??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VE

Holden Commodore VE (2006-2013) (page 4 of 7)

3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.9

137 reviews
5
(63)
4
(34)
3
(15)
2
(14)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (10)
  • Braking
    4.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (9)
  • Handling
    4.6 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.9 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (9)
  • Features
    4.4 (9)
Previous
Next

pity they're going

published

I must have an almost perfect engine- almost no oil consumption, plenty of power, purrs like a kitten, 200,000 km no major work on engine. My 4sp auto was replaced and the new one was never super smooth either. Apart from brake wear and tear i've had no other problem mechanically.
Blind spots due to roof pillars are a constant reason to be super careful just dangerous really.
Drivers seat comfort should be better. A BF2 wagon drives heaps better!
All in all a really good car with a few quirks to whinge about

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2009
natural

naturalAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

A bit disappointed

published
BadgeEquipe
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Engine Size3.0
Garry W

Garry WHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a bad car, there are probable worse around.

published
BadgeOmega
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Outback Zac

Outback ZacAU

  • 2 reviews

Reliable, Comfortable & Efficient

published

Purchased wagon in 2011 with 50,000k. Serviced per schedule and never a problem. Well engineered, quiet and comfortable. The 3.6 is smooth and refined, and is very efficient; particularly on highway. Plenty of room for the family and luggage on long trips, and a decent factory sound system for ambiance.

BadgeBerlina
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Sparky

SparkySydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family car

published
BadgeSS
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Engine Size6.0 liter
Dean R

Dean RPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Biggest lemon I have ever owned

published

The only positive about this car? It was in the shop so often when it came time to sell the kays were incredibly low. I had issues with engine lifters, injectors, suspension, engine mounts and brakes. The gearbox is one of the most agricultural I have ever experienced in a car. Stay clear if you value your sanity!

BadgeSS V Special Edition
BodyUte
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Morgan

MorganBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

A Powerful, Fun, Fuel Guzzler

published
BadgeSS Z
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Engine Size5987CC
Danny

DannyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Be careful and look at the service history.

published
BadgeOmega
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Bassjacobass

BassjacobassSão Paulo

Amazing Machine

published

Powerful and reliable.
Extremely comfortable.
Fuel consumption is pretty confident and according to its V6 Toy inside, with 294 hp.
I bought it with 50.000 km. All services were made at a GM dealer, original parts.
Just changed and regulated two front Wheels Pirelli P7.
Stability on dry and wet roads is fantastic.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roxy

RoxyDarwin

Very good reliable vehicle

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.6
Craig B

Craig BSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent value for money.

published

For the price of $42,000 (fully optioned and more), I couldn't ask for better value for money. I've had my VE since 2008 and it has been a fantastic car to own and drive. I've had a couple of issues easily resolved which were actually the result of apprentices not doing a very good job during servicing; the problems I've had were no fault of the manufacturer (Holden). I will consider buying a new car in the next 12 months and the newest Holden Commodore is a serious consideration as a result of the great experience I've had with my current Commodore.

Badge60th Anniversary
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.8L
Michele

Micheleadelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lots of problems.

published

Purchased our Holden omega 2008 low kms 72,000 in excellent condition. We have had the car for 4 years every 3 to 4 you've got another problems cost hundred not big problems but costly. FRont windscreen seal is perished Aliso passenger window seal also. Was the motor down cost us $274 because water sits in a well and won't ever operative this was only was 3 weeks ago so it burnt out coil. If the car isn't serviced every approx 3 months gets hesitant to start then drains battery and it's happened 3 times in the last year.
Would never buy another Holden had Mitsubishi for 28 years and never cost me what this one has.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Ljh

LjhWollongong

  • 3 reviews

Generally Good

published

Had this car for 4 years, have done 80,000kms and have only had a few relatively minor issues. Overall the car is good to drive, has plenty of cabin and cargo space and the engine is adequate for general driving. The main negative is the noisy and occasionally harsh engine and transmission.

BadgeCalais
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.6
czarek.konarzewski

czarek.konarzewskiVictoria, Australia

looks great goes well CONSUMES OIL LIKE CRAZY

published
BadgeOmega
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3000
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Xplorer

XplorerMelbourne, VIC

  • 2 reviews

VE S2 Z SV6 2013: Static FM radio. Carbon buildup in Heads

published
BadgeSV6 Z Series
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VE compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bharath

BharathSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 16 likes

Perfect car

published

Great looking reliable car.. I moved to Australia in 2009 , first time i got into a Taxi commodore and fell in love instantly so rented a car for next week and again drives awesome. I bought a brand soon after in 2010 and its been reliable great car since then.

BadgeInternational
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Achtlos

AchtlosCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 46 reviews
  • 21 likes

Series 1 VE

published

So this is now an older car so this review is clearly for second hand buyers.
I've had my VE Lumina (slightly optioned Omega) for 5 years, it was made in 2008. I've had no serious mechanical faults in 230,000km.
It's needed a new power steering pump pulley, which I was told "they all need".. it was $180 to have done.
It has a nasty 'clunk' in the front suspension that is more noise than any serious issue, sounds like strut towers need doing. I've heard this is quite a common issue.
It leaked from the top radiator hose, this was a pretty cheap fix.

All other issues were standard wear and tear, brakes etc.
The v6 (non-SIDI) is plenty powerful enough and the car comfortably runs the family about.

BadgeLumina
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Steve

SteveMelbourne, Victoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome car !

published
BadgeOmega
BodyUte
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.6 litre V6

great car looks good goes well

published

first new car ever bought.Falcon had nothing that could match my ssv v8 sportswagon. Wife and kids love it.Happy with safety,performance,ecomomy and handling. Had the car 6 years 130000 kms and only service and tyres have been done.Great looking love my v8. Southgate Holden at Reynella have been great.Would buy again and from the same dealer.

BadgeSS V
BodySportwagon
Engine Size6 litre v8
TransmissionAutomatic
Fazz1977

Fazz1977Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 26 likes

2011 VE SV6 Series 2 Sportwagon is made of butter and cheapness

published
BadgeSV6
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.3l SIDI
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Fazz1977
Fazz1977
Page 4 of 7
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Deborah R.

Deborah R.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

My stability control won't turn on.in my Ve ss

No answers
Nils E.

Nils E.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

Main console, radio or hazard light

No answers
Teneale J.

Teneale J.asked

Commodore VE (2006-2013)

I have 2 questions, 1st is my aircon light does not come on and it only blows warm air even when on hot, what's wrong 2nd is how come my s8 will not connect to Bluetooth it has phone on steering wheel thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price A$48,290
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeLPG and Petrol
Wheels19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power210kW @ 6700rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 2800rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.