??!
1 photo
Homestar Finance

Homestar Finance

4.3 from 446 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

38 reviews
5
(31)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Sain

SainNew South Wales

excellent service and excellent rates

published

I had a great experience refinancing my home loan with Homestar from start to finish, I was grateful that this could be completed all online without the need to present to a bank. I was impressed with the service that John had provided me throughout the process, he was very supportive and responsive to all my queries. Homestar offered an amazing lowest rate without the ongoing fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Simon

SimonLaunceston, TAS

Attention to detail

published

I found Homestar personal , responsive and responded in timely manner to each and every query I had . Great rate and minimum fees . The options for types of loans are simple, easy to follow and transparent with fees .

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
2 comments
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

RKP

RKPSydney, NSW

Perfect service received from John and Homestar team

published

Perfect service received from John, he is patient, clear and knowledgeable, brilliant service and a pleasure to deal with. I wish you every success in the future, your an asset to the company.

Great service. No unexpected costs, costs clearly documented and due diligence in the application processing, The application process has been great, satisfied with the product and service. The team has done great work.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Home Loans

Find out how Homestar Finance compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett L.

Brett L.Sydney, NSW

Helpful and friendly

published

Ghada was amazing throughout the whole process and was supportive of my buying a first home. She made it simple and explained things that I didn't understand without making me feel like I didn't know what I was doing! I'll definitely go back again if I get the chance :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateAugust 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Simon Allen

Simon AllenSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Great interest rate

published

Richard got a great rate on my new home loan, good service too. Loan settled relatively quickly. This was my first home loan, so it was pretty stressful to go about, but it was made pretty simple, so that was really good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Very satisfied with customer service

published

Great customer service! Jenny has been very helpful and prompt with replying emails. We had a hiccup before settlement but Jenny spent a full day to sort it out. I would definitely recommend. Contract was very easy to understand and didn't have unexpected extra costs unlike another lender I had a contract with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateApril 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Ramsey

RamseyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great customer support and overall service

published

Through constant support and follow-up we was able to finalise settlement in a tight time-frame. This would not have been achieved if it wasn't for Patrick's constant follow-up and reliable support.

Homestar managed to finance my loan despite the tough unexpected times we are going through. The interest rate I received was the lowest I could find in the market.

I am very pleased with the overall service provided throughout the process

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateApril 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
dylanmichael

dylanmichaelCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

A fantastic experience! Special mention - Rick & Ash

published

As a first home buyer it was daunting choosing which lender to go with, I did a bit of research and came across Homestar. I quickly found out that they offer one of the most competitive interest rates on the market as well as passing on the RBA interest rate cuts in full! Special mention to Rick & Ash who guided me through the process and were extremely helpful! I would highly recommend and I will be telling friends and family about Homestar.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateApril 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
skbmtraveller

skbmtravellerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Overall happy with HomeStar so far. Would recommend to family

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
3 comments
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
skbmtraveller
skbmtraveller

How/Where do I send a private message?

Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Home Loans

Find out how Homestar Finance compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Absolutely disgraceful service, never again

published

Beware if you decide to use this outfit. Their systems are useless. There are so many third parties involved as part of their process and none of them could care less.

The one shining light was I was very lucky to have a gentleman (Jim Kiloh) as my mortgage specialist and he was instrumental in getting us to the point of finalising the mortgage. Very knowledgeable, great communicator and extremely affable. The issues are with the third party back office systems in use. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Jim in a heartbeat.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
David

DavidSydney, NSW

Best rates in the markets. Relatively straight forward and agile process

published

After shopping around for a while we found Homestar offered the best rate we could find at the time. All interaction was through email and phone, but Patrick, the home specialist looking after us, was on top of everything and assisted well with the process. We just had a relatively last minute issue with Lender Mortgage Insurance apparently added in the eleventh hour whne it shoulnt. It was not such and more a product of not totally clear wording, and eventually everything turned out as suggested, without LMI or any unexpected fees. If anything I would suggest getting the wording crystal clear, as in the absence of face to face contact total clarity is a must.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Berit

BeritGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very easy set up.

published

We had a very good experience applying for our homeloan. Justin was super helpful throughout the whole process and answered all our questions.We are very happy with the low rates.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Warren

WarrenSydney, NSW

Refinancing With Homestar Ticks All The Boxes!

published

Great product with really low interest rates.
Great service during the refinance process especially by Justin at Homestar.
Only downside was refinancing process took a little longer than previously experienced with other lenders in the past.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Great service especially during settlement period

published

Rick and Ash consistently answered all my first home owner questions throughout the whole application process. When it came to crunch time(settlement after the Christmas break) I had consistent support from the team regarding lodging all the correct documents and escalations with the legal team to get me into my apartment ASAP. Being a first home buyer I bombarded Ash with questions that were likely out of her scope but she answered everything I threw at her and provided advice as required. 5 STARS WELL DESERVED!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Qamar

