6 photos
Honda HRU196
3.5 from 105 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Honda Power Equipment? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (5)
  • Safety
    5.0 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    5.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (5)
Previous
Next

perfect for me

published

It's a bit heavy for me as a senior citizen so I can't lift it into my ute therefore have to do all maintenance and work myself. I learned quickly and it's pretty simple. West Coast, South Island, NZ where the rough wet land is a challenge. Not so for the 196, I love it. Used weekly in summer and on dry days in winter so it gets a lot of use. I can not fault it. Thanks Honda, the best mower ever for me. Hint: Do not lend it to anyone!! They don't want to give it back.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Master
MasterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Perfect lazy gardeners lawn mower

published

I have had this lawn mower for 10 years never had a issue with it very little maintenance. Use the mower weekly during summer and a lot less frequent during winter. I have only change the blades, pull cord, oil and cleaned out the filter every three or four years. It starts every time all the time even after long periods of not using it during winter starts first time every time. I clean my mower after every cut so I don't have any problems with the catcher blocking up the next time I use it. Just remember everything mechanical needs to be maintained there is no magic about it. Just like taking care of your lawn you need to maintain it for it to look good and serve you well.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mark W.
Mark W.Hunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this thing

published

Purchased in August 2020 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony
AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews

Mowing with ease

published

This mower was purchased as an additional mower as we needed to try and transport our original mower to to in-laws house every week and this was getting to be a problem. We have had it over 18 months now and it has not missed a beat. Starts most times first pull if not on the second. The blade brake is a great safety feature. servicing has not been a problem. We change the Air Filter regularly as the area mowed is usually quit dusty. We only fill it up at the start of the day as It seems to run forever on a tank of fuel.. The only down side is the catcher is a bit difficult to empty when it is full to the max. Saying that it picks up every blade of grass. In the wet it it probably picks up 95% of what is cut.

Purchased in February 2018 at Brisbane Mower Centre.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ron G
Ron GSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

My go to

published

Used daily and its my go to every time. Best lawnmower Ive had and would buy it again and again. Great on all terrain, dry and wet, and never let me down so far. Good on fuel. Catcher could be a little bigger but not a big enough issue to bother me.

Purchased in March 2017 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Long lasting and easy start, as expected from Honda Mowers

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2008
Tim
Tim
  • 6 reviews

Runs like a dream.

published

This was a replacement for my 32 year old Suzuki Two Stroke. Another legendary mower but the Honda starts first time everytime. I use the mulching plug so that I dont need the catcher. Its so good that I almost enjoy mowing which I never did with the old mower. A fantastic product

Date PurchasedNov 2016
dan
danDeniliquin

Love this mower

published

I have had this mower 4 years, its been good to use. It starts fast time its never let me down and its always been easy to start. Its never run out of fuel because it takes a lot of fuel I can mow a big lawn with it easy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Chris
ChrisGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Bought mine 10 years ago. No problems !!

published

The Honda 196P Push Petrol Lawn Mower is one of the best heavy duty lawn mowers in the market. Built to mow in the toughest of conditions, features the 4 stroke OHV GXV160 engine and guarantees to start the first time. Ideal for medium and large lawns as well as for serious contractors.

Weighing in at 34 kg, this Honda Lawn Mower offers a 19-inch cutting width and 163cc.

Date PurchasedJan 2008
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bob T
Bob TTarneit
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

Upgraded from an old Rover, this thing is amazing, starts so easy, makes light work of my tough buffalo, only con is the arm folding feature, very difficult to Fold for storage. I highly recommend this product, great safety features too. I like the simplicity, no choke, no primer, just pull the chord and away you go, well done Honda!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Big Red
Big RedMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

As a professional, there is only one choice. Honda

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
happy campers
happy campersbrisbane
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT YOU

published

This Honda mower is the best mower I have ever owned, heaps of power and so quite, the mower cuts very clean and fills the catcher full as a googe even wet grass packs in tight, the Honda is so easy to clean by putting the hose in the deck hole, starts first time every time, well done Honda.

Date PurchasedAug 2010
Viva Espana
Viva EspanaSurfers Paradise QLD. 4217
  • 15 reviews
  • 21 likes

HONDA HRU 196 HAD LOTS OF HARD WORK BUT AS NEVER LET ME DOWN.... VERY GOOD MACHINE

published
Date PurchasedMay 2004
gardener george
gardener georgeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 68 reviews
  • 31 likes

Like the old but better

published

The 19 inch special edition heritage is a very good mower, I've reviewed my five year old previous modal with the fabric catcher and half shute in product review. This newer modal that I've had a year has the old style plastic catcher, full shute width, engine braking, you can mow the lawn a notch shorter with the same ease and its lighter, same reliability, it makes a difference in effort required compared to the other honda, you'll be lucky to find the heritage as it's a special edition, but it's a good improvement.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
NotAHappyCustomer
NotAHappyCustomerAU
  • 10 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great mower

published

Very, very happy with this mower. It cuts well, feels solidly built and is easy to use.

The downside: there was a small production run of engines which had faulty throttles. Mine was unfortunately one of those, and it took a couple of trips back to the retailer (Haughton Honda, in Adelaide) to get it fixed. But since then it's been flawless and is a pleasure to use.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU196 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Steve S.
Steve S.asked
HRU196

My HRU196 starts runs for about 20 seconds ,starts posing and running rough and then cuts out.
have taken the carry off and cleaned the main jet ect and tried again . It started straight away firs pull and then starts then it begins running rough and cuts out.Could the spark plug be breaking down ?

No answers
mike
mikeasked
HRU196

My hur 196 classic has become hard to start . I have replaced spark plug and has new air filter but still takes many pulls on choke to start - has any one got any helpful tips?

No answers
Joe Z.
Joe Z.asked
HRU196

Why is hard to push

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Why ask the same question 3 times in 10 minutes?
Suggest you get someone to contact them directly if you want to know.

See all Honda HRU196 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU196

Details

Compare all 3 Honda HRU196
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,169.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm
Weight44 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 OHV Iron Bore
Engine TypeOHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHonda
Release dateSept 2010
Compare all 3 Honda HRU196

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.