1 photo
Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

3.9 from 40 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Honda Power Equipment? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Safety
    4.7 (3)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Country boy
Country boyLitchfield, NT
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Had three of these now

published

I remember the model with the bag and small chute that was prone to blocking stayed on very well, unfortunately the plastic polymer falls off or at least spits clippings in warm weather or midday sun due to it being black and expanding/bending when hot. I like the mowers but there's always been a problem with Honda catchers which lets them down. Would be pretty well perfect if they could sort this issue

Purchased in June 2020 for $850.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Sandy Sweeper
Sandy Sweeper
  • 6 reviews

Great job

published

Good cuts dry or wet, high or low. Catcher is just big enough, however solid. Starts most times first go, but don't leave it idle to long as it heats up rapidly. Always clean under deck as blades will stay sharper for longer. Copes with lawn and shabby rentals grass. 6/10.

Purchased in February 2018 at Best Buy mowers for $850.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Sandy Sweeper
Sandy Sweeper

I also only buy Honda and Stihl.

John
JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Good, reliable unit

published

Had mower now for 9 months, block of land is half an acre, easy pull start and cuts grass easily even when wet. Dont catch grass in catcher, use it on its mulch setting.

Purchased in July 2018 at Melbourne mower centre for $700.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ashley Shaw
Ashley ShawBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great mower

published

Very happy wih the mowers cutting results. Very easy to maneuver and with great ease. Very easy to operate and to maintain is very quick and easy. I am very pleased with my purchase and i would definitely recommend this mower to friends , family andall fellow work colleagues .

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bob Sanzaro
Bob Sanzaro
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ever reliable Honda

published

The first Honda mower I purchased gave up after 23 years of mowing an acre of lawn. Pretty good effort so I purchased another and it has not missed a beat since I purchased it about 2 years ago. I expect this to last longer as it is visibly a stronger mower and using it as a mulcher mower gives me a clean cut surface even on tough Kikuyu lawn. Starts first time every time and is used weekly.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Adam B
Adam BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, but not great

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Chiara and Robert
Chiara and RobertMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to operate

published

We could not be happier with this mower. It's easy to maneuver, easy to operate and maintain, and it cuts better than any other mower we've owned. It starts easily as well. It's quite solid so it's a bit heavier than we expected it to be but that's not entirely a bad thing.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Related Articles

Previous
Is artificial grass the right choice for my lawn?

With spring in full swing and yard owners tending to their greenery more, some are looking to ditch the lawn mowing altogether in favour of artificial grass. We go through the pros and cons of installing a synthetic lawn so that you can decide what’s right for your turf.

Clara V.
Clara V.21 Sept 2021
is-artificial-grass-the-right-choice-for-my-lawn
Should I get a petrol or battery lawn mower?

Battery lawn mowers are advertised as having the power to rival that of their petrol counterparts - without the noise, hassle, and fumes. We compare the two to help you decide which type of push mower is right for your yard.

Clara V.
Clara V.13 Oct 2021
should-i-get-a-petrol-or-battery-lawn-mower
Next
Carvaan
CarvaanPerth WA
  • 31 reviews
  • 22 likes

I am a big fan of Honda

published

Every time I am in the market I prefer to buy Honda without a doubt but this time a made a mistake as this model has very good specs, very powerful but the chute was small and can't handle wet grass.
I mean technically who mows in wet grass but in winter months it happens and trust me u don't want to keep cleaning the chute after every 5 minutes specially when u spend $1100.
NO NO

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Alan Dunn
Alan DunnMAITLAND
  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

Good reliable mower with excellent mulching capability.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nahaz
NahazMid North Coast, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Works Well But Has a Few Issues

published
Honda
James H.Honda
Doug B
Doug B
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Honda - so disappointing!

published
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Doug B, Thanks for taking the time to review the Honda HRU19M1. We are glad to see that you have many reasons to love your Honda. Please feel free to contact customer.relations@honda.com.au to discuss your suggestions further.
Many thanks,
Sarah

mowerman
mowermanWestern District, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

A mower made by someone who has never mowed

published
Honda
James H.Honda
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Get the commercial engine version with the snorkel kit

published

I use the HRU19M on acres. After 12 months the chassis is damaged and its using oil. This is the second Honda I have had and it is not as good as my original 19 inch which I had for 15years. Getting the snorkel as I think the new filter system is the problem.
Easy to start and cuts well
not durable and sucks oil

Honda
James H.Honda
See all Honda HRU19 reviews

Questions & Answers

Stephen B.
Stephen B.asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

is tis a self propelled mower

1 answer
rassaf
rassaf

No, it's not self propelled.

Stephen B.
Stephen B.asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

is it self propelled

No answers
chindonly
chindonlyasked
Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

What should you do if the two blades come loose and start tilting at an angle? The bolts don't seem to be engineered to stop this tilting.

3 answers
Bassy
Bassy

Hi Chindoly - I checked my lawn mower over the weekend and mine doesn't seem to be having this issue. I bought my Honda at an authorised Honda retailer and had my extra 2 blades installed by them at the time of purchase, so if I was experiencing this problem I would go back to them to rectify. I hope this helps.

jeremy.ieraci
jeremy.ieraci

The blades are purposely designed to swing back when they strike a hard object. They do this to save your blades and crankshaft. The blade swings straight when engine is engaged due to constant gravity

Greg W
Greg W

Jeremy.jeraki , don't you mean "centrifugal force" causes the blades to straighten when the engine is running?

See all Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1

Details

Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $939.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start Motor
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm
Number of Blades1
Weight34 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 4-Stroke
Engine Type4-Stroke
BrandHonda
Release dateSept 2010
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.