??!
2 photos
Kmart Anko 20L Microwave

Kmart Anko 20L Microwave

MPN: P70B20AP-ST
4.0 from 143 reviews

See the Best Microwaves in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


700W not alot

This microwave is only 700W and most microwave cooking times are based on a 1000W microwave. If you don’t mind putting your food in for a little longer than you’re used, or more than what it says on the packaging, then especially for this price, this microwave will definitely do the trick (eventually)

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

cheap

while the food cooks and the microwave does it job at the end of the day you get what you pay for. the plastic exterior makes it look cheap and it scratches easily. overall if you don't mind the look and just want something that works go ahead and buy it.

Purchased in February 2019 for $48.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Doesn't heat food

Bought this microwave less than a month ago. It does not heat food properly - I have just spent 10 minutes trying to defrost a small single-serving meal (complete with stirring, etc.). For less than $50, I did not expect it to be brilliant, but I did expect it to at least work.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $49.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

It only does its job for the price paid for it!

Food heats up preserving its texture but it takes so long!! touch panel really needs a strong press to get working. and it starts beeping once the food is ready and it beeps (I think) every minute until the food is taken out which is annoying.

Purchased in June 2019 for $48.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Terribly quality

Not sure if anyone else had a similar issue, could have been that mine was just faulty. I found that is was cheap and convenient for a share house but the quality of the microwave was low. The product took double the time to heat something up compared to something you would pay a little extra for (quality is better than cheapness honestly). A large plate only just fit... definitely would not recommend nor would I buy this again.

Purchased in January 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Value for money!

Initially I hesitated at buying this due to ‘you get what you pay for’ but I needed it for the space. It fits a normal dinner plate and spaciously on a counter top or on a fridge. Definitely a great price for a good microwave!!

Purchased in March 2017 at Kmart Retail Stores for $49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

A great quicky cooker

So happy when I bought this product..always happy with the homemaker brand...cooks in a short time..love heating a meat pie or cooking a piece of fish..food is never mushy..comes out eldente

Purchased in January 2016 at Kmart newtown tasmania for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Happy Microwaving

Great size for one/two people. I chose smaller one as I only need a small microwave and it fits perfectly on my bench top and doesn't take up too much room. Easily and quickly set up. It does the job perfectly and as I have purchased this product before, I know it will last a LONG time. It is easy to understand and use (nothing complicated). There is a feature for "warming dinner plates" which is great and features for heating/cooking potatoes, frozen vegetables, popcorn, pizza, beverages etc., so this small but very useful microwave is great for quick snacks and meals on the go. I'm more than happy and would definitely recommend this Home Co product from Kmart, especially for 1 to 3 people. I am adding this after using the microwave a few times, there is one thing that is a concern and that is I have noticed that the top and sides get VERY hot after using and takes quite some time to cool down.

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $48.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Reasonable price with good quality

This microwave oven is very cheap and cost-effective. Recently it changed a new look. It is very suitable for small families. I use it every day to heat milk, it never let me down. The disadvantage is that the defrosting function of this microwave oven is not very good, it will cook the frozen meat.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

So micro happy!

I’m stoked as the microwave I have purchased from Kmart has helped me out when cooking for many a family event! I use it in the hot weather and the kitchen doesn’t heat up! I love the fast way that my food is ready and I cook so many great healthy options in a tantine with no fat just great healthy food.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Good size

Purchased for the smaller size (I prefer to keep the microwave in the cupboard, off the bench). For this reason I do wish the cord was as long as my previous Aldi model, but this was easily fixed with an extension cord. Basic, but you get what you pay for. I always add at least 30-60 seconds of heating time, as it does have a bit less strength but that's to be expected. I can spare the extra 30 seconds vs. spending a few hundred like on the industrial-strength ones at my office :) Bonus - no burnt fingers when removing your item from the microwave :)

Date PurchasedNov 2018

An inexpensive little microwave with everything I want.

