??!
1 photo
Homemaker LD-1989A

Homemaker LD-1989A

3.2 from 56 reviews

See the Best Electric Kettles in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
10
3 star
10
2 star
6
1 star
13

perfect until the lid falls apart

published

HI I really like this kettle, however after after a year or so the lid falls apart. I had a look (and taken pictures) to noticed that the where the screws connect the bottom and top part (and keeps the mechanics inside together) is very thin plastic. As i gather from what i saw the heat/steam makes the plastic brittle and eventually the plastic around the screws just breaks.. which means that the top of the lid falls of and the mechanics inside (that keeps the lid closed) fall apart and renders the kettle useless. This is clearly a fixable engineering issue.

I would like to be contacted by the manufacturer and see how we can improve this otherwise excellent product.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Yvonne

YvonneBrisbane

best ever

published

the homemake glass kettle has been the best solar. I bought 10 years ago super cheap and the lid broke off the other day. 10 years ... it has done an awesome job and I never had a kettle that long. It still works but I will look into getting a new one soon with a functioning lid.

Date PurchasedSep 2009

Dangerous

published

First use this kettle slowly leaked all over the bench wetting the base and dripping onto the floor.
Got a replacement. Filled to max with water and vinegar as per instructions and set to boil. Boiling water spurted out the spout. Half the water ended up on the bench and all thtough the base before i could turn it off at the wall and unplug it. Dangerous I Will take it back for a refund this time !!!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Emmie

Emmie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Its the lid '!

published

The lid fell off , unfortunately its the second time in 3 years ! Otherwise I love it , but now I need to get another one. Don't really know who sells them, it was a gift ( both times ) ? I can't asked my friends to buy me another !

Date PurchasedJun 2017

smitdoggy

smitdoggyport pirie

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

love the led lights

published

i have had 3 kettles exact brand i love the way they light up but wish for more colours but like each one the lid has broken from the arms and cant be glued or stuck back on but they are so nice to the point i cant stop buying them

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Christine

Christine

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

it is very pretty

published

love the blue leds, the lid is crap, the 2nd ones lid has now broken, my mums lid has broken, the kettle started to heat up then stopped, I put an old spare on the base and it worked so it is the kettle that is stuffed. It was awful to pour out of as well. Would
not buy another.

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Adel

AdelMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

In general, am satisfied with this product.

published

I like its shape, color, and blue light when it is turned on. I bought it from eBay for $35. I am using it every day. Regards to its price and quality I think it is an affordable product. However, because its cap is plastic you should be careful when you want to open or close it.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

LPMelb

LPMelbMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good Quality For A Cheap Price

published

Bought the Homemaker Glass Kettle over a year ago. I was a little sceptical at first being a cheaper brand however this has been a great purchase so far. Paid $30 compared to other brands costing more than double that amount. So far I have not had a problem with this product. I think I have got value for money on this one. Would definitely recommend trying.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
FREDDIE

FREDDIEPalmyra

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Okay for a while lid fell of and LEDS not working

published

For a while it was a good kettle but after a few months the decorative LEDs no longer worked so I was unsure that the kettle was working, the little filter at the pour point fell out and finally the lid broke off, definitely will never buy another one very fragile; I live alone and very careful with my stuff, expected to get a longer use from a simple kettle.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Great kettle at a great price

published

I purchased this kettle for my work place 6 months ago and it has never faulted, perfect in every way. I went back to purchase one for myself 6 months later only be told that it had been replaced with a really heavy glass kettle. Why do they do that when the formula was already perfect?

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Very Satisfied Customer .. Hence This Review

published

I have been astounded by the superior efficiency of this purchased Homemaker Kettle which was recommended to me and I was hesitant to initially purchase on account of the unbelievable small price of this item. I have nothing but praise to review this product and it has been an absolute bonus as with the blue led lights I can visually see before I hear the kettle turning of when it has boiled. It is constantly used daily and has never once mal performed, contrary to the more expensive kettles that I have bought beforehand. My only concern is that when I went back to the Store I originally purchased from to be able to repurchase another one, (K-mart), I was told that it was no longer available?

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

It's ok, lid fell off though

published

The springs and hinges fell off of the lid :( otherwise was a great kettle but i dont think I will buy one again to have the same problem. the spout is also a bit of a bad design as its really wide and water spills out a bit when trying to pour

Date PurchasedAug 2016

2015 kettle great 2016 kettle hideous

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Terrible chemical taste.

published

This kettle needs to be seriously reviewed by Kmart. The chemical taste it produces is awful and leaves my tongue and lips feeling dry and chalky. Have boiled water in it a few times a day for the past two weeks without any improvement in the chemical taste it leaves in the water. Will be returning it to Kmart ASAP.

Krisyd

KrisydSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Overall Good

published

The kettle is much less noisier than many of it's peers. The main problem I noticed with it's spout design. The filter sometimes come out but can be re-fitted easily. After long use, it develops stain at the base.I have never experience any strange smell. Considering the price, it is still a good bargain.

Amelia j

Amelia jBallarat

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Less noisy than the Russel Hobbs Whisper

published

We bought this kettle because my partner had to turn the TV volume up and yell over our old Russel Hobbs Whisper kettle. This kettle is less noisy, and it looks good. The pouring leave a little to be desired, I spill water everywhere when filling up baby bottles due to the poor spout design. The spout area looks flimsy in general. At the start it did have a plasticy taste, this went away after a few days. It is reasonable value for money and will do the job until we have excess income to buy another higher end model.


Tastes awful - second one of these we've bought

published

We had the last one for a year and our coffee started tasting chemically so I threw it out and went and bought the same one again from Kmart as I love the design. Still so bad and smells so chemically - it's dreadful!!! Looks great but no good if you can't drink the boiled water.


Won't turn on ??

published

Hi ppl I just brought this kettle,took it home,filled it up,plugged it In,turned it on at the wall,pressed the lever under the handle to turn it on and ............. Nothing?????
Has this happened to any on else?
Does anyone know how to fix this?
Please help!!!
I am very disappointed at the moment but if anyone can help me out on this issue I would be very grateful.


Rohan01

Rohan01MELBOURNE

  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

I love this kettle

published

Dangerous

published

The second time we boiled it, the glass cracked, boiling water went everywhere and also leaked into the base of the kettle. Very fortunate to not have been burned, cut or electrocuted!! I do not recommend this product and I believe it should be taken off the shelves to prevent someone from being seriously hurt.


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Pedro

Pedroasked

We have bought a Home & Co brand kettle, LD-K1022B, ten days ago from K-Mart Ballina on (December 15th 2018). It looks nice and works perfectly BUT an ugly rust coloured ring has appeared already in the bottom of the kettle, about 15 mm wide around most of the circumference. Has anyone else experienced this disappointing occurrence ? Any comments would be appreciated.

1 answer
Emmie
Emmie

I havent really noticed rust on the bottom of the kettle . I loved the look of it and all , its just a shame the lid kept braking . So I ended up getting a completely different kettle ( after having two of the LD-K 1022 B brand )


Audra D

Audra Dasked

Where can I get a replacement filter? Any help appreciated. Thanks, AJ

No answers

son

sonasked

where in Adelaide can I buy homemaker electric kettle model LD - 19889A?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kmart representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Kettles
Capacity1.7L
Price (RRP)$39

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.