??!
4 photos
Honda HRU216

Honda HRU216

HRU216M2, HRU216D, HRU216M1, etc...
3.4 from 78 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Juan G.

Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Mower for my type of usage I am very happy with this mower and I think it is worth the money

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
MICHELLE

MICHELLESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy Customer

published

Bought this lawnmower 2 weeks ago and i am really impressed, it cuts the grass super fine and holds sooooo much in the catcher. Our lawns are looking perfectly cut and my husband likes that it has a range of gears and the self propelled option drives nicely. definitely worth your money, we bought this from mower world and received perfect customer service!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Ferrett

FerrettCentral West, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

My Mowers better than yours

published

One thing I love to own is a great lawn mower.
Can’t go past Honda mine is not for commercial use this is my second only due to moving states and couldn’t take my other one. Starts first time every time I have it serviced regularly and love how it’s self mulching as I can’t lift the catcher so I don’t use it. This one’s going to outlast me I think. The only downside for me was price $1600 is pretty overwhelming but one the other hand it’s there for the long haul.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PCJB

PCJBAustralia

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

One of the best things I own

published

This works a treat after 5 years and I expect it will keep going that way for another 5 at least. I purchased to mow our 1/2 acre block that has some sloping parts and it does it with ease. At first it seemed a bit heavy and clunky to use but it a short time I figured out when and how to use the self propelling feature to my advantage. I have it serviced once a year but it could easily be done by someone at home who has the time and inclination to do it. I have since purchased a small ride on to cut the mowing time down even more but there are still some areas that the Honda can only do so I cannot part with it.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Paddy11

Paddy11Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great self-propelling mower

published

Great mower especially the self-propelling part for our steep block. Easy to use and once the initial throttle cable hiccup was sorted it starts on the first pull. Nice big catcher and great mulching function. On the heavy side weight wise but. Very solid build so it should last well.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Shannon

Shannon

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dream mower!

published

Heavy going without being too heavy this is fantastic to work with. Such an easy to use marvel that I'm mowing the lawns of less fortunate neighbours because it's just made so easy! Very easy to start and maintain, well worth the cost even on a pretty small surburban block.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 7 likes

Phenomenal!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
nbc

nbcWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 28 reviews
  • 28 likes

Domestic Use on a large lawn

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Terrific

published

Mighty good mower cuts really well, Just a bit heavy!
Bit hard to turn for a old bloke of 74!
Very easy to start and run, Starts first time every time..
Easy to maintain
Love it. supplied by Mowers Galore and they have serviced it once and I would recommend this model and the service center to each and eryone

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stew

StewCairns

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Honda reliability

published

I've got two of these and they cop a fair amount of abuse. They start first pull every time and they aren't too noisy. I live in a hilly area and none of my clients live on flat ground, so having a self propelled machine is a must. One mower has over 800 hours on it and never had any mechanical issues. A couple of small annoyances are they don't rev out hard enough when delivered from the dealer, but that's an easy fix. The throttle lever seems to catch on low branches resulting in it almost shutting down (minor thing). Keep you blade in good condition and you'll never have an issue
Love my Hondas

Date PurchasedApr 2014
David Ward

David WardSussex Inlet

The Rolls Royce of Self Propelled

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Bill M

Bill MHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bulletproof

published

I've had my mower for twelve months.
I will often do between five and 10 lawns per day in summer … This mower is fantastic. As someone mentioned before, a friend of mine who does hundreds of lawns told me to push off before engaging the clutch always, and you can potentially add a couple of years life to your gearbox.
Highly recommend.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thanks for the great feedback Bill M.
-Sarah

kingfisher49

kingfisher49Tas, 7467

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome Lawn mower gives excellent results

published

Wonderful mower. Self-propelled, blade brake, and massive catcher. I have a 10 year old one I use a lot. Doing around 200 to 300 lawns a year I need the best. Great warranty. This is however, a rather heavy mower, so if you need to transport it, get some ramps.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Chris

ChrisAdelaide

Honda 216 propelled mower

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Hi Chris, this is Sarah from Honda's head office in Melbourne. Glad to see that you're loving your HRU216! It's a hugely popular model and it's great knowing that you'll be getting plenty of use out of it. -Sarah

Muttley

MuttleySouth Coast NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Had Honda self propelled mowers for 25 years.

published
2 comments
Muttley
Muttley

New models at the home gardener level would get a different review from me...dissapointed.

Honda
James H.Honda
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

King of the lawn

published
2 comments
Honda
James H.Honda

Thank you for your thoughts lawnking88. Great to hear that you are getting the use out of your mower. - Sarah

Amy

AmyAlbany, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews

Great cut and powerful engine

published

Fantastic lawnmower, much better then any other mower we have had previously. Great for larger lawns i.e. 0.5 to 1 acre. Love that's it self propelled, starts first time and can cut through pretty much any type of lawn/grass effortlessly. Comes with 4 yr warranty. Mulch and catcher works really well.
cuts well and efficiently, powerful engine, starts first time
nothing really, just that is it a heavy machine

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thank you for your thoughts Amy. Great to hear that you are getting the use out of your mower. - Sarah

Tezza

TezzaMaryborough, Qld

None better

published

Have been using a HRU216M1 for three years, as a professional, and it is still going strong. Just bought my second machine (the K2). Only repairs have been with areas where you would expect wear & tear, like the drive shaft to the gear box. Clogging of shute only occurs where grass is extremely thick and wet, and would be expected.
Works for me.
Nothing.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thank you for your thoughts Tezza. Great to hear that you are getting the use out of your mower. - Sarah

jassin

jassinqld, 4300

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great Mower, well worth it

published

This is a great machine, i have a decent size yard with 2 moderate slopes and one nasty slope and i couldnt do it with out this mower. One pull to start is awesome. Forget how dear it is, i believe you get what you pay for, you buy rubbish itll be rubbish, buy the best itll perform the best, and thats what ive done.
In saying that i do find it a bit heavy to work with but not unmanageable and its definaltly a bit underpowered, she does bog down a fair bit, wet or dry grass but again its not unmanageable. The only thing i cant figure out is how to put in is the mulching plug.
Terrific mower over all, glad i bought it
Self propelled, Good on fuel, quality, easy to use, Honda
Tad heavy, a little underpowered

8 comments
Honda
James H.Honda
beachshack
beachshack
jassin
jassin
Clover1

Clover1Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent Machine

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Page 1 of 2
See all Honda HRU216 reviews

Questions & Answers

Hakan S

Hakan Sasked

Buffalo Classic HRU216D

What is the difference between a honda Hru216 and Hru216D ?

No answers
Gav

Gavasked

HRN216PKU

I’ve just bought and have not cut lawn with it, got it started and theres no throttle adjustment, it just runs at Idle, or will the revs pick up when cutting?

No answers
Roslyn O'Meley

Roslyn O'Meleyasked

Buffalo Classic HRU216D

I have a mower (Honda buffalo classic HRU21D,I am wishing to purchase a catcher to fit my mower please

1 answer
Matthew
Matthew

Any mower shop or you can just buy off eBay will be a little cheaper

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 6 Honda HRU216
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$1,749.00A$1,749.00A$749.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledBlade Brake, Foldable Handle, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledMulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidCollapsibleRigid
Catcher Capacity70 L70 L66 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloySteel
Cutting Width533 mm530 mm533 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm25 mm to 100 mm
Number of Blades112
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GXV160 4 StrokeHonda GXV160GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement160 cc167 cc
Compare all 6 Honda HRU216

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.