5 photos
Honda HRU19

Honda HRU19 (page 3 of 10)

HRU19K1, HRU19M1, HRU19D, etc...
3.9 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Starts reliably

  • Easy to manoeuvre

  • Durable build quality

Cons

  • Prone to clogging

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (25)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (25)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (25)
  • Safety
    4.5 (24)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.5 (23)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Troy
TroyAdelaide
  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great enrty level mower

published

My second Honda mower after buying cheaper brand models over the years. Definitely worth the extra money. Never fails to perform on a small/medium lawn at holiday home. Is a little light weight for anything heavy duty but easy to maneuver compared to my other Honda self propelled heavy duty mower at home. Don't waste your money/time on cheaper options..definitely worth the extra

Date PurchasedSept 2018

Grass catcher

published

We have had two Honda mowers. The first for 21 years. New one is great and starts every time. The only frustration is the grass catcher, as grass gets caught between the steel rod and the soft catcher. It gets emptied many times during each mowing session. Is there a hard plastic catcher available for this model.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Ian
IanMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Build Quality & Faultless Operation.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stoney
StoneyRockhampton

6 months under water and still goes

published

I service and repair garden equipment as a bit of a hoppy. Not a fan of the new long range buffalo. The only mower I have ever paid money for $1100 only to sell it 12 months later at a big loss. Far to heavy and the reduced discharge Shute it clogged and bogged very easy. They don’t build em like the used to. I’m currently working on the older ohc 19D 6 months under water and then a few years sitting in a paddock. I have had to replace is the governor springs and throttle cable for obvious reasons. I gave it a major clean up and I was amazed when second pull she fired up. It ran a little rough but with a tune and some further running it runs like a charm. I’m gonna keep this old girl as an experiment and see how long she will run for

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Lizzy
LizzySpringwood
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great mower.

published

I love this mower! It's easy to start, easy to use, offers precision cutting, and as long as it is maintained with regular services it never has an issue. Look after the mower & it looks after you. There is not a day I regret buying a Honda mower and will never buy anything but again. Thank you Honda!

Date PurchasedJan 2008
Matt D
Matt Dearlwood
  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent Mower. Honda 1st in the Market.

published

Mower cuts great. Starts easy. Well built. Never had any problems for three years now. forget over brands spend a bit more to get an excellent mower. Very easy to manoeuvre and with great ease. straight edged cutting area.easy. I am very pleased with my purchase and i would definitely recommend this mower.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Johnno
JohnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Fairly decent mower

published

This mower cuts well when the grass is dry and not too thick. The less than perfect design flaw of having only a half a chute means it struggles with thick and/or wet grass and constantly clogs up, requiring the user to stop and unclog it. I also find the engine brake a pain, as every time you take hand of the holder, the mower stops. However, the mower like most Hondas, is a reliable starter, starting first pull every time. It does actually cut the grass really well when my lawn is not thick or wet.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Ashley Shaw
Ashley ShawBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great mower

published

Very happy wih the mowers cutting results. Very easy to maneuver and with great ease. Very easy to operate and to maintain is very quick and easy. I am very pleased with my purchase and i would definitely recommend this mower to friends , family andall fellow work colleagues .

Date PurchasedJan 2016

piece of crap

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mate22
Mate22Melbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Honda Reliability

published

It is a pleasure to use and always starts first pop. It has a precision feel to cutting which the cheaper mowers don't come close to. The catcher design works well even with overgrown or damp grass and seems to compress the catch. I am about to go and do the lawns this morning and I will be using the Honda and actually look forward to it whereas with my old Rover it was a chore. A good solid quality machine.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Phil N
Phil NMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Can never start it!

published

This is supposed to be an "easy start" which is why I purchased it but I can just never ever start it. I use fresh petrol, etc. Been like this since day 1. Obviously took it back, but somehow they could start it in front of me, but I never could.

Date PurchasedJan 2014
peter62171
peter62171MELBOURNE
  • 5 reviews

They Are The Best Mower About But The Grass Chute Is Not Big Enough To Get All The Grass Out Can Blo

published

Mower cuts very even & is very easy to move around, and is one of the best to do your own services eg change air filters & blades and is so easy to start one pull and away it goes we bought one to try out on our mowing round and we bought another one to make it easy.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
MaddyScott
MaddyScottMelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

I love this machine

published

I've purchased one of these myself and absolutely love it. Easy to Control, great revs and they also catch well in the wet. Only negative comment I can make about it is the grass exit chute clogs fairly easily when the catcher is attached. Damp grass is the chute's kryptonite.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

A LEMON

published

Bought mower based on Honda reputation for quality.

It has been a lemon since day 1!
I have used this mower for 5-6 hours and it has been back to the dealer 3 times for poor starting No starting.
Parts replaced come home and after 1 hour it will not restart. So back to dealer this week again!!!
SO out comes my Dad's old 35 year old Scott Bonner mower. This mower takes 2-3 pulls off she goes and mows.
Bottom line is. Easy Start as promoted by Honda is a joke!!!!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Bob Sanzaro
Bob Sanzaro
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ever reliable Honda

published

The first Honda mower I purchased gave up after 23 years of mowing an acre of lawn. Pretty good effort so I purchased another and it has not missed a beat since I purchased it about 2 years ago. I expect this to last longer as it is visibly a stronger mower and using it as a mulcher mower gives me a clean cut surface even on tough Kikuyu lawn. Starts first time every time and is used weekly.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 3 of 10

Questions & Answers

Geoffrey B.
Geoffrey B.asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19R1

Am using this mower for the first time What do I need to do to start the motor?

2 answers
jbambury
jbambury

Turn the fuel flow on, if it isn't already on, push the throttle all the way forward as far as you can (this activates the choke) then pull the cord. Once the engine fires pull the throttle back midway and let it idle and warm up. I never turn my fuel off and the mower starts 1st pull 98% of the time and always on the 2nd pull if it didn't start 1st pull.

Alan
Alan

On my mower, turn fuel on (I also always leave mine on), hold the engine brake lever on the handle in, and pull the starter.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

Where do the throttle cables connect on carby

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

From your many posts I believe you should take it to a proper service agent.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

What type of spark plug & gap size

No answers
See all Honda HRU19 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU19

Details

Features:

  • The Honda HRU19 is a petrol push mower that’s ideal for medium sized lawns.
  • It has a GCV170 4-stroke engine, which is lightweight and easy to start.
  • The mower has a tough alloy deck, making it durable and able to withstand harsh conditions.
  • An auto choke system automatically sets the choke to provide the optimal start in all types of cutting conditions.
  • A lever to adjust the height of all 4 wheels lets you cut in a way that’s comfortable for you.
  • Debris is easily caught with the mower’s full open discharge shoot.
  • This product has a 4-year domestic warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the lawn mower was simple to start and started reliably - many reviewers also said that it started on the first pull every time they used it.
  • Reviewers also found that the mower was easy to manoeuvre around their lawns.
  • According to reviewers, the build quality of this mower is exceptional; many found that they had very few issues with the mower and rarely needed to service it, even after many years of use.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers found that the chute of the mower clogged up too frequently. While some found that this only happened with damp or wet grass, there were also reviewers who noted that the mower also clogged up when they cut dry grass.
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $939.00$899.00$889.00$899.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity60 L60 L54 L54 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyPlastic
Cutting Width470 mm482 mm470 mm470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1111
Weight34 kg34 kg31 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 4-StrokeHonda GCV160 4 StrokeHonda 170cc OHV/OHC 4-stroke EngineHonda GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke, OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke
BrandHondaHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement170 cc
Release dateSept 2010Sept 2010Sept 2010
Replaced byHonda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.