??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VZ

Holden Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

3.9 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.9

58 reviews
5
(27)
4
(12)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Paris P

Paris PCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Power, luxury and looks

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Carsales.com.au for A$5,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Darren82

Darren82Sydney, NSW

SV6 - Safe, sure, reliable. Power when I need it

published

Purchased in July 2017 for A$4,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sji

Sji

  • 3 reviews

Great car sadly murdered by GM

published

Like Saab I've no idea how Holden did such a car with so little respect from Detroit. GM. The most misguided car outfit ever.
Our VZ has all the gear and equipment you really need even 14yrs on. Great on rough roads. Rugged. Nice on my eyes too. Nothing special but a well thought out family car for the pre-SUV era.
Full electrics, huge space, nicely weighted steering, auto headlights, locking (and a real key I love not a credit card to go wrong!).
Fuel economy is awful and safety should be better. Many are driven by goons. Yet 2 to 4 airbags, abs isn't enough for 2005. Great boot. Just a nice simple car with an easy to access engine bay vs our other cars!

Purchased in January 2018 for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VZ compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Onases

Onases

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Aussie icon and I love it

published

I had a 2005 sv6 the hsv by design edition as well as a Lumina 2005 ar the same time at one stage both were low kms and were well maintained by their original owners.

The sv6 was 5 speed, leather seats, body kit and shifters on the stearing wheel. Wsy above average for the cars around ay that time.

And the lumina had its body kit and the inside wasnt much different than other vzs.

The vz was a great car, quick of the mark, solid and if the car was looked after then you are a happy driver.

Only con about them is that due to their age the little annoying things continually require fixing such as thermostat, radiator and leaking hoses

BadgeSV6 Z Series
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Jimmy Kay

Jimmy KayHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid VZ commodores

published

Bought as daily driver, 2nd hand. Worst car I've ever owned. Overcharging and burning relays. No mechanics or auto elecs can tell me why.
2nd set of timing chains after 250thou ks.
Sensors dying left right & centre.
Rattles & noises galore.
Trash mileage.
Just a heap of junk in general.
Avoid holdens.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Garyh

GaryhSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Solid working man's wagon and *very* reliable!

published
BadgeExecutive
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Danielle D

Danielle DAU

  • 6 reviews

Wouldn't recommend this car to anyone

published

Really regret purchasing this car. Have nothing but trouble since buying it. The new engine that were installed in the VZ model are a pain to repair. Since purchasing this car, I have had to replace tyres 6 times, coil pack, 3 spark plugs and running it on gas has misfired 8 imes.
Will never buy another holden commadore.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
troyza

troyzaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

190kw it's quick

published

I live the vz sv6 commodore anyone who has been in my car loves it the tech is good handle on a dime it is truly a blessing to own i have done some small mods to it nothing that voids any warranty put bigger rims bigger stereo better holden brakes it's beautiful i would recommend this to anyone

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
PeterD

PeterDGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The steel horse

published
BadgeAdventra LX6
BodyAWD wagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2011
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VZ compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Holden got it right with this one

published
BadgeAcclaim
BodyWagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Russ B

Russ BSeaham

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Grandfathers VZ Commodore

published

Has done over 300,000 kms since he bought it in 2007,water pump failed,has had a brake reline & rear shock absorbers which I fitted & radiator fitted,my grandfather replaced the radiator.
Has been an infallible car since after the water pump failed.
Good fuel consumption (900 kms per tank highway cycle).

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Engine Size3.6 litre
rnrpetrie

rnrpetrievic, 3139

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good

published

Comfortable to drive with great acceleration and reasonable handling. Nice and roomy interior and bootspace, good stereo, and dashboard components.
I bought it secondhand from work as a ex managers car that had low kms and had a good service history. It's probably good fuel economy for it's size, but I imagine it would be better on gas. Power is not a problem, delivering when and where you need it to.
Unfortunately 3 weeks after buying it the radiator went (which was misdiagnosed by a mechanic as a hose clamp) and in turn the head gasket blew. $1500 later it turned out to not be such a bargain afterall. I'm told it's unheard of for the heads to go in these, but that's little comfort.

An excellent, reliable and safe car

published
BadgeAcclaim
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.8 Litre, 6 cylinder V6
Abcdef

AbcdefAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Its the most reliable car i ever had

published

I own a 2004 Vz commodore for years now, it has 138000on the clock. Reliable car I have to say. Fuel consumption is an issue, heavy and safe car to drive.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers

I agree with everything you said and more.

published
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VZ compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sallee.T

Sallee.TAustralia

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

VE Calais battery drain resolution

published

I own a VE Calais 06 model, with a 6.0L in it.
I must say I'm very disappointed in Holden,
1. How the car was over all made
2. How holden handled my claim
3. The stupidity on some people thinking they could overcharge me based on my gender (female)
Anyways, the problem.. I bought the car used 8 months ago, didn't miss a beat until now.
The battery and now the alternator are both fried having replaced them both anyways. I did some research and 'apparently' they're infamous for this problem.. my question!

If Holden knows this why not fix it?
Grrr, I must say I love this car but I won't be buying another.. rant over!

Engine SizeV8 6.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeCalais
euro_89

euro_89AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Standard family sedan, good when it works- Would not buy another

published
Engine Size3.8L
BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
The brown man

The brown manAppin, New South Wales

  • 2 reviews

Great Aussie car

published

VZ SV8 auto sedan, bought it 2nd hand with 26000 klm, put LPG on and bigger exhaust. Owned for 6 years now and has 200,000 klms never had a problem, regular services done at wakelings Campbelltown. Tow occasionally. 10.5l/ 100 on gas is a dream. Best car I've ever had for sure. Plenty of power on tap, can't understand why they built bigger V8s.
V8 power, LPG tank fits in boot easily, still looks good, affordable, reliable. Cheap to run.
No cd stacker, no speakers on rear parcel tray area

TransmissionAuto
BadgeSV8
Engine Size5.7L
niko87

niko87Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 91 reviews
  • 44 likes

Terrible

published
1 comment
niko87
niko87
squidlips

squidlips

  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published
Page 1 of 3
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Jo K.

Jo K.asked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

Hi there, I have VZ Commodore sedan battery went completely flat, I've charged it started the car now its showing srs air bag fault. Is this normal? Will the srs airbag fault go away once battery charged?

No answers
Shellharbour F.

Shellharbour F.asked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

having promblems with vz 2005 commodore sometimes i go to start it and theres nothing its like the immoblize is on buy the time i mess around with the key trying to get to flashing pad lock off i go to start it then it sounds like its a flat battery
some people are telling me i have to get the key re coded and some are saying its the battery

1 answer
Chooks
Chooks

Check the earth connections.

Benjamin B.

Benjamin B.asked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

Just disconnected gas off my vz Commodore now won't start

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.