Qamar

  • 2 reviews

Good low rate. Process could be faster

published

Very happy with the service provided by Ghada Colton. The process end of the day was quite straightforward. Whole process could be made faster. I am satisfied with the rate that we were offered.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance
Home Loans

Find out how Homestar Finance compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

easy to do

published

Simple process to change lenders to a better rate, very happy with the straight forward process. Helpful staff with quick response to questions. Would recommend to people chasing a better rate then current lender.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2019
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great rate, all the features you'd expect

published

From first contact, my Homestar home loan specialist was helpful and attentive. The application process was relatively simple (a PDF document I was able to complete electronically) with all the standard attachments (statements, payslips, etc). The approval process itself was a bit lengthy as it was a busy period. The loan documents are were all handled electronically through Homestar's solicitors e-sign portal.

After settlement, the Origin Mortgage Management Service team were very helpful in setting up my online banking profile, which itself has a simple and clean interface with all the basic functionality you'd expect (although no mobile app).

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tu Nguyen

Tu NguyenIllawarra, NSW

Fantastic and low rate

published

Richard has helped us to refinance our Home loan to Homestar Finance today. I am really happy and enjoy the whole stress-free process. Richard is very professional and answer us every inquires in timely manner. I really appreciate and look forward to enjoy the lowest interest.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Harrison Steele

Harrison SteeleWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Thank you for making it possible for me to own a home at 20 years old!

published

Thank you Ghada Colton for your quick responses to any enquiries and all of the assistance you have provided. My dream of home ownership at my age is now a reality. The products, your professionalism and patience was outstanding.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2019
Loan used forFirst Home
2 comments
Harrison Steele
Harrison Steele

As a Homestar customer, I can honestly say its true, the process was painless & simple.

Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hamish

HamishCentral West, NSW

The best. Very impressed with the service.

published

A massive thank you to Richard Schroeder and the team at Home Star. its been a breeze working through this process. your honesty and transparency are second to none and if any anyone is reading this review i highly highly recommend giving Home Star the opportunity to help you with your home loan. Not only do they have great rates, they also are very friendly and welcoming. With prompt reply's you will never be in the dark as to anything.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2019
Loan used forFirst Home
1 comment
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2
See all Homestar Finance reviews

Questions & Answers

PNB

PNBasked

How do I private msg you on product review to obtain my $30 voucher.

Thanks

1 answer
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Hi Pritesh,

To private message us, hover your mouse over our logo in our reply to you, click on it and you will have the option to send a message. This is a private message.

I hope this helps.

Kind regards,
Homestar Finance

rs

rsasked

Hi Homestar,

I would like to know if you give owner occupied home loan for IT Contractors working on ABN from more than 2 years and previously worked in Permanent PAYG role for several years. With 20% home deposit.

Regards

2 answers
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Hi rs,

Could you please private message us with your full name and contact mobile number? To private message, hover your mouse over our logo (in our response to you) and you will have to option to message. This is a private message.

Once we have your details, we'll be able to give you a call, and discuss further with you.

Kind regards,
Homestar Finance

rs
rs

Sent you private message

Niroj K.

Niroj K.asked

Current cash back offer upto 1500 dollar? What is the minimum cash back offer guaranteed out of 1500 dollar and how will we get this amount in our account? Is that after settlement of loan or before? Thanks

1 answer
Homestar Finance
Homestar F.Homestar Finance

Hi Niroj K.,

I hope the below answers all your questions:

Eligibility Criteria for Cash Back
• Owner Occupied Only
• Principal and interest repayments only
• Minimum loan size $250,000
• Maximum Loan Size $850,000
• Maximum LVR 80%
• Refinance only
• New Customers only (excludes borrowers refinancing from Origin Mortgage Management Services)

0-70% LVR = $1,500 Cashback
70% to 80% LVR = $1,000 Cashback

Construction loans excluded or loans introduced to Homestar by a third party. Cashback offer is only available for new refinance applications received between 01.08.20020 to 30.9.2020. Offer available on Star Essentials and Star Classic products for refinance, principal and interest loans. Only 1 cashback per borrowers initial borrowing with Homestar will be paid regardless of the number of loans involved. This offer excludes customers already within the Origin Mortgage Managers Network. The cashback will be available as redraw 60 days after settlement. Discharge penalties will apply if you discharge the loan within 12 months of settlement.

Kind regards,
Homestar Finance

Get an answer from our members and Homestar Finance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.