??!
1 photo
Hoover Action Powerhead

Hoover Action Powerhead

3.8 from 29 reviews

Reviews

(12)
(8)
(3)
(3)
(3)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (5)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (6)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (3)
    • Several times a week (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (6)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (3)


Joanna

JoannaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Omg I'm in love

published

For so many years I kept buying cheap vacuum cleaners and then replacing them with another one. This year I bought a slightly more expensive one with a well known brand name and omg I'm so impressed. First vacuum I filled two bags that's how much the other vacs left behind. My carpet is so clean.

Purchased in May 2018 at Godfreys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Joanna,
We are so glad to hear that you are happy with your purchase.
Regards,
The Hoover Team


Joanne

JoanneSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Hoover hero

published

We recently purchased a hoover action powerhead after owning a Dyson stick vacuum for a number of years. Wow! What a difference it makes to spend the money on a product that actually does the job well. We were recommended this product byt the salesman at Godfrey and we are so pleased we listened to his advice! Highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2019 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
WendyChef

WendyChefGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

The most versatile vacuum cleaner I have ever had

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Godfrey's Doncaster Westfield for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Rita E.

Rita E.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Excellent product

published

This vacuum cleaner is perfect for on all surfaces. Using the powerhead on carpet (only) gives an incredible clean and really lifts out the dirt. I can't compare or to any other vacuum cleaner I have used.

It is very compact and light weight, and makes storage easy.

Purchased in November 2018 at Godfreys for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

antje

antjeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Good Vacuum performance

published

The vacuum cleaner has great suction and definitely works well with the power head for dog hair. The power cord however is not long enough and I always need an extension cord attached. The wheels on it are very small and it tips over very easily. The flexi hose also kinks a lot as both ends don't swivel. It is a very efficient cleaner other than the other draw backs mentioned, but I also bought it on price and for the power head which is amazing. I also like the variable suction control for different uses, and it's very quiet.

Purchased in April 2018 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Replaced it after 8 months

published

This vacuum is useless with so many design faults I don't believe that anyone at Hoover actually does the vacuuming. The power cord is too short, the pipe doesn't twist at both ends which kinks continually, the body of the vacuum is too low to the ground and tips over all the time, suction is poor, the dirt collector is too small.

Purchased in March 2018 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Shae

ShaeSouth Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does a great job of lifting dirt and dog hair out of the carpet

published

I was amazed when I first bought this vacuum at how much dirt a d dog hair it pulled out if my carpet on the first go, especially given that I'd just vacuumed the day before with my old vacuum. A year on and it's still performing just as well. It's light and easy to manoeuvre and it only takes a few seconds to remove and empty the barrel. Cleaning the filter every few months is pretty straight forward too. The body of the vacuum does tip over if you catch the wheels on anything but I expect that's the same with all vacuums in this style.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Great little vacuum cleaner

published

I used to have a Dyson, but was totally blown away at how this little vacuum cleaner picked up so much dirt from my carpet.
The only issue I have is the cord is to short have to use a extension cord have only had a week but I am very impressed with it especially for the price . The power head is amazing .

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Hoover action vacuum

published

not a good vacuum continues to block up which is extremely frustrating always having to unblock it. Poorly designed. The Shark vacuum is the best vacuum I have ever come across. I will be getting rid of this hoover action for another Shark vacuum. Very disappointed with this vacuum and will never buy from Godfreys again as everything I have purchased from them is not good plus they do not stand to their word with regards to warranties and services. Very frustrating.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Got one use out of it.

published

Got one use out of it before it stopped sucking and doing sweet fa. Don't expect warranty to do you any favors as it's all your fault. First and last time i buy something from hoover. Beyond a joke. Great on the first try but after that nothing at all.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Leelee

LeeleeBunbury

  • 4 reviews

Hoover Action Powerhead

published

I was very happy with it for months but it just doesn’t have the power it had when we first got it. It blocks up easily too. It does work great with the small turbo head we purchased for an extra $30! Simply not worth what we paid for it. Disappointed.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Larissa

