??!
1 photo
Honda CB500F

Honda CB500F

4.9 from 9 reviews

See the Best Naked Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Nil issues. Great fun.

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

T Ashby

T AshbyBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great bike, I ride it everyday.

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $3,100.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 15,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
Ote

Otemelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap price, powerful and cheap to maintain

published

I bought at PS in city with a good price. It's powerful than 300cc and near 4.2L/100km which is really low compare to 300cc. It is great for learners for the power, the price, and the handling. So much smoother, calmer and comfortable and sounds great with a slip-on exhaust!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

The bike I should have bought in the first place!

published

I got my licence last year (I'm one of those mid-life crisis types!) and I bought with my heart and purchased a KTM Duke 390. I pretty much hated it from the second day... the bike although cool looking was very jerky in traffic and not comfortable at all.

When I dropped it in for a service I was given a CB500f as a loaner.....WOW! what a difference. So much smoother, calmer and comfortable. It may not look or sound as good as the KTM but it rides so much better.

I traded the Duke in on the Honda the next day and have never looked back.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Adam

Adam

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

great bike

published

great performance for a learner, had it for about 18 months from brand new, nothing went wrong with it, quick clean and serviced and it is new again. holds price well and the guys at peter Stevens where great and more than helpful and got the bike delivered to my place

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Loom

LoomMelbourne

One of the best LAMS bikes out there ...

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Great first bike - does what it says on the tin

published

I've bought a secondhand 2014 CB500F about 6 months ago, and as a new rider I'm delighted with it. Easy and fun to ride, a lovely blend of power and torque, cruises pretty comfortably at motorway speed and, as with all the reviews here, mine starts first time every time and feels like it will run forever. Looks really sweet too.
At a push, I'd say the quality of the alloy fitments out of the Thai factory doesn't match Honda's Japanese-built bikes (such as the CB400) - my CB has small but visible signs of alloy corrosion - and the seat is a bit hard after an hour's ride, but you pays your money and takes your choce, especially secondhand, and within that context the CB500F is unrivalled.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Dejan

DejanStavanger

A fantastic overall bike for smart riders

published
2 comments
Dejan
Dejan

Checking in after three months and another 2500 km or so: still great, seems only to have gotten better after the break-in. Still starts up immediately every time and runs perfectly, no issues of any kind. Still loving it

Dejan
Dejan
averageandy

averageandySunnybank, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Follow-up review 1500kms & first service

published

Still great! First service was about $300AUD. Running just as well as before.

Unfortunately, on the bolts on the handlebar I have noticed some very minor surface oxidation. Granted though, I have never once covered the bike, at home and at work it is out in the elements. Other than that it is still the same great LAMS bike I recommended months ago. So check out that review. I will post more after 5000kms
Price, size/power, style

Questions & Answers

TimH

TimHasked

What is the CB500F like filtering in city traffic? I have a CB125E which is great but time to it trade up. I also have a BMW F800GS which is too heavy and clumbersome for regular filtering and am hoping the CB500F is suitable for city commuting. Cheers.

1 answer
Ote
Ote

I think it's a great bike for commuting. The control of the bike is excellent and light handling while powerful compare to 300cc bikes, and I would recommend version after 2016 as I had both MY2013 and MY2016, and the improvement is huge.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Details

CategoryNaked Bikes
Release dateJun 2013

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.