??!
2 photos
Honda EU20i

Honda EU20i

4.0 from 42 reviews

See the Best Generators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
26
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
6

princesspeppi

princesspeppiAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't buy online..

published
Date PurchasedSep 2013

GregoryR

GregoryRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

The Best of the Best

published

I am a retired Honda Dealer, so I know this product well, I was selling this model back in the late 90’s, and I can confirm that this is a great product. What a lot of people don’t know is that this Honda has a ‘burst output mode’ that enables it to start for example a Caravan Airconditioner with ease.
My EU20i is now just over 10 years old and still starts first go and runs like new. I have just completed a service and all that was required was oil, air filter, spark plug and replacement of some of the fuel lines which although ok were getting a little hard with age.
Great product, you will not be disappointed.

Date PurchasedJul 1998

Best Investment Ever!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2004
Mrkus58

Mrkus58Sydney

reliable and long lasting

published
Date PurchasedNov 2005

Disappointed with honda eu20i

published

I live in Weipa in Cape York. Had an EU10 for years and it was great. Bought an EU20i in April and it ran fine for 4 hours then started running rough and stalling. Tried everything to fix it. Sent it to local service dealer who could not fix it. Honda warranty was useless and rude. Sent it back to seller who was good enough to replaced it with new one. Guess what - ran for 4 hours and started playing up same thing. Finally sent it out of town to another service dealer who advised of spark plug cap recall on Honda EU2's. They now said it is fixed but am waiting to get it back and try it out - 6 months after I bought it...

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Cold Caravanner

Cold Caravanner

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointing as my machine is not at Honda standard.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Travelling Sparky

Travelling SparkyAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Always reliable and very quiet

published

Replaced my EU10i camping generator, which had run faultlessly for 7 years, with the larger EU20i. Purchased from the Generator Place in Queensland (exceptional service - ordered late Sunday night and it was at my front door in Adelaide Tuesday morning). As per previous model this generator starts first time every time, is very easy to start, great on fuel and is very quiet. Have used Honda generators a lot as a tradie on sites and would highly recommend them to any buyer.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Crackles

CracklesZeehan

Generator won't run for more than 2 hours

published

Nearly 2 years ago we purchased the new Honda 20i, it ran fine for the first 6 months and now won't run any longer than 2 hours.
We have taken it for a service, didn't fix it, have just taken it for another service and if it doesn't fix it this time I will be contacting Honda directly ( I honestly believe the older style Honda generators are better) !!

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Cost of parts

published

Brought a Honda 2kva from the "Generator Place" Brisbane with extended 5 year warranty.

Worked extremly well, consider though, I was only using it intermittently for when the wife and I were camping and then only to backup my solar system.

At the five and a half year mark the circuit board died, replacement cost $1400.00 dollars.

Date PurchasedJun 2012
Brad

BradNewcastle

  • 22 reviews
  • 5 likes

Awesome generator. Very happy with it!

published

After almost 2 years, I am happy to say that I am very happy with my Honda EU20i. The oil that it takes is the same oil as in my other Honda products that I own. Very reliable. Not as noisy as my neighbour's generator of similar size (he has a cheaper brand). It cost more, but it a better generator. I would buy it again.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Aldeberan

AldeberanAU

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Quality product. Great service.

published

Just unpacked. Started first time. Hard to fault. I bought from Generator Place in Brisbane (I'm in SA). Delivered in 2 days. They gassed and oiled it. Great service. Instructions clear. Good deal as well. Very quiet operating. If I had to buy another generator I would buy a Honda.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Possum

PossumBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good generator, Poor warranty service, Undetected manufacturing fault

published
Date PurchasedJul 2009

Honda makes quality gear

published

I've had the eu10i and I've had the eu20 I for over 5 years we travelled around Australia for 5 years in our traveller van and used it to run our ctek battery charger to charge our batteries when there wasn't enough sun for the solar panels to do the job we found it very reliable easy to start and very quiet I recommend the Honda generator to my friends

Date PurchasedMay 2010

Johnathan Garrett

Johnathan GarrettMain Beach QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

If it isn't a top brand, it's a waste of money

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Always goes both ways

published

Had four of them first to run solo i run two together parallel now, The generator is by far the best. Honda oil on the other hand is up with the worst mineral oils, I suggest using a synthetic oil. On another note honda are a terrible company don't ever expect them to get to it quickly, or to honor their warranty. Paid extra for extended warranties instead I should of bought toilet paper

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

All good!

published

Had a panic on its first outing in that it ran perfectly for 30 minutes then started spluttering, then violent shaking, then cut out!! My fault, didn't turn the breather valve to 'ON' so the vacuum caused fuel starvation. Other than that, has performed well. Low noise, stable power - even on 'Eco' with a variable load. You just forget it's there. The only gripe is that a fuel gauge would be useful, but after 5 hours use it still had plenty of fuel in. A friend of mine has the LPG conversion on his and talks about the very extended run time, very clean oil, and little smell from the exhaust. Certainly recommend.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thanks for your review Mark in yourkshire, great to see that you are loving the whisper quiet technology.
-Sarah


Expensive piece of crap

published

Bought a EU20i 4 year ago. Thought I was buying a premium machine but had to pay a premium price. Inverter caught fire just out of warranty. Just as well I was near it. It would have ended up as pile of plastic and maybe a bush fire. The hardest work the thing ever did was run a750 watt drill It cost $851.45 to fix Very expensive holes. The Honda dealer said might be able to do the job at cost Didn't happen Won' t buy Honda again


loss of out put ( not from use)

published

I'm surprised by my Honda EU20i , it hasn't done much work in the 8 years I've had it, I haven't used it for 18 months , put in new fuel ,started ok ,plugged in the small fridge that it runs when we have a power failure , but this time it won't start the fridge ?

3 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Reffery
Reffery
Reffery
Reffery

Luis S

Luis SCairns

  • 2 reviews

Underperforming Continuous Operating Hours

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Luis S
Luis S

Be careful don't buy second hand Honda generator

published

Just purchased a Honda EU20I second hand, looks good runs good but no power out put. Contacted Honda dealership who told me it would cost over a thousand dollars to fix . More than it is worth . So if the generator stops producing power may as well throw it away. I don't have a warranty so not sure what to do with it. Boat anchor maybe.

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Rob
Rob

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Iandevine.

Iandevine.asked

Why is there petrol coming out of the bottom of the bottom of the generator when I am cranking it?. I haven’t used it for four years but I wintered it before putting it on the shelf.

2 answers
princesspeppi
princesspeppi

Contact Honda Customer service....They will then direct you to the right person to answer this question..

GregoryR
GregoryR

Shouldn't be happening, possible causes :
1. Leaving choke on for too long and flooding the engine while attempting to start.
2. Carburetor flooding due to stuck needle valve or dirt in the carby fuel bowl.
3. Drain screw on the bottom of the Fuel Bowl not tightened.
4. Fuel bowl seal faulty.


Greg H.

Greg H.asked

Hi I’m in the process of buying a second hand one but the outer casing are crap and the starter cord has cut into the casing can I buy new covers for it

1 answer
GregoryR
GregoryR

Yes all parts are available including the outer case, but the s/h one needs to be cheap as the cases are expensive...


Margaret W.

Margaret W.asked

How long does this generator run for?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Details

CategoryGenerators
Price (RRP)$2099

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.