5 photos
Honda HRU19

Honda HRU19

HRU19K1, HRU19M1, HRU19D, etc...
3.9 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Starts reliably

  • Easy to manoeuvre

  • Durable build quality

Cons

  • Prone to clogging

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (9)
  • Safety
    4.3 (9)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next
jbambury
jbambury
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great mower and very reliable

published

Purchased in May 2004 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Vaz
VazSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very well designed mower

published

Bought a Honda HRU19 a few months back. Wasn't sure about the absence of a throttle but seems to run at around 75% power which is enough for most lawns. It has the GCV170 engine and stops very quickly when you release the safety lever. This helps with not getting a face full of grass when emptying the catcher. Great, quality mower.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
turbotrana
turbotranaPerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Carburetor cleaning is tricky

published

Purchased in December 2010 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CamPoole
CamPooleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Honda finally did something right.

published

Purchased in June 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Robbo3057
Robbo3057New South Wales
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's a Nice Mower But ....

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Mower Specialist for $1,229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Layadi T.
Layadi T.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Good but a bit heavy for me

published

Bought second hand last year from gumtree. Was not planning to buy Honda because this one is heavy however have some mate doing the strata maintenance that gave me great review on them they say the engine keeps going after decades its still going only the body is damaged and need to be fixed/replaced but the engine it self working great. After hearing that I decide to get one second hand and it has been good so far.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sandy Sweeper
Sandy Sweeper
  • 6 reviews

Great job

published

Good cuts dry or wet, high or low. Catcher is just big enough, however solid. Starts most times first go, but don't leave it idle to long as it heats up rapidly. Always clean under deck as blades will stay sharper for longer. Copes with lawn and shabby rentals grass. 6/10.

Purchased in February 2018 at Best Buy mowers for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Sandy Sweeper
Sandy Sweeper

I also only buy Honda and Stihl.

John
JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Good, reliable unit

published

Had mower now for 9 months, block of land is half an acre, easy pull start and cuts grass easily even when wet. Dont catch grass in catcher, use it on its mulch setting.

Purchased in July 2018 at Melbourne mower centre for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Christian C
Christian CPort Macquarie
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Mower for Life

published
Date PurchasedApr 1998
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Grass catcher

published

We have had two Honda mowers. The first for 21 years. New one is great and starts every time. The only frustration is the grass catcher, as grass gets caught between the steel rod and the soft catcher. It gets emptied many times during each mowing session. Is there a hard plastic catcher available for this model.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Ashley Shaw
Ashley ShawBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great mower

published

Very happy wih the mowers cutting results. Very easy to maneuver and with great ease. Very easy to operate and to maintain is very quick and easy. I am very pleased with my purchase and i would definitely recommend this mower to friends , family andall fellow work colleagues .

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Bob Sanzaro
Bob Sanzaro
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ever reliable Honda

published

The first Honda mower I purchased gave up after 23 years of mowing an acre of lawn. Pretty good effort so I purchased another and it has not missed a beat since I purchased it about 2 years ago. I expect this to last longer as it is visibly a stronger mower and using it as a mulcher mower gives me a clean cut surface even on tough Kikuyu lawn. Starts first time every time and is used weekly.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Chiara and Robert
Chiara and RobertMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to operate

published

We could not be happier with this mower. It's easy to maneuver, easy to operate and maintain, and it cuts better than any other mower we've owned. It starts easily as well. It's quite solid so it's a bit heavier than we expected it to be but that's not entirely a bad thing.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Tony
TonyGippsland, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good mower, a bit heavy

published

The mower stars easily and cuts well. I haven't had any blocked chute issues mentioned in other reviews but I don't use the catcher. The mower is heavy but I like the solid build and alloy base and I expect the mower will last for 15 years or more, especially considering it does light duty at my place. My previous Massport only lasted 6 years before the base rusted out and it's briggs and statton motor was smoky.

EDIT: After owning the mower for several months I have had the chute block up in long or wet grass. It's not a big deal for me but would be very frustrating if this was my main mower.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
northman83
northman83Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 7 reviews

Good mower used commercially

published

I run a mowing business - it’s a tough little mower. 2 summer seasons of solid use (in rain and summer heat) and it just keeps going. I run through a set of mower blades every month to give you an idea of its durability. This is a domestic mower so I find this impressive. The only gripe I have is that the clippings chute is narrow - I believe to increase air velocity into the catcher, but it clogs easily if the grass you are cutting is wet or too long.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Honda HRU19 reviews

Questions & Answers

Geoffrey B.
Geoffrey B.asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19R1

Am using this mower for the first time What do I need to do to start the motor?

2 answers
jbambury
jbambury

Turn the fuel flow on, if it isn't already on, push the throttle all the way forward as far as you can (this activates the choke) then pull the cord. Once the engine fires pull the throttle back midway and let it idle and warm up. I never turn my fuel off and the mower starts 1st pull 98% of the time and always on the 2nd pull if it didn't start 1st pull.

Alan
Alan

On my mower, turn fuel on (I also always leave mine on), hold the engine brake lever on the handle in, and pull the starter.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

Where do the throttle cables connect on carby

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

From your many posts I believe you should take it to a proper service agent.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

What type of spark plug & gap size

No answers
See all Honda HRU19 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU19

Details

Features:

  • The Honda HRU19 is a petrol push mower that’s ideal for medium sized lawns.
  • It has a GCV170 4-stroke engine, which is lightweight and easy to start.
  • The mower has a tough alloy deck, making it durable and able to withstand harsh conditions.
  • An auto choke system automatically sets the choke to provide the optimal start in all types of cutting conditions.
  • A lever to adjust the height of all 4 wheels lets you cut in a way that’s comfortable for you.
  • Debris is easily caught with the mower’s full open discharge shoot.
  • This product has a 4-year domestic warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the lawn mower was simple to start and started reliably - many reviewers also said that it started on the first pull every time they used it.
  • Reviewers also found that the mower was easy to manoeuvre around their lawns.
  • According to reviewers, the build quality of this mower is exceptional; many found that they had very few issues with the mower and rarely needed to service it, even after many years of use.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers found that the chute of the mower clogged up too frequently. While some found that this only happened with damp or wet grass, there were also reviewers who noted that the mower also clogged up when they cut dry grass.
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $939.00$899.00$889.00$899.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity60 L60 L54 L54 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyPlastic
Cutting Width470 mm482 mm470 mm470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1111
Weight34 kg34 kg31 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 4-StrokeHonda GCV160 4 StrokeHonda 170cc OHV/OHC 4-stroke EngineHonda GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke, OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke
BrandHondaHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement170 cc
Release dateSept 2010Sept 2010Sept 2010
Replaced byHonda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.