2 photos
Honda EU20i

Honda EU20i

3.7 from 52 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Generators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Honda Power Equipment? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
Peter W
Peter WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Have owned 4 units, no more.

published

First one 14 years ago only used four times to combat blackouts, then the floods and lost power in 2013, ran for 10 minutes and stopped, service said inverter sparking, so bought a new as needed it urgent, 4 yrs later this on need a new inverter, repaired under warranty, 4 yrs later in for regular service again inverter sparking no warranty this time, and i will not replace it with a Honda, their opposition have units 66% cheaper, if it lasts more than 2 yrs I'm better off. PeterW

Purchased in February 2013 for $1,800.00.

Incentivised Review No
Gerry
Gerry
  • 2 reviews

Trouble free running guide

published

The 2.0kva Honda starts and runs first time,only problem with nonstart was on old fuel changed that and it went ok.
Found that it runs most air conditioners ,but you have to start Gen. then start air conditioning with the remote on low low setting and after a few minutes it will tolerate turning up to normal

Purchased for $1,450.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
peter h.
peter h.Far North Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

still the best

published

Purchased in May 2020 for $2,300.00.

Incentivised Review No
Generators

Find out how Honda EU20i compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RonWatts
RonWattsGippsland, VIC

Fantastic ,easy start and very quiet

published

Use ours every saturday and sunday at markets . Never lets us down ,very economical and super quiet . If its not red leave it in the shed , thats our generator policy.

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,100.00.

Incentivised Review No
Toby
TobyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Reliable workhorse, quiet, and very fuel efficient

published

Purchased in October 2015 at Generator Place for $1,749.00.

Incentivised Review No
Disappointed
DisappointedEyre Peninsula, SA

Very difficult to start and no product back up.

published

From new it has been very, very difficult to start, I assumed that with run-in it would improve and, with Honda's good name and high price tag, they would fix the problem if it didn't improve. I was wrong. The process to trying to get it fixed has been extremely bureaucratic with head office and local dealer directing me to the other in a circle. No resolution and no reliable generator.
Not worth the price. Honda have lost me.

Purchased in January 2008 for $2,100.00.

Incentivised Review No
Neil B.
Neil B.South East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money...very disapointed

published

Initially very happy with it but after about 2 years of limited use it started using oil , took it to the dealer and cost more to fix it than it's worth ,3 months on regularly topping up the oil it completely died.....thought i was buying quality....never again will i waste money on honda gear

Purchased in February 2018 for $1,200.00.

Incentivised Review No

If I could give it a minus review I would

published

Nothing but trouble from the start. Taken back to dealer many times while under warranty which finally ran out. Then to the service department and never a satisfactory result. In the beginning thought I would buy a known reputable brand name but after this experience I will never buy Honda again. Maybe I just got a dud.

Purchased for $2,100.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

totaly over honda lies

published

had my geny for 2 years did 1300 hours but needed a total rebuild. honda told me they are waranted for only 800 hours over 4 years. what a ropoff. never buy honda again.

Purchased in August 2017 at Generator Store for $1,860.00.

Incentivised Review No
Generators

Find out how Honda EU20i compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
uno
unoSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

service life and value for money

published

used this gennie for 12 months not a problem ( 3 year warranty )
then it would not start <it had reguler service >
honda said it was not their problem due to bad service which i dipute
say the top cylinda was carbened up
say i used wrong oil
say i used dirty fuel !!!!!!!!
said too long between service (how can anyone tell no hour meter)
would not recommend honda to anyone
went and bought a $389 doller kings 3.5kw and have not had a spot of bother with it
honda is just overpriced and not value for the money
can buy a new kings every 12 months and still be in $ 8oo in front

Purchased for $1,800.00.

Incentivised Review No
princesspeppi
princesspeppiAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't buy online..

published
Date PurchasedSept 2013
GregoryR
GregoryRSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

The Best of the Best

published

I am a retired Honda Dealer, so I know this product well, I was selling this model back in the late 90’s, and I can confirm that this is a great product. What a lot of people don’t know is that this Honda has a ‘burst output mode’ that enables it to start for example a Caravan Airconditioner with ease.
My EU20i is now just over 10 years old and still starts first go and runs like new. I have just completed a service and all that was required was oil, air filter, spark plug and replacement of some of the fuel lines which although ok were getting a little hard with age.
Great product, you will not be disappointed.

Date PurchasedJuly 1998

Best Investment Ever!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2004
Mrkus58
Mrkus58Sydney

reliable and long lasting

published
Date PurchasedNov 2005

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Disappointed with honda eu20i

published

I live in Weipa in Cape York. Had an EU10 for years and it was great. Bought an EU20i in April and it ran fine for 4 hours then started running rough and stalling. Tried everything to fix it. Sent it to local service dealer who could not fix it. Honda warranty was useless and rude. Sent it back to seller who was good enough to replaced it with new one. Guess what - ran for 4 hours and started playing up same thing. Finally sent it out of town to another service dealer who advised of spark plug cap recall on Honda EU2's. They now said it is fixed but am waiting to get it back and try it out - 6 months after I bought it...

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Generators

Find out how Honda EU20i compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Paddy P
Paddy Pasked

what voltage drop on load is acceptable on honda eu22i. Mine drops 10% on 2000W load.
Is this OK.
Paddy

1 answer
RonWatts
RonWatts

Yep I Would accept that as a reasonable drop. I reacon that would be an acceptable percentage drop at the top end of its capacity.

Ian M.
Ian M.asked

Hi, I have an EU20i and it has worked fine. I connect it direct to the house via an installed plug. Recently I used it again while Energex was working on powerlines nearby, (Queensland). Co-incidently it was after we had air con installed and I did turn it off and the main switch, however the overload warning light comes on now after one house light turns on for about 15" or so, then off. Anyone have a solution to this. Thanks.

No answers
Kelly W.
Kelly W.asked

Hi guys.
My unit (eu20i) has been sitting for a while.
Serviced today and motor running sweet but have no power outlet light on ( will not produce power).
Pulled covers off to inspect for possible loose or damaged wiring but all seems ok.
Any suggestions appreciated

No answers
See all Honda EU20i questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryGenerators
Price (RRP)$2099
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.