5 photos
Holden Equinox EQ

Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

LT, LTZ, LTZ-V, etc...
4.7 from 20 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.7
20 reviews
5
(14)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (15)
  • Braking
    4.8 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.9 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (13)
  • Handling
    4.6 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (14)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (14)
  • Features
    4.9 (14)
Previous
Next
map1952
map1952Far North Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love the car

published

We did a lot of research, had a list of specifications and this car meets our requirements. The car is comfortable, easily to handle, tech meeting all our needs as an elderly couple . Could not have asked for a better car

Purchased in June 2021 at zoocar for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tonic wade
Tonic wadeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews

Good value

published

I use this car every day for work and now has 150000 kilometres on the clock. The ride is quite and smooth along with apple play makes my day pleasurable. I have had it log book serviced and the only extra I have had done was air conditioning cleaned along with the fuel injection cleaned as well, which was not expensive. Great car and would recommend it.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cliff30
Cliff30MACQUARIE
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

We have a LT Equinox purchased as a Demo. Overall we are very happy with the car. No mechanical issues with the car and it is very fast and sure footed on the road. Only negative would be the ride is very firm. I would recommend the car

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Holden Equinox EQ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great family car with good grunt and space

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jacqui
JacquiAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

I've just clocked up 85000 k's since 2018 & the car has been faultless. I flog this car all over rural nsw.
First set of tyres got to 70,000 k's.
Fuel economy sits at 7.6 litres.
Seats comfortable, has the heating function when needed.
Plenty of overtaking power on country roads. The 2.0 turbo motor hammers along.
Great air con, it cools the cabin in no time
Radio reception in the country is excellent.
Has all the safety tech e.g lane departure warning etc

If you are after a safe, reliable & value for money car, look no further than the Equinox.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Philip
PhilipBrisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good all-rounder at the right price

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Adrian C.
Adrian C.Launceston, TAS

Great vehicle with many strengths. Pity Holden is no more!

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $37,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
huit
huitSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic drive for an SUV, good all-rounder though not without flaws

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Everything works as it should

published

Purchased in January 2000 at Holden Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Holden Equinox EQ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony D.
Anthony D.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Love it. What a great value car.

published

Great power and very quiet. Cabin has a premium feel, and although quality is not quite up to scratch, this doesn't detract from the enjoyment. Sound system is amazing and it feels like driving business class!

Purchased in March 2020 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Doreen Thomas
Doreen ThomasSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great car I love it

published

Absolutely love the equinox from the way it drives to all the modern features, I find the vehicle well built and well designed. Great value for money and cheap to run.

Purchased in December 2019 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
glennelsegood
glennelsegoodWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Zupps for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jo B.
Jo B.Central Queensland, QLD

Comfortable Seats. Smooth Ride. Plenty of Power.

published

Purchased the Holden Equinox LT a week ago. Used daily for general commuting and family transport.
So far, so good. The seats are quite comfortable. The ride is smooth. Power great. Gadgets a-plenty (I'm still learning them all). Yet to find out what the fuel consumption is like, however looking at others' comments, am hoping it will be reasonable. Will update my thoughts in a couple of months, but so far, we're quite happy with it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Holden Dealers for $34,140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Fantastic car, reliable and comfortable

published

I have had an Equinox for about a month now for daily commuting and weekend trips away and it is an exceptionally impressive car. Extremely quiet on the road, engine and gearbox well suited to the vehicle, safety technology works well and it just feels well put together. I have driven Foresters, CX5s, Koleos and the Equinox is far better value for the money. The Equinox has been rated as one of the most reliable medium SUVs in the USA and I can see why.

Purchased in May 2019 for $22,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Great car

published

Had our car for 2 months no faults found at all. Great fuel economy and power from the 2 litre turbo engine and 9 speed auto. Great drive on the open highway and around the suburbs. Would be nice to have adaptive cruise but not essential. Great safety features for the cost. Love this car.

BadgeLTZ
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Holden Equinox EQ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Lesley H.
Lesley H.asked
Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

How to switch from trip 1to trip2

No answers
Philip
Philipasked
Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

Anyone with a MY18 Equinox and had their MyLink software updated? Have they implemented any "While In Motion" lockouts on the infotainment, e.g., prevent search or changing routes etc?

No answers
TotallyDisheartened
TotallyDisheartenedasked
Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

I purchased an LT Equinox 2 months ago and drove 300ks. The engine light came up so went to the Holden dealer and the spoke to Holden who said replace to clutch plate in the 10 speed. When they disassembled the side access they found shavings in the pan. The 10 speed is now being replaced with a new one. Car has travelled 10000ks and I purchased as a demo. Has anyone else had gearbox problems?

No answers
See all Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 5 Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $27,990$32,990$36,990$39,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDiesel and PetrolDiesel and PetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km8.2 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power127kW @ 5600rpm127kW @ 5600rpm188kW @ 5500rpm188kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque275Nm @ 2000-4000rpm275Nm @ 2000-4000rpm353Nm @ 2500-4500rpm353Nm @ 2500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureMexicoMexicoMexicoMexico
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateJune 2021June 2021June 2021June 2021
Compare all 5 Holden Equinox EQ (2017-2021)

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.