dealt with with it however problems still valid engine seems to be consuming oil by poor or damaged oil rings
they tried to repair but still mot fixed

BadgeOmega
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013

So Far So Good

published

I purchased this car second hand. And Appart from some scuffs and minor dints from the usuial culprits and some minor wear n tear on the apolstry the car performs very well and is a pleasure to drive. No problems with the electrics as was the as with my previous 60th Annaversary Sportwagon. It does need new front shock absorbers as the left hand side is shot.

Badge60th Anniversary
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2008
Fran

FranWOODRIDGE, QLD 4114

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Economical

published

It drives amazing haven't had any mechanical problems with it very economical on petrol an easy to maintain so much leg space and the boot space is so big we can fit 2 3 wheeler prams in it along with shopping this car has been a breeze to own I dont regret at all purchasing this car its a good car for me and my little family of 3

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Staceyxoxo

StaceyxoxoMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love

published

Very smooth ride, the car barely makes any noise on the freeway. They don't do too bad on petrol either. I love the interior, the wheel is nice and comfy to hold and everything is easy to find. It is very comfy inside, loads of room for the whole family. It fits my son's car seat very well and isn't cramped or anything. Very spacious boot in the sedan but I do wish you could put all of the back seats down. The series II models are a lot more reliable than the first series, in yet to have mine need anything major fixed. A full tank of petrol is around $80 and lasts 600km. I'd recommend this car to anyone looking for a family car or just a car with lots of room.

BadgeEquipe
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Page 2 of 7
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Deborah R.

Deborah R.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

My stability control won't turn on.in my Ve ss

No answers
Nils E.

Nils E.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

Main console, radio or hazard light

No answers
Teneale J.

Teneale J.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

I have 2 questions, 1st is my aircon light does not come on and it only blows warm air even when on hot, what's wrong 2nd is how come my s8 will not connect to Bluetooth it has phone on steering wheel thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price A$48,290
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeLPG and Petrol
Wheels19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power210kW @ 6700rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 2800rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.