??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VE

Holden Commodore VE (2006-2013) (page 3 of 7)

3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.9

137 reviews
5
(63)
4
(34)
3
(15)
2
(14)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (10)
  • Braking
    4.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (9)
  • Handling
    4.6 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.9 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (9)
  • Features
    4.4 (9)
Previous
Next
Staceyxoxo

StaceyxoxoMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love

published

Very smooth ride, the car barely makes any noise on the freeway. They don't do too bad on petrol either. I love the interior, the wheel is nice and comfy to hold and everything is easy to find. It is very comfy inside, loads of room for the whole family. It fits my son's car seat very well and isn't cramped or anything. Very spacious boot in the sedan but I do wish you could put all of the back seats down. The series II models are a lot more reliable than the first series, in yet to have mine need anything major fixed. A full tank of petrol is around $80 and lasts 600km. I'd recommend this car to anyone looking for a family car or just a car with lots of room.

BadgeEquipe
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Jay

JaySunshine Coast

  • 5 reviews

Perfect Car

published

Purchased this vehicle second hand and instantly feel in love. It drives well and handles like a dream, much better than any other standard SUV or family car. Features are awesome, it has adaptive headlights, cruise control, LED speedometer screen and much more than cars even 5 years newer do not have.

Badge60th Anniversary
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Worst commodore I have ever owned!

published

The car is a comfortable car to drive and it looks good but the engine is absolutely terrible. I have had the timing chain replaced TWICE in less than 4 years that I have owned it, it's going back to the mechanic next week as it's showing up fuel bank faults. Will definitely be looking at buying a Ford or Subaru as soon as I can.

BadgeInternational
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
holden5ltr

holden5ltr

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

2007 ve omega

published

i bought a 2007 ve omega with low kms, it is a ex police car it has sump guard and lsd diff, has 2 batterrys and stage 2 shift kit. best omega ive owned and goes like a sv6. love the car awesome color and cheap parts when they need replacing

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
casciavit

casciavitWA, 6005

  • 2 reviews

Great Car

published

Definitely one of the best cars I ever driven. Great handling, great engine and reliability.
Legroom and seats are the most comfortable I've ever experienced by far.
The dashboard could have looked better, but it's ok.
The paint is a bit too delicate and the chassis gets dented too easily.

I've never had a problem with the car and it's one of cheapest car in tis range to maintain.

I owned a Falcon and a Commodore VT before and they were already good car but this one is way better.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Best car

published

Upgraded to 2012 series 2.a marked difference.heaps quicker off the mark.handles perfectly,quiet as a mouse.plenty of power for a base model.plenty of room inside,upgraded cd system.seats comfy as.not flash or showy internal plastics but I like it that way.the best car ever owned for fuel consumption.perfect buy.adore my car.never disappoints.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

It's perfect

published

This car is very good car. It's very useful and good for tradesmen and commercial. It have big space and no noise also comforts. It is strong car very safe and easy to drive.also very popular car.7 can see it many place. The pro e is cheap . Good car.

BadgeSV6
BodyUte
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2008

Comfortable cruising vehicle

published

Great car to drive easy to crusie long distance in an does on average 8-10 L per hundred.
However this 2013 has the same fuel economy as my old 1997 Falcon.. Which is surprising..
Its a commodore nothing fancy but still very comfortable and easy to drive and use.
Being the SV6Z it has the 19inch wheels. which i found rather noisy on the road

BadgeSV6 Z Series
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Ian

IanCentral West, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 17 likes

Good car, but quality a concern

published

Engine and the drive are still fine at 100,000km mark, but plastics are falling to bits. Panels are becoming lose and I notice much the same with other peoples VES2 wagon. Radio are also poor quality in these. I think its a hit and miss effort from holden, but then again they are leaving the Australian market and have been trying for years, so what do they care

BadgeBerlina
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob

Robadelaide sa

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

convert

published

I have been a Ford man for as long as I can remember, my first being a 1948 Anglia.. Last year I bought a 2010 VE Berliner, Dual Fuel Holden, and can say I am now a convert to Holden now, Nothing before the VE though. It is great to drive, I get a weeks more use from a tank of gas than I did with my beloved Ford Fairmont.. I never thought I would buy other than Ford, but this car changed my mind..The deal I got from Jarvis ford, including their after sales service is one of the best deals I have ever had..and that is a great many.

BadgeBerlina
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
NipunaEranga

NipunaErangaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best ride. Feel the power

published
BadgeSS
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
tommo

tommo

  • 2 reviews

Luxury, power and awesome to drive

published

Love my big sedan V8, plenty of room for the family, huge boot. The ssv is fully optioned, even sports leather seats. My Z series has the front brembo brakes (a must with a large car). Sunroof is a must to top it off. Is thirsty if your pushing it, otherwise not much difference to the V6 variant. Will be sad to see the end of the Australian built Holden commodore

BadgeSS V
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Mick the poolguy

Mick the poolguyGreensborough

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Solid and strong

published
BadgeSS V
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2010
Baz

BazMorpeth

  • 2 reviews

Worst car I ever owned

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012

SV6 Ute

published

Love the shape, love driving it when it runs ok.
Manual Gearbox, feels like a road ranger out of an old truck, clunks, grinds and the clutch pedal gets stuck on the floor. Has developed a miss only at idle and causes it to run like crap.
Think twice before buying anything with a v6 alloytec engine!!!!!!!

BadgeSV6
BodyUte
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
brass

brass

  • 2 reviews

I've always been a Holden man, specially the commodores, they're a vehicle that are large and spacio

published

Holdens are affordable, if you drive a V8 like mine the right way you can get the same or even better fuel economy than a V6 or you can even get great results compare it with the 4 cylinder vehicle, reliability is great from Holden and when the car has problems or it breaks down, the costs are so much less and cheaper to afford than say a BMW, Mercedes, Audi, and can still have the same luxury as the more expensive cars.

BadgeCalais V
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
natural

naturalAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

So much better

published
BadgeCalais
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
kyle e

kyle eFrankston

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

best car ever

published

best 3 litre car on the market. hasn't once let me down bought at 150,000 now at 300,000 and it has plenty more to give. plenty of boot space. easy to add additional extras tow-bar, roof-racks and electronic brakes. Car starts first time every time, it's not thirsty for a 6 cylinder and it has a great safety rating.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Webbie

WebbieSunshine Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Driver's like a racing car

published

In my opinion, this model car, handles very well on the road. However work still needs to be done in other areas. Electrical problems are a major issue with cruise control and computer. Engine hydraulic mounts leak oil and need replacing too often. Oil consumption is a little extreme and needs to be checked all the time.

BadgeSV6
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Tiana89

Tiana89Melbourne, Victoria

  • 2 reviews

This car is awesome I love it

published

This car has amazing features to it it looks really nice feels good to travel in everything about it is great except the lock to the glove box in ours is busted but otherwise it's perfect it is the best car my family has ever owned I like how it has built in blootooth also

BadgeOmega
BodySportwagon
Engine SizeUnknown
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Page 3 of 7
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Deborah R.

Deborah R.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

My stability control won't turn on.in my Ve ss

No answers
Nils E.

Nils E.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

Main console, radio or hazard light

No answers
Teneale J.

Teneale J.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

I have 2 questions, 1st is my aircon light does not come on and it only blows warm air even when on hot, what's wrong 2nd is how come my s8 will not connect to Bluetooth it has phone on steering wheel thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price A$48,290
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeLPG and Petrol
Wheels19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power210kW @ 6700rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 2800rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.