??!
21 photos
Holden Commodore

Holden Commodore (page 4 of 21)

VE, VZ, VY, etc...
4.1 from 416 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (51)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (52)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (51)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (51)
  • Braking
    4.7 (51)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (52)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (52)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (52)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (52)
  • Handling
    4.6 (52)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (52)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (52)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (52)
  • Features
    4.3 (51)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Clara

ClaraMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car for the family. Plenty of room, good on fuel.

published

I use my car daily ferrying the kids to school as well as commuting to and from work, we regularly take it on the open road, goes beautifully. I service it every 6 months, no known issues so far. This car was very well maintained by its previous owner. All I’ve had to do was put new tyres on it and replace brake pads, it’s a very comfortable family car. And so far very reliable.
After driving manual transmission cars for the last 20 years the auto transmission is an added bonus! My VE is one of the best cars I’ve ever owned.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Jimmy Kay

Jimmy KayHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid VZ commodores

published

Bought as daily driver, 2nd hand. Worst car I've ever owned. Overcharging and burning relays. No mechanics or auto elecs can tell me why.
2nd set of timing chains after 250thou ks.
Sensors dying left right & centre.
Rattles & noises galore.
Trash mileage.
Just a heap of junk in general.
Avoid holdens.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Aidan

AidanMildura

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Final Holden made in Aus!

published

Fantastic car! The last ever made in Australia and we are glad we bought one. Used daily for family travel this car provided comfort as well as luxury. Getting serviced every 6-8months is working well, still only on our first set of breaks but third set of tires, the down side to low profile tires.

BadgeSS V Redline
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KKK

KKKVIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

one of the best car's

published

i use this car pretty much everyday and nothing has ever gone wrong with it. the car is very basic car but is perfect for every day life. i've only had to get the car serviced one or twice over the past 3-4 years that i have owned the car. but those were mainly just because of the fact that the car was old. but other than that one of the best cars that you could possibly own

BadgeInternational
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Alan H

Alan HAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

such a good car

published

Love my Commos, good, solid reliable car. you can crash most cars and they are a complete right off - Not a commodore it will take a hit and keep on going. Parts are easy to find and cheap and the few minor issues they have later in life is easy fixed.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size5.7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Garyh

GaryhSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Solid working man's wagon and *very* reliable!

published
BadgeExecutive
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Drives well

published

My daily commuter a ve series 1 2007 dual fuel , When i brought the car it had timing chain issues but i drove it like that for 50,000km then i decided to change them (they were missing by a tooth on the gear) because of the check engine light , after that it was no problem but car went the same , good smooth car , good on lpg , shockers get leaky after about 150,000km , it's a typical aussie car very reliable besides the timing faults , nice to drive , handles surprisingly well, had it for 5 years , big back space , huge inside feels like a lounge , plenty of power , and if you like engine noise when you step on it , it's there , safe car .

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2007
Ariel

ArielMackay

  • 12 reviews

Old Car. Still lives on

published

I own a 1994 Holden Berlina, even tho my car has Fair Wear and Tear condition. It still drives and works at its perk. I just love older cars. In the space of the 8 years I have owed my car. It has broken down only 3 times. No lie only 3.

BadgeBerlina
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2010
Kal

KalBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Money Pit

published
BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ching eva

Ching evasydney

Excellent Drive

published

The interior look is also best described as elegant, with fresh shapes that flow cohesively into the door trims and centre console. There’s a general air of quality about it, but it’s let down by some cheap-feeling controls and switches, particularly the climate control knobs. The unmatchable mileage is what really excited me for the purchase.

BadgeEsteem
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Andy

AndySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

great car, lots of space, smooth ride

published

A great vehicle for a family, whether commuting or long distance (drove it from Melbourne to Brisbane over two days, with no problems whatsoever), mine has only 59 000 kms (being an ex company vehicle, so not thrashed). The six speed automatic is smooth and powerful, though I wonder if the fuel consumption is actually more than stated. The only minor complaint I have is that the back wagon door doesn't shut properly, unless closed very carefully: often takes multiple attempts to do it right, otherwise no issues and I'm very happy with it.

