??!
4 photos
Honda HRU216

Honda HRU216 (page 2 of 4)

HRU216M2, HRU216D, HRU216M1, etc...
3.4 from 76 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.4

76 reviews
5
(27)
4
(13)
3
(14)
2
(9)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Safety
    4.3 (4)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Lily k

Lily k

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use

published

The honda hru216 is easy to use and saw to use. It make relatively low noise and cut grass nicely. Since I bought the machine I begin to love cutting lawn. Overall it is a very good lawn machine and I really recommend to everyone who consider to buy it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

Phenomenal!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Max

Max

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published

Used it found it Cool. Good power strong equipment Would recommend to anyone. If it dies I would buy another Honda for sure
Maneuvering is easy and cutting results are excellent with this mower
About maintenance not much is required except the normal oil change routine and spark plug cleaning along with air filter cleaning

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
King Disappopintment

King DisappopintmentTrafalgar

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Disappointing

published

Firstly, I am a contractor. I usually buy the 19" Honda mower which is fantastic! When I bought the 21" self propelled, at first it seemed great! Unfortunately unless you mow your lawn twice a week it is useless both mulching or catching grass, and if its long and wet better to use scissors!! The small shute clogs up every 10m. A very disappointing mower and would not waste the money on one again! And don't start me on the cost of maintaining it with all the cables etc that break!

Date PurchasedMar 2015
nbc

nbcWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 27 reviews
  • 28 likes

Domestic Use on a large lawn

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Terrible mower for the price

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Papamike

PapamikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very good mower, but not perfect

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Terrific

published

Mighty good mower cuts really well, Just a bit heavy!
Bit hard to turn for a old bloke of 74!
Very easy to start and run, Starts first time every time..
Easy to maintain
Love it. supplied by Mowers Galore and they have serviced it once and I would recommend this model and the service center to each and eryone

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely disappointed

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chrisb81au

Chrisb81auSomerville

Good Mower Terrible service!!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Stew

StewCairns

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Honda reliability

published

I've got two of these and they cop a fair amount of abuse. They start first pull every time and they aren't too noisy. I live in a hilly area and none of my clients live on flat ground, so having a self propelled machine is a must. One mower has over 800 hours on it and never had any mechanical issues. A couple of small annoyances are they don't rev out hard enough when delivered from the dealer, but that's an easy fix. The throttle lever seems to catch on low branches resulting in it almost shutting down (minor thing). Keep you blade in good condition and you'll never have an issue
Love my Hondas

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Rmt

RmtGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Crap quality

published

I bought the top of the line so call commercial mower. I only use it on a small lawn and look after my gear real well. It will not mow damp grass or long grass. The paint is falling off the deck after 9 months. Talking to the warranty dept. seems to be hopeless. Honda never again.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
David Ward

David WardSussex Inlet

The Rolls Royce of Self Propelled

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Bill M

Bill MHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bulletproof

published

I've had my mower for twelve months.
I will often do between five and 10 lawns per day in summer … This mower is fantastic. As someone mentioned before, a friend of mine who does hundreds of lawns told me to push off before engaging the clutch always, and you can potentially add a couple of years life to your gearbox.
Highly recommend.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thanks for the great feedback Bill M.
-Sarah

kingfisher49

kingfisher49Tas, 7467

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome Lawn mower gives excellent results

published

Wonderful mower. Self-propelled, blade brake, and massive catcher. I have a 10 year old one I use a lot. Doing around 200 to 300 lawns a year I need the best. Great warranty. This is however, a rather heavy mower, so if you need to transport it, get some ramps.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

So disapointed.

published

I paid top dollar for a mower that I thought would cope with the harder jobs. Granted the grass is high and even a bit wet... but that's why I bought a mower for top dollar. This mower just cannot cope. Turns the job into a nightmare.
Clogs - bogs down and hasn't got the grunt to do the hard yards.

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
max
max

Deck wear

published

The deck wears out after about 18 months of daily use .A lot of our lawns are sandy and the constant sand blasting from the blades pits and eventually puts holes in deck .It's around $500 to $600 for a new deck including labour .Apparently this is more a W.A. problem. A stronger deck is needed.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Gearbox issues

published

Working as a contractor I use this machine. I'm quite happy with the cut and speed but find the gearbox is not reliable and often find it needs repairing after 6-12 months. Blades do wear quickly. At $1700 plus now for a new machine out might be time to find a more reliable alternative .

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
MICHAEL
MICHAEL
Chris

ChrisAdelaide

Honda 216 propelled mower

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Chris, this is Sarah from Honda's head office in Melbourne. Glad to see that you're loving your HRU216! It's a hugely popular model and it's great knowing that you'll be getting plenty of use out of it. -Sarah

Brad

Brad

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reasonable machine

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Page 2 of 4
See all Honda HRU216 reviews

Questions & Answers

Brooke

Brookeasked

HRU216

Hi, my hru 216 self propelled mowers blades don’t disengage. I have replaced cable and sprayed crc under the deck but it is still not disengaging.? Please help. Cheers Brooke

No answers
Brooke

Brookeasked

HRU216

Blade not disengaging

No answers
Richard

Richardasked

HRU216

Hi my mower deck is not level how do I adjust it please?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.