??!
6 photos
Honda HRU196
3.5 from 103 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    1.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
  • Safety
    3.0 (3)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Steph C

Steph CAU

  • 2 reviews

Worst mower

published

Absolute rubbish. Bought this one online and had it delivered. Too heavy!
Automatic choke sticks and it won’t start after using for a while. Have to remove the filter and use a screwdriver to poke in it to open it and get it going again.
Can’t adjust the throttle.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
John Geo

John GeoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of overweight Junk

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
jeremy.ieraci

jeremy.ieraciDarwin, NT

  • 29 reviews
  • 28 likes

Tough

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2019 at All Mower Spares for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul D

Paul DBrisbane

Bad mower. Doesn't cut. Doesn't catch.

published

Worst decision in a long time. Thought I'd buy a premium mower at more than $1100. Only thing good is that it starts easy. I upgraded to 4 blades from 2 and still does not pick up the grass, just blocks the tiny shut for anything more than the smallest cut..... even in the dry! Very heavy for a push mower. I am so frustrated with the mower that I now mow/mulch and then hand rake up the grass!!!! I was told the motor is commercial grade, maybe it will last, however, it is not powerful and when the grass is thick the safety blade brake starts to slip!!! Once it has started to slip it generates heat from the friction and slips even more!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

I regret my purchase decision

published

This is my third Honda lawnmower.
Every mower has got progressively worse.
Current one won't start and has always been difficult to start. If you are lucky, you may be able to find a Honda HRU150 in good condition. This is the one that Honda established its reputation on and has not been able to produce one as user friendly or reliable since.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

First time I have purchased a Honda Lawn mower and I am very disappointed.

published

Same as other reviews, the shoot continually blocks and doesn't pick up the grass clippings. I mow my lawn every 2 weeks when its is dry, and it is still a burden. It also seems to be under powered and I have returned mower to dealer in Bunbury W.A. regularly complaining of low throttle speed, as I thought that this was the reason for grass blockage, nothing has improved. Also my clothes continually get caught on the protruding throttle cable guide. Very disappointed. It is no longer a pleasure to mow my lawn.

Date PurchasedSept 2015
Juzz

JuzzAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible product - with narrow Shute !

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid Honda Mowers At All Costs

published
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Garie

GarieIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

1st and only honda

published

Sara what good is it reporting our problems,we are still stuck with a bad mower.i am glad i kept my old victa when grass is damp out it comes and does the job so easy,$1000 worth of mower stays in the shed Great ad for honda.Plus mower is way way to heavy.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

narrow shute

published

I hate the narrow chute and bag catcher...cloggs up all the time and PVC catcher is mutch better...the older buffalo 196 were a magnificent machine with the wide chute and PVC catcher..never buying a narrow chute mower again ever...go back to the old style mower...a lot of mowing contractors agree with me..

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Mark Camilleri

Mark CamilleriSydney, Nsw, 2145

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Terrible.

published

Won't get that time back
What a waste I had to sell it for half the price
It might be an ok mower in the desert but I would highly advice not to purchase any Honda with the back shoot half closed up.why they still building that way.
It gets blocked even if the grass is the slightest bit moist.so you have to mulch but that still stalls
The mower after 15 steps.
It is well built great handles good wheels it just is no good for Sydney conditions
Very heavy

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Frank

FrankPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very disappointing lawnmower for the cost

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
JMJ

JMJMaryborough

Should be replaced at no charge per ACCC

published

Honda know there's a problem with the small chute that is why they bought out a conversion kit for it I sold Honda mowers for many years and have spoken to the Honda rep and he informed me there was a kit made for this mower regarding this problem engine great design shocking

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Mr T

Mr TBrisbane

Mrt

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
mowergirl

mowergirlsydney

im getting frustrated using my mower

published

My mower is just over a year old, so relatively new. It constantly stops while i mow, this started a few months ago. I called the shop where i bought it, told them what happened. They told me to bring it in, i cannot as its too heavy. They told me it might be water in the fuel, so i removed all the fuel, bought new fuel from a different station, i changed the fuel a couple of times but same thing happens and still happening. Its so frustrating my old victa was so reliable but it fell apart, oh! How i miss it. I bought the Honda as i thought i was buying quality, but i feel ripped off. Did i buy a lemon? Does anybody else have this problem?

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Mowergirl, Sounds like you have an isolated issue. Could you please message us your suburb/ postcode and we will arrange to have your unit inspected?
-Sarah

mowergirl
mowergirl

All fixed now. My friend drained fuel through carburator, working fine now.

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tinboy

TinboyMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Over engineered quality mower just not executed correctly

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Tinboy, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Please know that this has been passed on. - Sarah

Spog64

Spog64Adelaide

Still crap!

published

Had another fun day with this $1000 piece of crap yesterday.......and yes Honda lady the grass was dry........not short though (the reason I was cutting it) but still had to manually clear the pissant little chute by hand no less than 4 times. Not bad for 160 sqm of lawn.

6 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Spog64
Spog64
Spog64
Spog64
Enzo44

Enzo44Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Can't stand using my lawn mower

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
ManandhisMachine

ManandhisMachineSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 24 likes

Reliable engine, Solid body -chute gets blocked sometimes

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
ManandhisMachine
ManandhisMachine

Commercial mower, but doesn't do the job

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Page 1 of 2
See all Honda HRU196 reviews

Questions & Answers

Joe Z.

Joe Z.asked

HRU196

Why is hard to push

No answers
Joe Z.

Joe Z.asked

HRU196

Why is hard to push

No answers
Joe Z.

Joe Z.asked

HRU196

Why is so hard to push

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Honda HRU196
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,169.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm
Weight44 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 OHV Iron Bore
Engine TypeOHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHonda
Release dateSept 2010
Compare all 3 Honda HRU196

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.