??!
5 photos
Holden Equinox EQ

Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Holden Equinox EQ 2020 and Holden Equinox EQ 2022. LTZ, LT, LS+, etc...
4.7 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.7

17 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (13)
  • Braking
    4.8 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.9 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (11)
  • Handling
    4.6 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (12)
  • Features
    4.9 (12)
Previous
Next

Great family car with good grunt and space

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jacqui

JacquiAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

I've just clocked up 85000 k's since 2018 & the car has been faultless. I flog this car all over rural nsw.
First set of tyres got to 70,000 k's.
Fuel economy sits at 7.6 litres.
Seats comfortable, has the heating function when needed.
Plenty of overtaking power on country roads. The 2.0 turbo motor hammers along.
Great air con, it cools the cabin in no time
Radio reception in the country is excellent.
Has all the safety tech e.g lane departure warning etc

If you are after a safe, reliable & value for money car, look no further than the Equinox.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Philip

PhilipBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good all-rounder at the right price

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Holden Equinox EQ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adrian C.

Adrian C.Launceston, TAS

Great vehicle with many strengths. Pity Holden is no more!

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $37,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
huit

huitSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic drive for an SUV, good all-rounder though not without flaws

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Everything works as it should

published

Purchased in January 2000 at Holden Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Anthony D.

Anthony D.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love it. What a great value car.

published

Great power and very quiet. Cabin has a premium feel, and although quality is not quite up to scratch, this doesn't detract from the enjoyment. Sound system is amazing and it feels like driving business class!

Purchased in March 2020 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Doreen Thomas

Doreen ThomasSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great car I love it

published

Absolutely love the equinox from the way it drives to all the modern features, I find the vehicle well built and well designed. Great value for money and cheap to run.

Purchased in December 2019 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
glennelsegood

glennelsegoodWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Zupps for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Holden Equinox EQ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jo B.

Jo B.Central Queensland, QLD

Comfortable Seats. Smooth Ride. Plenty of Power.

published

Purchased the Holden Equinox LT a week ago. Used daily for general commuting and family transport.
So far, so good. The seats are quite comfortable. The ride is smooth. Power great. Gadgets a-plenty (I'm still learning them all). Yet to find out what the fuel consumption is like, however looking at others' comments, am hoping it will be reasonable. Will update my thoughts in a couple of months, but so far, we're quite happy with it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Holden Dealers for $34,140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Fantastic car, reliable and comfortable

published

I have had an Equinox for about a month now for daily commuting and weekend trips away and it is an exceptionally impressive car. Extremely quiet on the road, engine and gearbox well suited to the vehicle, safety technology works well and it just feels well put together. I have driven Foresters, CX5s, Koleos and the Equinox is far better value for the money. The Equinox has been rated as one of the most reliable medium SUVs in the USA and I can see why.

Purchased in May 2019 for $22,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great car

published

Had our car for 2 months no faults found at all. Great fuel economy and power from the 2 litre turbo engine and 9 speed auto. Great drive on the open highway and around the suburbs. Would be nice to have adaptive cruise but not essential. Great safety features for the cost. Love this car.

BadgeLTZ
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
allans156

allans156AU

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car.

published

Had this car as a loaner and was very surprised. Drives very well, heaps of power (2 litre turbo model), and heaps of safety features. Not sure on long term, as I only had the car for a week. The AWD system was amazing in the wet, and overall the car felt great to drive. A huge leap forward over the Captiva.

BadgeLTZ
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Rhonda B

Rhonda BVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Love my new car

published

I use my car for both private and work every day.It drives really smooth and white looks amazing.
I haven't mastered the radio stations as yet but the service center said they would help! I am still getting used to not using a key but that is so convenient
My car is due for it's first service next week

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Shaneo

ShaneoSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Amazing car, heaps of power and safety kit

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Shaneo
Shaneo

Update: My Equinox has now done 22000kms and still going well (no issues to report). I now tow a 1250kg camper behind on holidays, it and tows it with ease doesn't seem to work very hard at all. Very impressed :)

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Holden Equinox EQ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ciaman22

ciaman22AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

A great new model to shake up the large established field of great mid-sized SUV's

published

This car ticked all our boxes.
Powerful engine, auto trans, interior comfort, AWD, dual zone climate control, heaps of driver aids and safety features. The car drives like a dream. Downsides include requirement for premium 95ULP fuel, firm ride, and a very basic Satnav that doesn't include all speed limits, an over-speed alert, speed and red light camera locations. Every car has its shortcomings!

Purchased in December 2017 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Pete b

Pete bMurray Mallee, SA

Great car. Perfect for us

published

Had car for 2500 kms. Can't fault it. Just driven to and from port Lincoln 1700 kms. Over various roads. Did not miss a beat. The 2 litre turbo has plenty of punch
Even wife enjoyed driving long distances.

Great accessories. H link worked well

No I'm not a Holden salesperson

Purchased in February 2018 at The CPAP Clinic Physical store for $45,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2017

Questions & Answers

Lesley H.

Lesley H.asked

Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

How to switch from trip 1to trip2

No answers
Philip

Philipasked

Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

Anyone with a MY18 Equinox and had their MyLink software updated? Have they implemented any "While In Motion" lockouts on the infotainment, e.g., prevent search or changing routes etc?

No answers
TotallyDisheartened

TotallyDisheartenedasked

Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

I purchased an LT Equinox 2 months ago and drove 300ks. The engine light came up so went to the Holden dealer and the spoke to Holden who said replace to clutch plate in the 10 speed. When they disassembled the side access they found shavings in the pan. The 10 speed is now being replaced with a new one. Car has travelled 10000ks and I purchased as a demo. Has anyone else had gearbox problems?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 5 Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $27,990$32,990$36,990$39,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDiesel and PetrolDiesel and PetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km8.2 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power127kW @ 5600rpm127kW @ 5600rpm188kW @ 5500rpm188kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque275Nm @ 2000-4000rpm275Nm @ 2000-4000rpm353Nm @ 2500-4500rpm353Nm @ 2500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureMexicoMexicoMexicoMexico
Safety Features
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 5 Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.