5 photos
Honda HRU19

Honda HRU19

HRU19K1, HRU19M1, HRU19D, etc...
3.9 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Starts reliably

  • Easy to manoeuvre

  • Durable build quality

Cons

  • Prone to clogging

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Country boy
Country boyLitchfield, NT
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Had three of these now

published

I remember the model with the bag and small chute that was prone to blocking stayed on very well, unfortunately the plastic polymer falls off or at least spits clippings in warm weather or midday sun due to it being black and expanding/bending when hot. I like the mowers but there's always been a problem with Honda catchers which lets them down. Would be pretty well perfect if they could sort this issue

Purchased in June 2020 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stoney
StoneyRockhampton

6 months under water and still goes

published

I service and repair garden equipment as a bit of a hoppy. Not a fan of the new long range buffalo. The only mower I have ever paid money for $1100 only to sell it 12 months later at a big loss. Far to heavy and the reduced discharge Shute it clogged and bogged very easy. They don’t build em like the used to. I’m currently working on the older ohc 19D 6 months under water and then a few years sitting in a paddock. I have had to replace is the governor springs and throttle cable for obvious reasons. I gave it a major clean up and I was amazed when second pull she fired up. It ran a little rough but with a tune and some further running it runs like a charm. I’m gonna keep this old girl as an experiment and see how long she will run for

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Johnno
JohnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Fairly decent mower

published

This mower cuts well when the grass is dry and not too thick. The less than perfect design flaw of having only a half a chute means it struggles with thick and/or wet grass and constantly clogs up, requiring the user to stop and unclog it. I also find the engine brake a pain, as every time you take hand of the holder, the mower stops. However, the mower like most Hondas, is a reliable starter, starting first pull every time. It does actually cut the grass really well when my lawn is not thick or wet.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good, but not great

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Carvaan
CarvaanPerth WA
  • 31 reviews
  • 21 likes

I am a big fan of Honda

published

Every time I am in the market I prefer to buy Honda without a doubt but this time a made a mistake as this model has very good specs, very powerful but the chute was small and can't handle wet grass.
I mean technically who mows in wet grass but in winter months it happens and trust me u don't want to keep cleaning the chute after every 5 minutes specially when u spend $1100.
NO NO

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Doug B
Doug B
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Honda - so disappointing!

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Doug B, Thanks for taking the time to review the Honda HRU19M1. We are glad to see that you have many reasons to love your Honda. Please feel free to contact customer.relations@honda.com.au to discuss your suggestions further.
Many thanks,
Sarah

Paint

published

I find with Most Honda products that paint is only on surfaces that you can see.
If you can not see it then its a very thin layer of paint that i have found ends up rusting.
I have the HRU196K1 that is 8 months old.
The handle is rusting under the paint plus paint is falling off the base.
Working with powder coating i would say very little prep is done before painting
A whip blast would help the paint problem on the base and a good
pre-treatment on the paint line.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Get the commercial engine version with the snorkel kit

published

I use the HRU19M on acres. After 12 months the chassis is damaged and its using oil. This is the second Honda I have had and it is not as good as my original 19 inch which I had for 15years. Getting the snorkel as I think the new filter system is the problem.
Easy to start and cuts well
not durable and sucks oil

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

mows well easy easy start

published

Dissapointed the cable was easily broken needs to be more solid and thicker . this is a problem as read from other reviews
energy efficient
thin cable easily broken not under warranty

3 comments
Jody Waho
Jody Waho

is that the Pull/start cable?

Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Mower, Sorry to hear that you had this issue! Please know that we have taken your feedback on board.
If you would like to discuss this further or have any questions or queries please contact customer.relations@honda.com.au. Many thanks, Sarah

mower
mower

I had to pay for repair @@@ and more recent handle for starter broke @@@

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Honda HRU19 reviews

Questions & Answers

Geoffrey B.
Geoffrey B.asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19R1

Am using this mower for the first time What do I need to do to start the motor?

2 answers
jbambury
jbambury

Turn the fuel flow on, if it isn't already on, push the throttle all the way forward as far as you can (this activates the choke) then pull the cord. Once the engine fires pull the throttle back midway and let it idle and warm up. I never turn my fuel off and the mower starts 1st pull 98% of the time and always on the 2nd pull if it didn't start 1st pull.

Alan
Alan

On my mower, turn fuel on (I also always leave mine on), hold the engine brake lever on the handle in, and pull the starter.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

Where do the throttle cables connect on carby

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

From your many posts I believe you should take it to a proper service agent.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

What type of spark plug & gap size

No answers
See all Honda HRU19 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU19

Details

Features:

  • The Honda HRU19 is a petrol push mower that’s ideal for medium sized lawns.
  • It has a GCV170 4-stroke engine, which is lightweight and easy to start.
  • The mower has a tough alloy deck, making it durable and able to withstand harsh conditions.
  • An auto choke system automatically sets the choke to provide the optimal start in all types of cutting conditions.
  • A lever to adjust the height of all 4 wheels lets you cut in a way that’s comfortable for you.
  • Debris is easily caught with the mower’s full open discharge shoot.
  • This product has a 4-year domestic warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the lawn mower was simple to start and started reliably - many reviewers also said that it started on the first pull every time they used it.
  • Reviewers also found that the mower was easy to manoeuvre around their lawns.
  • According to reviewers, the build quality of this mower is exceptional; many found that they had very few issues with the mower and rarely needed to service it, even after many years of use.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers found that the chute of the mower clogged up too frequently. While some found that this only happened with damp or wet grass, there were also reviewers who noted that the mower also clogged up when they cut dry grass.
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $939.00$899.00$889.00$899.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity60 L60 L54 L54 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyPlastic
Cutting Width470 mm482 mm470 mm470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1111
Weight34 kg34 kg31 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 4-StrokeHonda GCV160 4 StrokeHonda 170cc OHV/OHC 4-stroke EngineHonda GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke, OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke
BrandHondaHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement170 cc
Release dateSept 2010Sept 2010Sept 2010
Replaced byHonda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.