?
? !
6 photos
Honda HRU196

Honda HRU196 (page 2 of 5)

HRU196M1 (L/R, Blade Brake), HRU196D, HRU196K1
3.5 from 104 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (8)
  • Safety
    4.3 (8)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.1 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
NotAHappyCustomer

NotAHappyCustomerAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great mower

published

Very, very happy with this mower. It cuts well, feels solidly built and is easy to use.

The downside: there was a small production run of engines which had faulty throttles. Mine was unfortunately one of those, and it took a couple of trips back to the retailer (Haughton Honda, in Adelaide) to get it fixed. But since then it's been flawless and is a pleasure to use.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Juzz

JuzzAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible product - with narrow Shute !

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid Honda Mowers At All Costs

published
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Garie

GarieIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

1st and only honda

published

Sara what good is it reporting our problems,we are still stuck with a bad mower.i am glad i kept my old victa when grass is damp out it comes and does the job so easy,$1000 worth of mower stays in the shed Great ad for honda.Plus mower is way way to heavy.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

narrow shute

published

I hate the narrow chute and bag catcher...cloggs up all the time and PVC catcher is mutch better...the older buffalo 196 were a magnificent machine with the wide chute and PVC catcher..never buying a narrow chute mower again ever...go back to the old style mower...a lot of mowing contractors agree with me..

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark Camilleri

Mark CamilleriSydney, Nsw, 2145

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Terrible.

published

Won't get that time back
What a waste I had to sell it for half the price
It might be an ok mower in the desert but I would highly advice not to purchase any Honda with the back shoot half closed up.why they still building that way.
It gets blocked even if the grass is the slightest bit moist.so you have to mulch but that still stalls
The mower after 15 steps.
It is well built great handles good wheels it just is no good for Sydney conditions
Very heavy

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wantone

WantoneSouth Australia

  • 17 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great mower. Small chute gap is OKAY because...

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank

FrankPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very disappointing lawnmower for the cost

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JMJ

JMJMaryborough

Should be replaced at no charge per ACCC

published

Honda know there's a problem with the small chute that is why they bought out a conversion kit for it I sold Honda mowers for many years and have spoken to the Honda rep and he informed me there was a kit made for this mower regarding this problem engine great design shocking

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The best mower I have ever used

published

I've had one of these mowers for 6+ years and it's never let me down. I have a large lawn (500 sqm) with thick buffalo grass. This mower just powers through it - never stalls. I'm sure I'll still be using it many years from now (or maybe my son will!).

Date PurchasedJan 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mr T

Mr TBrisbane

Mrt

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mowergirl

mowergirlsydney

im getting frustrated using my mower

published

My mower is just over a year old, so relatively new. It constantly stops while i mow, this started a few months ago. I called the shop where i bought it, told them what happened. They told me to bring it in, i cannot as its too heavy. They told me it might be water in the fuel, so i removed all the fuel, bought new fuel from a different station, i changed the fuel a couple of times but same thing happens and still happening. Its so frustrating my old victa was so reliable but it fell apart, oh! How i miss it. I bought the Honda as i thought i was buying quality, but i feel ripped off. Did i buy a lemon? Does anybody else have this problem?

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Mowergirl, Sounds like you have an isolated issue. Could you please message us your suburb/ postcode and we will arrange to have your unit inspected?
-Sarah

mowergirl
mowergirl

All fixed now. My friend drained fuel through carburator, working fine now.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tinboy

TinboyMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Over engineered quality mower just not executed correctly

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Tinboy, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Please know that this has been passed on. - Sarah

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Langas

LangasPalmerston, NT

  • 2 reviews

Great

published

I wanted to get a new mower and having other Honda equipment, wanted to get a Honda mower mainly for the ease of starting. After reading reviews, I was hesitant to get a Honda. I rang Honda and questioned them on the reviews and they gave me answers to all the questions I asked. I ended up buying a mower from the local Honda dealer and so far have been extremely satisfied with it. We had a huge down pour the day prior to mowing the lawn, and using a sensible height setting had no issues with grass clippings clogging up the discharge shute. So far so good, would recommend speaking to Honda or your dealer prior to purchasing if you have any questions.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Kangas, thanks for taking the time to review the HRU196M1. Its great to hear that you thoroughly did your research.
-Sarah

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Spog64

Spog64Adelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Still crap!

published

Had another fun day with this $1000 piece of crap yesterday.......and yes Honda lady the grass was dry........not short though (the reason I was cutting it) but still had to manually clear the pissant little chute by hand no less than 4 times. Not bad for 160 sqm of lawn.

6 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Spog64
Spog64
Spog64
Spog64
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Enzo44

Enzo44Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Can't stand using my lawn mower

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ManandhisMachine

ManandhisMachineSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 24 likes

Reliable engine, Solid body -chute gets blocked sometimes

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
ManandhisMachine
ManandhisMachine
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joshy

Joshy

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can't complaint

published

I owned Honda HRU196D for about 7 years now and it getting the job done all the time. It hasn't given me any problems yet I think it's tough and durable mower. I changed spark plug and oil once a year and no need to take it to mower shop for services. Happy with the mower and can't complaint.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thanks Joshy for taking the time to share your experience with the HRU196D. Its is great to hear your thoughts on this model. -Sarah

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Commercial mower, but doesn't do the job

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Missing The Point

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Honda HRU196 reviews

Questions & Answers

Joe Z.

Joe Z.asked

HRU196

Why is hard to push

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Why ask the same question 3 times in 10 minutes?
Suggest you get someone to contact them directly if you want to know.

Joe Z.

Joe Z.asked

HRU196

Why is hard to push

No answers
Joe Z.

Joe Z.asked

HRU196

Why is so hard to push

No answers
See all Honda HRU196 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU196

Details

Compare all 3 Honda HRU196
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,169.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm
Weight44 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 OHV Iron Bore
Engine TypeOHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHonda
Release dateSept 2010
Compare all 3 Honda HRU196

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.