We have never been keen microwave oven users, having only owned one or two since they came onto the market many years ago and seeing every year during Council Clean-up week dozens of discarded microwaves, which makes me think they are not a reliable appliance and not worth investing a lot of money for one.

Six months ago my Aldi microwave died after 2 years, and as we were about to move house we only wanted something basic to see us through in the short term. We looked around but found every machine to be too expensive and far too big for us and wouldn't fit in our kitchen.
The small Kmart 20 L with just 700W power machine we figured at $48, would do the trick as a temporary measure, but, now 6 months later it sits neatly on the benchtop of our new kitchen and is just right for us, mainly warming things up.
It is just big enough to take one of our dinner plates with a cover, and most things take about 2-3 minutes to zap.
It is surprisingly quiet in operation, the screen is bright, the internal light works well and whilst there are programming buttons, we only ever push the start button for each 30 seconds of cooking.
The door open button works effortlessly and the white interior is easy to wipe over, although we find using microwave covers saves any spitting.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Affordable and simple

I purchased this microwave to simply reheat things - I haven’t used it for more than about 10 minutes at a time. It has been great and very simple to use, the buttons are straight forward and easy to read. Easy to clean as well - only drawback is it’s a bit smaller than most microwaves but this hasn’t bothered me - cheap and simple.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great for the price

Features are very basic but that is all i need. It heats food evenly. It is easy to clean and the dish can be washed in the dishwasher. Very basic design but good for the price I paid. Had it for just under a year and it still works great

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Compact and efficient.

This microwave is great as it doesn't take up to much space, but for a small microwave it does heat up the food quite quickly. I have never had trouble with uneven heating and find the touch screen to be easy to use. I've had trouble setting the time on other brands before, but not this one!

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Chinese excreted rubbish at its best

Well, today we decided to replace our old Microwave with a new one, so we went to K Mart because at least they replace Chinese garbage when it fails. Firstly it was CHEAP. The thing is it never worked. Not worth saying that you get what you pay for but at least this heap of rubbish could be like most Chinese garbage and worked for a couple of months. Never again, buy a brand name. We gave this a one star only because the site would not let us give it nothing.


Quite solid microwave

It was quite good from first 2 weeks that i purchased. I usually use it to heat up the milk and spin about 30 seconds was enough. After that, the microwave's power getting weak. I need to spin 1 minute to heat up the milk. I am not sure what is going on

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Cheap and cheerful

I bought this microwave for my son so that he can warm up his lunch, It was never intended for cooking and it is very simple to operate. The buttons are easy to push and it is easy to clean, It heats up quickly and does the job well. I think it is relatively cheap and works well.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Lightweight, constant power

The oven is easy to use and clean. It replaced a 25 year old Whirlpool and has basically the same features except a higher wattage and a much lighter weight, and larger interior. As my husband said " Not as much metal needed in the new generation of ovens".
I wipe it clean with warm water, not allowing any splatter to set, and preventing splatter with appropriate covering of the food as best as possible.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Attractive design

It is attractive, the glass turn table is quality, it has an inverter which seems to work well, it's very quiet compared to my old microwave, it's powerful.
This unit pops all the kernels in my popcorn without burning a single piece... which sounds like no big deal, but my old unit would simultaneously burn the popcorn AND only pop about half the kernels. This evenness is a vast improvement over my old microwave. LED lighting is pleasant. The front panel had protective plastic which kept it nice.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

The metal plate inside the microwave started to burn a hole in it because student put ceramic bowl with small amount of nutella it. Where can I purchase the small metal piece?
2 answers
As we no that microwave ovens cook from inside u mite have to go to Kmart and ask them or ring the company and tel them I don’t think it wil b cheap thoWe found the plate online and it is a common problem with microwaves. Not just this one. It depends on the person using it! The plate is for the 'waves' to circulate the action.

Details

Kmart Anko 20L Microwave
CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $48.00
Type Conventional
FeaturesChild Safety Lock
Capacity20L
Dimensions 266 x 452 x 320 mm
Door MechanismPush Release
Colour / Finish White
Power1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: P70B20AP-ST

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.