??!
4 photos
Honda HRU216

Honda HRU216

HRU216M2, HRU216D, HRU216M1, etc...
3.4 from 78 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Safety
    4.3 (4)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Michael O.

Michael O.South East Queensland, QLD

Poor quality, plagued with gearbox problems

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Stihl Dealer for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Matthew

MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW

Terrible clicking

published

Purchased March 2020 hru216 m3
Nothing but same problems with it

After the 3rd property I get to its struggles to self propelled you can here the click and clunk noise from the drive shaft to the gear box
It’s been in 6 times and these clowns can not fix it
Plus gear box was replaced brand new after one week same issue keeps happening
Honda headquarters don’t give a damn and the dealer doesn’t know what to do

Purchased in March 2020 for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Matt O.

Matt O.

  • 2 reviews

Honda quality is nose diving

published

Purchased a mower - under powered with twisted chassis. Made in Melbourne - not good. The Honda customer service are rude - Ash. They have undertrained staff who seem not to like their job - would not employ them. The problem must stem from the top which is unfortunate.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craig mckay

craig mckayCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

No good in damp grass

published

When the grass is damp it clogs up the shoot all the time ,requiring you to remove clogged grass .
Has done about 40 hours work and smokes on start up .
wont go back to honda again.

Purchased for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers

Terrible mower for the price

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely disappointed

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Chrisb81au

Chrisb81auSomerville

Good Mower Terrible service!!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Rmt

RmtGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Crap quality

published

I bought the top of the line so call commercial mower. I only use it on a small lawn and look after my gear real well. It will not mow damp grass or long grass. The paint is falling off the deck after 9 months. Talking to the warranty dept. seems to be hopeless. Honda never again.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

So disapointed.

published

I paid top dollar for a mower that I thought would cope with the harder jobs. Granted the grass is high and even a bit wet... but that's why I bought a mower for top dollar. This mower just cannot cope. Turns the job into a nightmare.
Clogs - bogs down and hasn't got the grunt to do the hard yards.

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
max
max
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not worth the mpney

published

Brought the Honda 216 for my business, 4 months later needed a new gear box then 2 months later the new gear box broke again, to heavy when catcher is full, not worth the money, may as we'll just buy a push Honda

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Denver

DenverHobart, Tasmania

A Honda by name but not by quality

published

Have had my new HR216 Honda Lawnmower for a few months and very disappointed in the design and quality. Not only is it heavy and noisy (for a Honda), today after only starting it about 6 to 8 times since new, the starter cord shredded and broke. This is caused by a very poor quality cord dragging over a sharp plastic edge in the recoil unit as it exits the housing. This must be common with this model, as it will continue to happen unless honda redesign and replace the recoil unit and cords on this mower. I have written to Honda, so it will be interesting to see their reply.

2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
Denver
Denver

Wow Sarah, I wrote to you about the small and easy to fix problem I had 11months ago and did not receive a useful or helpful reply, and now you insult me by thanking me for my feedback............??????????????

Graham

GrahamBiloela

Starts easy, but thats all...wasted our money

published

Recently we traded our old Honda mower HRU19D, for a new HRR216PKUA lawn mower, as we never had any problems with the old one which made mowing easy.
What a HUGE let down for us. The new one is heavy and hard to push and the bag catcher is absolutely useless. My wife can no longer mow (which she likes to do) as she suffers from asthma and the constant dust through the bag sets her off.
The distance between cutting heights is a FAIL and the overall experience is terrible. We wish we had kept our old mower instead of wasting our money on this one.
Disappointed (VERY)

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Never buy another one give me my money back

published

All though warrant says 2years commercial by salesman, its for motor only, I have brought two gear box lasted less than 6 months on both, chasis has cracked on one chasis warranty 6mths, A commercial mower, WHAT EVER.
This mower or warranty seriously needs to be reviewed by manufacturer Honda Australia
Went well for about 6 weeks
Alll moving parts cables breaking wheels collapsing

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Mower had significant problems after first cut

published

Terrible mower. Don't buy thisd mower just because it is a Honda thinking it will be the best on the market. There are major design floors which will have it back in the workshop and still not fixed. I strongly recommend you consider other brands e.g. John Deer, Rover etc.
Starts first time
1. Does not cut properly. Lawn cuttings jam in shute to the bag. 2. Second arm on handl to engage the blades breaks and is a know design fault. 3. Periodically have trouble shutting off the mower.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Terrible

published

Poor service from Honda on faulty 3 speed gearbox.Gearbox has failed and Honda will not repair the problem but did fix friends mower bought on same day and had same gearbox failure.
Starts easy
Gearbox has failed after very little use and Honda will not fix it

2 comments
me.
me.

Still going strong after 6 years of moderate use.

Honda
James H.Honda
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Honda HRU216 reviews

Questions & Answers

Hakan S

Hakan Sasked

Buffalo Classic HRU216D

What is the difference between a honda Hru216 and Hru216D ?

No answers
Gav

Gavasked

HRN216PKU

I’ve just bought and have not cut lawn with it, got it started and theres no throttle adjustment, it just runs at Idle, or will the revs pick up when cutting?

No answers
Roslyn O'Meley

Roslyn O'Meleyasked

Buffalo Classic HRU216D

I have a mower (Honda buffalo classic HRU21D,I am wishing to purchase a catcher to fit my mower please

1 answer
Matthew
Matthew

Any mower shop or you can just buy off eBay will be a little cheaper

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 6 Honda HRU216
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$1,749.00A$1,749.00A$749.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledBlade Brake, Foldable Handle, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledMulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidCollapsibleRigid
Catcher Capacity70 L70 L66 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloySteel
Cutting Width533 mm530 mm533 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm25 mm to 100 mm
Number of Blades112
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GXV160 4 StrokeHonda GXV160GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement160 cc167 cc
Compare all 6 Honda HRU216

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.