LarissaQuairading

  • 5 reviews

Great product

published

This vacuume has great suction power, but tends to get blocked up a bit but easy to fix.
The machince is light with moderate sound, eaay to move around hose dies tangle on occasion.
Normally used on carpert in to rooms chage heads an do wood flooring.
Machines dies pump a bit hot air out thou

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

MaggieMoo

MaggieMooSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Its OK

published

the canister is way too small - I live in a unit - and emptied it 5 times! the filter needed to be cleaned after one use. the hose kinks. the power head gets stuff wrapped around it - even a piece of paper curled around it.
the good things: its quiet.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

C.Online

C.OnlineLaunceston, TAS

  • 11 reviews

Has been great!

published

Has a great suction and I like the light on the nozzle. My only con to it is that the length of the cord is shorter than I’d like, I’m always changing PowerPoints to vacuum other areas. It also has a small container so doesn’t hold much and I have to stop to empty it more often than I’d like. I’m surprised I haven’t blown it up from overfilling it. It’s not the best on tiles or floorboards, but I don’t know if that’s a generic vacuum thing, blowing the debris backwards. The overall vacuum is great for a smaller house.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Suggestion for the manufacturers

published

I recently bought a Hoover Action Powerhead. It does a great job, but it catches on the doorways and corners when I am pulling it along like most vacuum cleaners. A real nuisance.. I have a suggestion for the manufacturers. What about designing one that has no edges sticking out, just a smooth surface from the hose to the beyond the wheels. like mudguards on a car. Make them from a softer plastic to protect skirting boards and corners that reach from the hose and curve around to just beyond the wheels. The wheels would be set in just like a car. This vacuum would be far more practical and easier to use because it would slide around the corners. Lets know what you think.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
MsScanna

MsScannaSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Biggest disappointment

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Gets clogged constantly

published

I would have done better with a $100 vacuum than this one. Forever trying unclogged everytime I vacuum.. I've only got a small house and this vacuum can't even cope with it. Very disappointed. I will not buy this brand again. I would not recommend this vacuum to anyone I know.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Deb

Deb

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Strong suction but a few issues...

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Shiva

ShivaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good vacuum cleaner

published

The Hoover action pets vacuum cleaner is very good on carpets. The handle is a bit heavy because of the power head. It is sometimes hard to maneuver because of the heavy and thick power head. A bit pricey but depends how long its life lasts. Finally, a good vacuum cleaner.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Bec

BecAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely love this vacuum.

published

This vacuum is amazing. With the vibrating power head it is able to lift up dirt and pet hair that has disappeared into the carpet, making it a more deeper clean. This vacuum can be used on all floor types and comes with attachments to use on lounges. Easy to move around, light and not too loud. A great product that I recommend to everyone.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Naomi M.

Naomi M.asked

Has any one ever had the power action head stop working it comes on and within 10secs in back off...

3 answers
antje
antje

Have you checked the powerhead for any obstructions like hair, carpet thread that can be caught up around the brushes etc. and carefully cut with scissors and pull debris out, check the underside of power head by removing screw and clean brushes and checking the belt drive is not broken if so replace it. Also check that the power head has clicked in properly to the extension arm.

Naomi M.
Naomi M.

Yep have done all of that

Rita E.
Rita E.

On two occasions when the powerhead hasn't fully clicked into place and not switched on at the handle.


Brenda W.

Brenda W.asked

Where do you put all filters

1 answer
antje
antje

There should be 2. Open the lid, where the dust bag sits and put the thick exhaust filter with corrugation in the slot on top. The inlet filter, larger and thin, clips into a bracket behind the dust bag. These should be cleaned with lukewarm water (no soap) every 6mths. let them dry for 24hrs before putting back in machine


Cheryll H.

Cheryll H.asked

I just baught a hoover action vaccum 5019 ph action it says you can adjust the height for diferent types of carpet how is this done

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.