??!
21 photos
Holden Commodore

Holden Commodore (page 2 of 20)

ZB, VE, VF, VS, VT and 3 more
4.0 from 386 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
193
4 star
100
3 star
39
2 star
26
1 star
28

.mee

.meeSouthern and Hills, SA

An amazing car ..

published

Bought my 07 ve omega 2 weeks ago,
It is 3.6 petrol/factory gas, I get about 600 klms from 73 ltrs of gas have only used half a tank of petrol, this car is so smooth to drive, cannot feel the change from petrol to gas and back, it's one of the best maintained second hand cars I have driven, a credit to previous owners, nothing to spend on it as yet, everything works great, can't fault it, I average 800 klicks per week, and the comfort it gives is second to none...in closing...I love it !

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

S.G

S.GAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Wouldn’t dream of any other car.

published

I bought a beautiful red VF ssv redline about 2 years ago. Start of 2017. It caught my eye and every other vf that I looked at just didn’t appeal to me and I kept going back to the exact car that caught my eye from the moment I saw it. I knew it was the one! So I bought it. And it’s the best car I’ve ever owned in my life it was 2014 model. It had so much power I loved it! So immaculate and fancy inside and out, handles very very well and never ever found one problem with it. It may be a V8 but it’s still the perfect car for that ideal family who love style and class. It has the special car seat safety harness attachments inside the seats too so extra safe for a baby!

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAuto with select shift sports automatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Josho

Joshoperth

Good quality car

published

Very impressed, reliable and looks great - was choosing between this and a similar model and glad I chose what I did as I have been thoroughly impressed and blown away by the craftsmanship and sheer reliability of this stellar vehicle just time and time again. Would def recommend as a great car.

BadgeSS
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
The Bull

The Bull

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2012 VE SSZ

published

Although i have not had the car long it is a blast to drive, especially having the 6 speed manual. There are lots of windy corners in my area and this beast just loves corners! The factory stereo is crap. The car has rear muffler delete so it sounds more like a V8 should. On a 470km trip i averaged 9.7L/100km which is great for the size of the engine and car. I have always maintained my own cars and i always do oil and filter at 5000km, not 10,000 or 15,000 as Holden suggest. Look after your car and it will look after you.

BadgeSS Z Series
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Jay

JayWellington

Comfortable large performance sedan with attitude when needed.

published
BadgeSS
BodySedan
Engine Size6.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Sam

SamBrisbane

Great car.... if it wasn't a lemon. BAD ELECTRICS

published
BadgeSS V
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

GG1

GG1

  • 5 reviews

Great v6

published

I have had about 11 cars in 18 years - all from different makers, from Hiunday to Ford, to Renault and Kia - all sports cars. My partner’s had Holdens before. I never did. I really enjoy driving my SW and forget there is a V6 under the bonnet. The dealership was pretty good too and not too pushy.

BadgeSS
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Jade

JadeGold Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Best family car

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Onases

Onases

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Aussie icon and I love it

published

I had a 2005 sv6 the hsv by design edition as well as a Lumina 2005 ar the same time at one stage both were low kms and were well maintained by their original owners.

The sv6 was 5 speed, leather seats, body kit and shifters on the stearing wheel. Wsy above average for the cars around ay that time.

And the lumina had its body kit and the inside wasnt much different than other vzs.

The vz was a great car, quick of the mark, solid and if the car was looked after then you are a happy driver.

Only con about them is that due to their age the little annoying things continually require fixing such as thermostat, radiator and leaking hoses

BadgeSV6 Z Series
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
K A W

K A WNewcastle

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Big Australian

published

I purchased the last of the Australian built SV6 Commodore Wagon. I love this car so much and still look forward to my 30min drive to work each day. The quality is excellent and the amount of tech astounded me. This car self parks (thought I wouldn’t use it but I do) auto headlights and great sound system and Sat nav. Such a shame we don’t build in Australia anymore. My last Aussie built car was a 1967 HR Premier i used back in the 70’s. On average its sitting on 9.4 L per 100km so not bad for a great big Australian.

BadgeSV6
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Clara

ClaraMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the family. Plenty of room, good on fuel.

published

I use my car daily ferrying the kids to school as well as commuting to and from work, we regularly take it on the open road, goes beautifully. I service it every 6 months, no known issues so far. This car was very well maintained by its previous owner. All I’ve had to do was put new tyres on it and replace brake pads, it’s a very comfortable family car. And so far very reliable.
After driving manual transmission cars for the last 20 years the auto transmission is an added bonus! My VE is one of the best cars I’ve ever owned.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Jimmy Kay

Jimmy KayHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Avoid VZ commodores

published

Bought as daily driver, 2nd hand. Worst car I've ever owned. Overcharging and burning relays. No mechanics or auto elecs can tell me why.
2nd set of timing chains after 250thou ks.
Sensors dying left right & centre.
Rattles & noises galore.
Trash mileage.
Just a heap of junk in general.
Avoid holdens.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Aidan

AidanMildura

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Final Holden made in Aus!

published

Fantastic car! The last ever made in Australia and we are glad we bought one. Used daily for family travel this car provided comfort as well as luxury. Getting serviced every 6-8months is working well, still only on our first set of breaks but third set of tires, the down side to low profile tires.

