5 photos
Honda HRU19

Honda HRU19

HRU19K1, HRU19M1, HRU19D, etc...
3.9 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Starts reliably

  • Easy to manoeuvre

  • Durable build quality

Cons

  • Prone to clogging

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (12)
  • Safety
    4.9 (11)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.4 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Alan
AlanFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Extremely happy with this mower

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Colmas
Colmas
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Lawn Mower

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
JOHN
JOHNmelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • 19 likes

Fantastic

published

Fantastic domestic mower, mulching plug works well. small rear opening can get blocked if grass is moist but still ok. clippings fertilize grass and grass appears greener after mulching. start first time everytime!!

Purchased in November 2010 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RedDog
RedDogLaunceston, TAS
  • 3 reviews

Honda Mowers are top value for money. My HRU19 runs perfectly. So dies my 1985 HRU214.

published

Purchased in June 2010 at TAS CHAINSAWS AND MOWERS, Launceston for $925.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
les
lesSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

My Father Was Right Dont Buy Cheap Rubbish!! This Is The Best Mower!

published

This lawnmower never gives up! Never stops running and its build quality is obviously the best why?? Because it just works every time..

I have buffalo and 5 acres ( this is used close to my house)

Ask yourself how often do you want to replace a mower??

Purchased in June 2019 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Darryl
DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

Have used Honda equipment for a couple of decades now. I do like the older model mower for use and this model I can not fault. Cuts great, nice balanced machine when the catcher is full and starts first time every time.

Purchased in March 2000 at Honda Dealers for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Bundaberg Qld 2020

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $880.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jeff A
Jeff AHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect for 27 years

published

Purchase 27 years ago finally wore out. It mowed large blocks of grass, with lots rocks. A great mower to have and I am about to purchase another one. I will not have to buy another after this.

Purchased in May 1992.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David R.
David R.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Can't love with out

published

it always starts first time. I have had my mower for the past 2 years and will always buy a Honda. I sent a few improvements to be done and it has so thank you Honda power team

Purchased in December 2017 for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony Popa
Tony Popa
  • 2 reviews

Best Mower Ever

published

Purchased my Honda mower back in 2016 and what can i say, faultless. Always starts on the first pull of the cord, with the sharpest cutting of any mower that i have previously used.
I would recommend this mower to anyone out there.

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ROLLA
ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

Easy to use, easily the best mower I have ever used. Top quality, easy to refill. Only downside is the catcher fills up only half way when the grass is too thick. But still a great mower. I use the mulching attachment alot and works great.

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mark
MarkVictoria
  • 5 reviews

Great

published

I have used honda mowers professionally for years and have never had a problem with one . They do great job on all types of lawn and are easy to use .

Purchased in January 2016 for $920.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
rassaf
rassaf
  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

One of the best buys you can make.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2005
My Names Earl
My Names EarlCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

New HRU19M2 Buffalo Premium (November 2018)

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Yogi
YogiNorth Queensland, QLD

Excellant

published

Best Mower I ever had with good catcher and easy to start great motor & easy to keep clean. Great height adjust too. In other words a great mower overall. Just goes & goes. Recommend this mower to anybody who is thinking of buying a mower. Starts first go every time

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 6
See all Honda HRU19 reviews

Questions & Answers

Geoffrey B.
Geoffrey B.asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19R1

Am using this mower for the first time What do I need to do to start the motor?

2 answers
jbambury
jbambury

Turn the fuel flow on, if it isn't already on, push the throttle all the way forward as far as you can (this activates the choke) then pull the cord. Once the engine fires pull the throttle back midway and let it idle and warm up. I never turn my fuel off and the mower starts 1st pull 98% of the time and always on the 2nd pull if it didn't start 1st pull.

Alan
Alan

On my mower, turn fuel on (I also always leave mine on), hold the engine brake lever on the handle in, and pull the starter.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

Where do the throttle cables connect on carby

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

From your many posts I believe you should take it to a proper service agent.

John Charlie A.
John Charlie A.asked
HRU19

What type of spark plug & gap size

No answers
See all Honda HRU19 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU19

Details

Features:

  • The Honda HRU19 is a petrol push mower that’s ideal for medium sized lawns.
  • It has a GCV170 4-stroke engine, which is lightweight and easy to start.
  • The mower has a tough alloy deck, making it durable and able to withstand harsh conditions.
  • An auto choke system automatically sets the choke to provide the optimal start in all types of cutting conditions.
  • A lever to adjust the height of all 4 wheels lets you cut in a way that’s comfortable for you.
  • Debris is easily caught with the mower’s full open discharge shoot.
  • This product has a 4-year domestic warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the lawn mower was simple to start and started reliably - many reviewers also said that it started on the first pull every time they used it.
  • Reviewers also found that the mower was easy to manoeuvre around their lawns.
  • According to reviewers, the build quality of this mower is exceptional; many found that they had very few issues with the mower and rarely needed to service it, even after many years of use.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers found that the chute of the mower clogged up too frequently. While some found that this only happened with damp or wet grass, there were also reviewers who noted that the mower also clogged up when they cut dry grass.
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $939.00$899.00$889.00$899.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity60 L60 L54 L54 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyPlastic
Cutting Width470 mm482 mm470 mm470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1111
Weight34 kg34 kg31 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 4-StrokeHonda GCV160 4 StrokeHonda 170cc OHV/OHC 4-stroke EngineHonda GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke, OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke
BrandHondaHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement170 cc
Release dateSept 2010Sept 2010Sept 2010
Replaced byHonda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.