??!
4 photos
Honda HRU216

Honda HRU216

HRU216M2, HRU216D, HRU216M1, etc...
3.4 from 78 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Baxtersin

BaxtersinNorthern Region, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 24 likes

It's great for what I want

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Tweed Mower City for A$729.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Dollar

DollarMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable commercial use

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Murray Stones

Murray StonesWollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Good

published

I have been mowing lawns for a living over thirty years this is the only mower on the market that will stand up to constant commercial use .
The mower is quite expensive compared to other brands but the the long life makes it well worth the extra money
.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LeSquid

LeSquidGoldfields, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Big and powerful, but not perfect for all applications

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ashley

AshleyMerbein

  • 4 reviews

Great Mower!!!!

published

I got sick of buying a cheap lawn mower every couple of years. This starts 2nd pull every time. Only down side is the weight of it. Its very heavy and makes it difficult lifting in and out of the back of the ute. Thats the only down side even has the water wash point to clean the deck without flipping it over.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Quality Mower Worth The Purchase

published

As a commercial mower in 2008 I purchased one of these to make my life easier when doing the tuff and dirty jobs (high grass and big bumpy blocks) i was so impressed i purchased a 2nd one and wouldn't use anything else...great finish and durable not to mention time saving, even the missus could use it on the days she tagged along!

Date PurchasedMar 2008
Fish

FishUmina

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solid machine

published

I bought the HRU216 about 2 weeks ago very used and broken. After virtually rebuilding it I have used it for 2 days with my business ( testing the repairs before the busy season). It runs great and cuts well, although I haven't used it on thick grass yet I think it will handle it well. I only have 3 minor issues which probably won't affect most users. The handle is quite a bit lower than I like (I'm 6'2") some adjustment would be nice. It is slower than a hrx217 I'm use to an almost jogging pace. The speed can't be changed while moving, if I approach a thick patch of grass I have to stop to change gear. Like I said these are minor and it will be a good 2nd mower for my business.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Lily k

Lily k

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use

published

The honda hru216 is easy to use and saw to use. It make relatively low noise and cut grass nicely. Since I bought the machine I begin to love cutting lawn. Overall it is a very good lawn machine and I really recommend to everyone who consider to buy it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Max

Max

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published

Used it found it Cool. Good power strong equipment Would recommend to anyone. If it dies I would buy another Honda for sure
Maneuvering is easy and cutting results are excellent with this mower
About maintenance not much is required except the normal oil change routine and spark plug cleaning along with air filter cleaning

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Papamike

PapamikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very good mower, but not perfect

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015
JKs Garden Service

JKs Garden ServiceWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Machine

published

I am a contract Mower man. I have just bought my 3rd HRU216 second hand self propelled mower on line. The 1st 2 have been fantastic. They do an awful lot of work. The only negative I have is the chute opening. As others have said it could be widened to prevent clogging. Lets hope the 3rd second hand model is ok.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thank you for the feedback JKs Garden Service's. - Sarah

Patrick

PatrickSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 16 likes

ok

published

Bought new $1550.00. Powerful engine, starts easily and pretty robust.
Mulch attachment was $50 and doesn't even fit properly, really heavy although I'd rather heavy and lasts long than light and falls apart.
Only had it 2 months so time will tell if buying a honda self propelled was worth it.
power, easy start, tough
heavy, mulch attachment doesn't fit properly for $50,

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
beachshack

beachshackNorthern Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Cant live without it!!

published

I am a average sized female in late fifties with a big lawn of verdant buffalo grass and I haven't looked back since purchasing this beauty. So easy to start, cruises through the thick buffalo and even though it is heavy once you perfect the technique for turning it, no problems.
It has turned our yard into a beautiful lawn wheres our previous mower just got stuck in the buffalo and made an awful mess.
Was sold a Husqavarna self propelled but it wouldnt even move in the buffalo so got my money back, bit the bullet, paid the extra and havent looked back :)
Reliable, easy to start, cruises through buffalo
Heavy, but okay with the right turning technique.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thank you for your thoughts beachshack. Great to hear that you are getting the use out of your mower. - Sarah

See all Honda HRU216 reviews

Questions & Answers

Hakan S

Hakan Sasked

Buffalo Classic HRU216D

What is the difference between a honda Hru216 and Hru216D ?

No answers
Gav

Gavasked

HRN216PKU

I’ve just bought and have not cut lawn with it, got it started and theres no throttle adjustment, it just runs at Idle, or will the revs pick up when cutting?

No answers
Roslyn O'Meley

Roslyn O'Meleyasked

Buffalo Classic HRU216D

I have a mower (Honda buffalo classic HRU21D,I am wishing to purchase a catcher to fit my mower please

1 answer
Matthew
Matthew

Any mower shop or you can just buy off eBay will be a little cheaper

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 6 Honda HRU216
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$1,749.00A$1,749.00A$749.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledBlade Brake, Foldable Handle, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledMulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidCollapsibleRigid
Catcher Capacity70 L70 L66 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloySteel
Cutting Width533 mm530 mm533 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm25 mm to 100 mm
Number of Blades112
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GXV160 4 StrokeHonda GXV160GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement160 cc167 cc
Compare all 6 Honda HRU216

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.