BadgeOmega
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Tee

Tee

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Big spacious,cruise, reliae

published

I use my car commuting to work mostly as I ttavel 60ks four times a week as a.musician I think this car is ideal because of it cruise control and good in.feul, I get the. At serviced every 10,000 ks, and I have had no issues with it.I think that I will get my moneys worth and it will last me years, I like the spacious boot, and room inside the car

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size6.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Dual fuel omega best ccar ive owned!

published

My 2010 omega has clocked up 624000 kms, interstate trips almost every week and back and forth to perth a thousand times
Great economy on fuel and gas ,motor is quiet cold and im sure it's going to go for ages yet.the interior is a bit daggy but planning an upgrade to sv6 interior soon.

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Paulkit

Paulkit

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car with all bells and whistles

published

Bought our Holden Calais VF in 2016 from Brighton Holden., best decision we made. We have had a BMW and other cars but this one ticked all the boxes. It is powerful, spacious, latest tech, drives well, mileage is good too. My wife loves it's self parking function and the Bose speakers

BadgeCalais V
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Zak

ZakGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Superb Sports Car.

published

I love the design and acceleration of holden commodore sv6 2018. Interior is awesome and very comfortable for long daily driving and options like apple carplay and wireless mobile charging and 360 camera provide you all quality feature and 5 year warranty will cover your all cost of damage. I recommend buying roadside assistance for it.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam

AdamGeelong

  • 8 reviews

Get what you pay for

published

Car drives well. Handling is good. Road noise is average. Interior doesn't differ too much from the ve and is starting to look a bit dated already. Bluetooth is a nice function. Econony is right on what you would expect. Overall the car is fine without being fantastic. Good value for money

BadgeEquipe
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Warren

Warren

  • 2 reviews

Very pleased

published

This is my seventh Holden and I have never had any problems with any of them. I bought it second hand one year old. Our family has owned many different makes and models and I rate this the the best car I have owned. It is quiet on the road, handles well and is comfortable. I use it mainly for long trips and it is surprisingly economical for a big car. Only thing I have had replaced was a broken dust seal around the latch on the tailgate and this was done under warranty. Capped servicing is reasonable compared with other cars I have compared it with. Pity it is the last of the rear drive Aussie cars.

BadgeCalais
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Stuart

StuartTownsville

Holden VE 2011 Omega Series 2 TOTAL LEMON

published

this car is a complete LEMON Holden customer care DONT CARE!
I WILL NEVER RECOMEND HOLDEN TO ANYONE.
nothing but problems with this heap of crap.
paid 15 k second hand have spent already another 4- 5 K IN REPAIRS so far on
timing chain set
rear main seals x 2 + servicing

BadgeOmega
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Jack Mehoff

Jack MehoffSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car, but few problems

published

Was a great car to buy brand new. Just a few finish problems, the unit under the passenger seat is loose and allows water in.
The passenger seat cover (standard) lifts at the base.
The MyLink is super buggy but can live with it.
Has plenty of room in all aspects, leg, boot and rear passenger.
Gearbox was way too soft.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Tom Seaford

Tom SeafordMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

why is Lpg not popular any more

published

Just went back to owning a Commodore wagon. I had a Mitsubishi triton diesel for about 7 years, I got fed up with the running costs especially when diesel hit $1.59 a litre, service costs, and it needed a new set of injectors. (4-5 thousand) I bought an ex government Commodore Lpg wagon. Brilliant car, heaps of extras on the basic model, 650ks to a tank around town, I can almost drive to Sydney for a tank of gas, eat your heart out Tesla.

BadgeEvoke
BodySportwagon
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 4 of 21
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Allison

Allison asked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

Radio is not turning off when I shut the drivers side door so is causing the battery to go flat?

No answers
Dean

Deanasked

Commodore VF (2013-2017)

My radio was working fine then the next day doesn't work nor does the cd player i changed the fuse and still nothing

1 answer
Dean S.
Dean S.

I would recommend taking it to Holden and getting them to check it out. I haven't had an issues with mine. Cheers.

Pete b

Pete basked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

When driving a vz commodore 2004 my dash board stops working battery light n other lights on.bottom show up put foot down n its returns to normal any ideas oh n a red wire the that gors into a plastic round tube with fuse is snapped is it hard to replace please help

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$40,990A$43,990A$51,990A$51,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km5.8 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L61 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power191kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 3750rpm235kW @ 6800rpm235kW @ 6800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 3000-4000rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.