??!
6 photos
Honda HRU196
3.5 from 103 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    1.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (2)
  • Safety
    2.0 (2)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    1.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Steph C

Steph CAU

  • 2 reviews

Worst mower

published

Absolute rubbish. Bought this one online and had it delivered. Too heavy!
Automatic choke sticks and it won’t start after using for a while. Have to remove the filter and use a screwdriver to poke in it to open it and get it going again.
Can’t adjust the throttle.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
John Geo

John GeoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of overweight Junk

published

Purchased in January 2020 for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Paul D

Paul DBrisbane

Bad mower. Doesn't cut. Doesn't catch.

published

Worst decision in a long time. Thought I'd buy a premium mower at more than $1100. Only thing good is that it starts easy. I upgraded to 4 blades from 2 and still does not pick up the grass, just blocks the tiny shut for anything more than the smallest cut..... even in the dry! Very heavy for a push mower. I am so frustrated with the mower that I now mow/mulch and then hand rake up the grass!!!! I was told the motor is commercial grade, maybe it will last, however, it is not powerful and when the grass is thick the safety blade brake starts to slip!!! Once it has started to slip it generates heat from the friction and slips even more!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I regret my purchase decision

published

This is my third Honda lawnmower.
Every mower has got progressively worse.
Current one won't start and has always been difficult to start. If you are lucky, you may be able to find a Honda HRU150 in good condition. This is the one that Honda established its reputation on and has not been able to produce one as user friendly or reliable since.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

First time I have purchased a Honda Lawn mower and I am very disappointed.

published

Same as other reviews, the shoot continually blocks and doesn't pick up the grass clippings. I mow my lawn every 2 weeks when its is dry, and it is still a burden. It also seems to be under powered and I have returned mower to dealer in Bunbury W.A. regularly complaining of low throttle speed, as I thought that this was the reason for grass blockage, nothing has improved. Also my clothes continually get caught on the protruding throttle cable guide. Very disappointed. It is no longer a pleasure to mow my lawn.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Juzz

JuzzAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible product - with narrow Shute !

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid Honda Mowers At All Costs

published
Date PurchasedAug 2013

narrow shute

published

I hate the narrow chute and bag catcher...cloggs up all the time and PVC catcher is mutch better...the older buffalo 196 were a magnificent machine with the wide chute and PVC catcher..never buying a narrow chute mower again ever...go back to the old style mower...a lot of mowing contractors agree with me..

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Mr T

Mr TBrisbane

Mrt

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Spog64

Spog64Adelaide

Still crap!

published

Had another fun day with this $1000 piece of crap yesterday.......and yes Honda lady the grass was dry........not short though (the reason I was cutting it) but still had to manually clear the pissant little chute by hand no less than 4 times. Not bad for 160 sqm of lawn.

6 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Spog64
Spog64
Spog64
Spog64
Enzo44

Enzo44Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Can't stand using my lawn mower

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
ManandhisMachine

ManandhisMachineSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 24 likes

Reliable engine, Solid body -chute gets blocked sometimes

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
ManandhisMachine
ManandhisMachine

Commercial mower, but doesn't do the job

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Missing The Point

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Oldmate

Oldmate

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just Dont

published

Catcher bag completely useless dust everwhere have too stop mowing wash out my eyes and mouth, my lawn is green but in dry conditions what a joke how to trash a great brand week 3 back at dealer for oil leak dealer advised many customers are unhappy with catcher dust issues no had plastic cat her available
Honda has gone to the dogs just buy a cheap bunnings mower
Do not waste your mony on this..

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Oldmate, sorry to hear that you had this issue!
If you would like to discuss this further or have any questions or queries please contact customer.relations@honda.com.au. Many thanks, Sarah

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Great Frustration

Great FrustrationCaboolture

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Honda Shoots

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Matthew

MatthewPort Macquarie

Today I stopped buying and recommending honda push mowers

published

Honda Power Equipment you have lost the plot with your mowers.Useless clutch adds 10kg & complexity.The half blocked shute design is stupid.Look like they have been designed by a Uni student who lives on campus and has never mowed a lawn.Why take a great product and turn it into a useless crapbox.Went into Dealer to buy two HRU196D mowers today.Looked at them and thought it was a joke.
The new design handle mounting bracket.
Uneeded heavy clutch.A shute that I couldnt pass wind out of.

Worst Mower Ever

published
2 comments
jack
jack
Anthony
Anthony

Yeah right Jack. Nice to hear from honda at last.

thorough lawncare

thorough lawncareqld, 4700

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Waste of money

published
3 comments
Honda
James H.Honda

this sounds great, rrp is just $80, does this open the entire back up like the old models before mulching?. or does it still have a chute but larger

Honda
James H.Honda

Terrible

published

DO NOT BUY A HONDA if you have a decent patch of lawn that needs to be regualy moved, buy the 7hp Rover instead.
It is a very well built machine and the starter and motor have not missed a beat in the 2 1/2 years since purcahced, but over all I do not like this mower.
I have a very robust large buffalo grass yard and it is simply not up to the job. It has given me nothing but headaches, for the price it simply should be better. It stalls on the thicker patches of lawn and the catcher clogs up at the entrance before it is full. I have taken it back to have it serviced but it just doesn't have the power for any decent patch of grass.

See all Honda HRU196 reviews

Questions & Answers

Michael-Regina S.

Michael-Regina S.asked

Buffalo Classic HRU196D

What year was this mower sold? I think it was around 2005.

No answers
David B.

David B.asked

HRU196

Hi,
I'm about to remove the disc cutter with an impact driver.
Does anyone know which direction to undo the nut, Counter clockwise or clockwise?
My manual says the PTO shaft direction is counter clockwise, thanks.

No answers
Crazyjohn

Crazyjohnasked

Buffalo Classic HRU196D

I have a problem with the handle at the back on the right hand side of the mower.The handle is badly corroded and interfere with raising and lowering the mower height.Where can I buy a replacement handle please? regards John.my email is crazyjohn42@icloud.com.Thanks again.

2 answers
Paul R.
Paul R.

I suggest you talk to your local friendly Honda dealer who may be able to source a new part for you or may have old mowers around that they can scavenge parts from to repair your mower saving you more money.They get plenty of very cheap trade in mowers ,many of which are handy for spare parts.Give them a call.

Crazyjohn
Crazyjohn

Thanks for your help Paul.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Honda HRU196
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$1,169.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm
Weight44 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 OHV Iron Bore
Engine TypeOHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHonda
Release dateSep 2010
Compare all 3 Honda HRU196

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.