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

KKK

KKKVIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

one of the best car's

published

i use this car pretty much everyday and nothing has ever gone wrong with it. the car is very basic car but is perfect for every day life. i've only had to get the car serviced one or twice over the past 3-4 years that i have owned the car. but those were mainly just because of the fact that the car was old. but other than that one of the best cars that you could possibly own

BadgeInternational
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Alan H

Alan HAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

such a good car

published

Love my Commos, good, solid reliable car. you can crash most cars and they are a complete right off - Not a commodore it will take a hit and keep on going. Parts are easy to find and cheap and the few minor issues they have later in life is easy fixed.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size5.7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Garyh

GaryhAU

  • 4 reviews

Solid working man's wagon and *very* reliable!

published
BadgeExecutive
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010

Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Drives well

published

My daily commuter a ve series 1 2007 dual fuel , When i brought the car it had timing chain issues but i drove it like that for 50,000km then i decided to change them (they were missing by a tooth on the gear) because of the check engine light , after that it was no problem but car went the same , good smooth car , good on lpg , shockers get leaky after about 150,000km , it's a typical aussie car very reliable besides the timing faults , nice to drive , handles surprisingly well, had it for 5 years , big back space , huge inside feels like a lounge , plenty of power , and if you like engine noise when you step on it , it's there , safe car .

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2007

Ariel

ArielMackay

  • 12 reviews

Old Car. Still lives on

published

I own a 1994 Holden Berlina, even tho my car has Fair Wear and Tear condition. It still drives and works at its perk. I just love older cars. In the space of the 8 years I have owed my car. It has broken down only 3 times. No lie only 3.

BadgeBerlina
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2010

Kal

KalBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Money Pit

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Ching eva

Ching evasydney

Excellent Drive

published

The interior look is also best described as elegant, with fresh shapes that flow cohesively into the door trims and centre console. There’s a general air of quality about it, but it’s let down by some cheap-feeling controls and switches, particularly the climate control knobs. The unmatchable mileage is what really excited me for the purchase.

BadgeEsteem
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Page 2 of 20

Questions & Answers

laurie c.

laurie c.asked

Commodore VF

What connections are there on the mylink infotainment system to plug in the reverse camera

No answers

laurie c.

laurie c.asked

Commodore VF

What camera connections are in a vf2 mylink infotainment head unit

No answers

Greg S.

Greg S.asked

Commodore VF

How do you reset computer after flat battery

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Details

Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) LT Petrol

Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) LT Petrol

No reviews
Holden Commodore VS
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VS (1995-1997)

3 reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) RS

Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) RS

1 review
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) LT Petrol

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) LT Petrol (2017-2019)

No reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) RS-V

Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) RS-V

1 review
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) RS FWD

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) RS FWD (2017-2019)

1 review
Holden Commodore VE
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VE (2006-2013)

132 reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) RS-V

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) RS-V (2017-2019)

No reviews
Holden Commodore VF (Sedan)
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VF (Sedan) (2013-2017)

92 reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais Diesel

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais Diesel (2017-2019)

No reviews
Holden Commodore VF (Wagon)
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VF (Wagon)

26 reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais-V

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais-V (2017-2019)

No reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) LT Diesel

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) LT Diesel (2017-2019)

No reviews
Holden Commodore VT
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VT (1997-2000)

11 reviews
Holden Commodore VX
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VX (2000-2002)

20 reviews
Holden Commodore VY
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VY (2002-2004)

29 reviews
Holden Commodore VZ
  • Discontinued

Holden Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

57 reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) RS AWD

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) RS AWD (2017-2019)

No reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) LT Diesel

Holden Commodore ZB (Wagon) LT Diesel

No reviews
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais Petrol

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais Petrol (2017-2019)

1 review
Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) VXR

Holden Commodore ZB (Sedan) VXR (2017-2019)

No reviews
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and SedansCars and WagonsCars and SedansCars and WagonsCars and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and WagonsCars and SedansCars and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars and SedansCars and WagonsCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $29,910$40,990$51,990$48,290$46,990$35,490$43,990$37,490$51,990$43,990$44,400$32,490$33,290$32,990$51,990$40,990$55,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolLPG and PetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy20" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors45545454554444555
Seats55555555555555555
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.6 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.7 L/100km8.9 L/100km9 L/100km5.8 L/100km9 L/100km9.1 L/100km5.8 L/100km8 L/100km6.6 L/100km11.3 L/100km11 L/100km9.1 L/100km7.6 L/100km9.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 59 L61 L61 L71 L61 L71 L61 L71 L61 L61 L75 L75 L75 L61 L61 L61 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.8L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L8 Cylinder 5.7L6 Cylinder 3.8L6 Cylinder 3.8L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power147kW @ 5200rpm191kW @ 5500rpm235kW @ 6800rpm210kW @ 6700rpm235kW @ 6800rpm210kW @ 6700rpm125kW @ 3750rpm210kW @ 6700rpm235kW @ 6800rpm125kW @ 3750rpm220kW @ 5000rpm152kW @ 5200rpm152kW @ 5200rpm172kW @ 6000rpm235kW @ 6800rpm191kW @ 5500rpm235kW @ 6800rpm
Max Torque304Nm @ 3600rpm350Nm @ 3000-4000rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm350Nm @ 2800rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm350Nm @ 2800rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm350Nm @ 2800rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm446Nm @ 4400rpm305Nm @ 3600rpm305Nm @ 3600rpm320Nm @ 2800rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm350Nm @ 3000-4000rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaGermanyGermanyAustraliaGermanyAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaGermanyAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaGermanyAustraliaGermany
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 1995Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2006Jan 2017Jan 2013Jan 2017Jan 2013Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 1997Jan 2000Jan 2002Jan 2004Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateDec 1997Dec 2013Dec 2017Dec 2017Dec 2000Dec 2002Dec 2004Dec 2006

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.