6 photos
Honda HRU196
3.5 from 105 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Honda Power Equipment? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Safety
    4.8 (4)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
John
John
  • 2 reviews

Great mower, however the catcher keeps falling off.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Azat
AzatGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Not so easy to start

published

I find it harder to start than our last lawnmower, l can start it but need to position it so l don’t need to hold and pull at the same time.
I’m a small female don’t think men would have my problems.
But still needs more than one pull to start, l find it temperamental.

Very happy with its ability to catch the grass.
I made a thingy magigy to hold the bar up so it doesn’t turn the motor off every time l can’t hold it down.
Might be a safety feature but very annoying.
The large nut thing to stop the handle folding keeps coming undone.

Not sure if l would buy it again, it came recommend by the lawn mowing man an l trusted his judgment.

Purchased in January 2018 at Kingston mowers for $1,055.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Paul R.
Paul R.Central, SA
  • 2 reviews

As heavy as a Sherman tank

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $1,050.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PaulB
PaulBNew South Wales

Great engine, reasonable product with the right blades.

published

Following my purchase 2 years ago I was initially disappointed with the small chute and associated clogging when mowing damp grass. I opted for the Honda as I wanted power to do just that. After working with the agent we fitted the Honda with the two standard mulch blades and two additional high lift blades which made a world of difference. We made a slight rpm increase also. Overall I'm very happy with how it performs and am enjoying my mowing. The weight creating significant tracks when mowing damp ground would be my only negative feedback. Largely a great engine and the blade break system does work well for me having to regularly negotiate obstacles.

Purchased in May 2018 for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Deano
Deano
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's a good mower

published

Good mower to be honest.
Mines been back under warranty a few times for the governor shaft leaking oil out around the shaft. Know out of warranty and it's still leaking and they don't want to know about it. Disappointed to be honest.
Other than that hasn't let me down..

Date PurchasedJan 2014
kgn
kgnMelbourne

Solid mower - should give a long life based on experience with the original still going strong

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Check your blades

published

We were about to sell our supposed great Honda top of the range mower cause it wouldn't pick up grass. Even dry grass. But I got new NON MULCH BLADES & yeah it now catches grass & even filled the catcher. Never has this happen before. Even from brand new. The dealer fitted new blades but they were mulching blades. Now fitted with low & high throw blades it works a treat. Finally a nice looking lawn

Date PurchasedApr 2015
RenegadeLC
RenegadeLCAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Preformed better than expected

published

Mulching is amazing and cuts like a dream Whisper quite with punch. Compared to my old mower this makes me moist. I will have intimate dreams of this mower tonight. I'm going to file for divorce and marry my lawn mower. My heart lies deep with this one. XOXO gossip gorl
Update!! Height adjustment is flimsy and hard to manage. Poor design and enginge cut off is a pain i use a sttap to keep engine running. Other than that. Good machine

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sparrow
SparrowSydney Surrounds, NSW

Honda - a great machine, but!

published
Honda
James H.Honda
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
michael
michaelMelbourne

Piece of Rubbish!

published

I had a victa tornado which cut beautifully, decided to go with a "professional mower" when it was time for a new mower, so I brought a hru196 about 12 months ago.... worst purchase in my life, totally regret it. Its too heavy, clogs up all the time, I don't a partially full bag before it clogs up!!!! And it leaves "dags" of cut grass all over the lawn, which is pathetic and embarressing when your being paid to mow someone's lawn...first and last honda, I'll ever "beep" buy!!!! No joy from the dealer either, they just look at me like I'm doing something wrong!!!! Grrrrr!!!!

Phil390
Phil390Sydney
  • 16 reviews
  • 18 likes

It has to be the best mower around

published
Phil390
Phil390

Update: After a few years, the height adjustment became poor and uneven due to worn bushes and a rear axle that had failed on the right wheel. Replaced all and it is now good as new.

Rohan
RohanBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy overall.

published
Honda
James H.Honda
lgordon9
lgordon9VIC, 3196
  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

very reliable,Honda reputation

published

Easy to start,but it gets heavy to push around if you have a large area.especially as the catcher fills.
Stalls easily with thick cooch grass unless you have the revs really high. Mulch function works very well.Probably built better to last than what's on offer these days
Easy start and well built
Can get heavy to push around and stalls easily in thick grass

Questions & Answers

Steve S.
Steve S.asked
HRU196

My HRU196 starts runs for about 20 seconds ,starts posing and running rough and then cuts out.
have taken the carry off and cleaned the main jet ect and tried again . It started straight away firs pull and then starts then it begins running rough and cuts out.Could the spark plug be breaking down ?

No answers
mike
mikeasked
HRU196

My hur 196 classic has become hard to start . I have replaced spark plug and has new air filter but still takes many pulls on choke to start - has any one got any helpful tips?

No answers
Joe Z.
Joe Z.asked
HRU196

Why is hard to push

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Why ask the same question 3 times in 10 minutes?
Suggest you get someone to contact them directly if you want to know.

See all Honda HRU196 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU196

Details

Compare all 3 Honda HRU196
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,169.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm
Weight44 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 OHV Iron Bore
Engine TypeOHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHonda
Release dateSept 2010
Compare all 3 Honda HRU196

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.