??!
9 photos
Hoover HandiVac 14.4V Wet and Dry

Hoover HandiVac 14.4V Wet and Dry

CH968A, HH5010WD
3.0 from 44 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.0

44 reviews
5
(10)
4
(8)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Pet OwnerYes (0) · No (2)
  • Battery Life
    1.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Michelle  H.

Michelle H.

  • 2 reviews

Very dissatisfied

published

Bought for smaller areas with tiled floors bathroom, toilet & kitchen. Initially liked this for its size & simplicity great to grab & clean up multiple strands of hair especially in bathroom Unfortunately battery life limited (now dead), suction poor wouldn’t bother using on carpeted area absolutely useless there. I would like to purchase a similar product of better quality as it’s a very handy tool to have & small enough to tuck away out of site rather than getting my larger vacuum cleaner out but very dubious as to what to replace it with.

Purchased at Godfreys for A$88.09.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
pizzalover

pizzaloverGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

poor battery life makes it rather useless

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Ian W

Ian W

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good while it worked

published

Just out of the 2 years period and can't claim warranty. Worked for a good year, maybe year and a half.

Battery has completely died now. Item will have to be binned.

Purchased in February 2017 for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover HandiVac 14.4V Wet and Dry compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harry

HarryAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Dislike this product

published

From the day i went to the shops and purchased this handy vac i thought it was to good to be true and i was right its a total waste of my money. The product has the most unpowerful suction. I would not even recommend to any one i know.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Hot2Mack

Hot2Mackgeelong

  • 4 reviews

Great for the car

published

We have a big problem with tiny needle like leaves in out street every autumn and if they are wet they stick to your shoes and then all end up in the car - this has been super for sucking them up off the carpet. I got it specifically because it is a 'wet and dry' style vacuum. Its got enough power to suck em up and its pretty easy to empty too but its easier if I wait for them to dry. Battery like is OK, could be better but overall its been excellent.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Chris H

Chris HCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Very handy

published

I keep it in the kitchen. Quick to clean up any spill wet or dry. The extension gets in the corners. It's good for a run around in the sun room where the wood heater is & where the wood is kept. Suction is great. I just reach for it without even thinking about it. Have had it for a long time & hope it's one that will keep on going.

Date PurchasedJun 2009
JodiR

JodiRMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Decent

published

The suction is good for using on spills on the floors and especially a good vac for using in the car. The battery lasts almost long enough for me to vacuum my whole car, seats and floor mats thoroughly (it ran out when I had one last floor mat to vacuum) can get around the gear boot and handbrake with it too

Date PurchasedOct 2017
don radford

don radfordSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Hopeless battery life

published

I have bought 2 of these, the second a few years after the first one which I took to my bolthole. In due course its battery ffailed which was not pleasing but acceptable as replacement was on the web for $50 (not from Hoover). However, the second one which is a newer model with wet and dry has proved to be bad value as the battery has failed after maybe 3 years and the only source is the Hoover site at a ridiculous price.My suggestion - do not buy as they obviously have batteries with a poor life time.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Holly C

Holly CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

The suction could be a little stronger, but maybe I just think that because I have two fluffy cats and therefore a lot of cat hair to suck up. Has lasted well over the six months that I've had it.. Would definitely recommend, I bought one for my mum too!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover HandiVac 14.4V Wet and Dry compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anna Taylor

Anna TaylorRyde

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Loss of suction after 5 months of use

published

It used to work well but it is noticeable that the suction is not as good as how it was 5 months ago. I only use it once in a while in small areas in the lounge room and in the car as we have a bigger vacuum which we mainly use. It is easy to use, light-weight and not very noisy. It is a wet and dry vacuum but I haven't really tried using it with water.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
BrookRenwick

BrookRenwick

  • 2 reviews

Great for my car and carpet edges.

published

We bought this product about one month ago to use for car cleaning. We did not want to unpack the standard vacuum cleaner and plug it in via an extension chord just to vacuum the car. I have found that while it is only 14.4 volts, it is strong enough to suck dust and little pebbles [2mm] from the car floor.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
KateH21

KateH21QLD, 4500

  • 24 reviews
  • 4 likes

My Favourite Household Item

published

Received this a a christmas gift after hinting to santa that I needed an upgrade, as the old black and decker was slowly dying. Santa decided to get the biggest Voltage he could find and what a differebnce it makes. get about 10 minutes of use, but it's strong suction makes light work of kid mess and birdseed that would otherwise take over my house. Best thing is that the kids can operate this one themselves, so I'm needing to do it less and less. The frame/holder and tool storage is super handy so parts SHOULDN'T be lost on this model.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Vic B

Vic BBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Does a mediocre job

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Sabrina

SabrinaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Handy and works very well

published

This handy vacuum cleaner works well for picking up small debris when I'm not in the mood for a big clean. For a household with kids, it is handy for picking crumbs in the car, under the dining table or just little mess around the house. Requires little cleaning and maintenance.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Dr.ulna

Dr.ulnaGold coast

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

Requires long charge, and doesnt run for long

published

I probably won't recommend this for any serious use, it turns out that i need to charge it for almost 24 hours atimes, for just a few minutes run, i have abandoned the machine, and only use the window cleaner squeegee that came with it, that is the only item i found useful.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover HandiVac 14.4V Wet and Dry compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angel C

Angel CAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for cleaning cars, great for kids car mess!

published

The price for this Hoover vacuum is simply worth it. It is not pricy so anyone who’s looking for an affordable one that’s worth every penny. This is for you. The suction power of this handheld vacuum is good enough to get all the food crumbs left by my kids in our car. It is easy to remove the dirt collected as well after every car clean.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Velocitor1

Velocitor1Brisbane

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish

published

Great when i bought it, was a powerhouse. 6 months later it turned into a gutless machine that lasts 5 minutes and uses power all day and night charging and thats more power than charging a mobile phone constantly! I wouldnt have used it more than 25 times before it went bad.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Jess

JessNewcastle

  • 5 reviews

I love it!

published

I like cleaning and this is a must for me. It is handy, not big but quite strong. Perfect for the car clean and little area where it needs vacuum. I wash them after using. Easy to clean/ dry it. Never had an issue and I am very happy with it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
nlmummy

nlmummyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for little spills

published

With 2 young kids there are always little spills or crumbs to clean up, this is a very handy little handivac just for that without getting the big vacuum cleaner out. It's easy to use, a little bit heavy for it's size but easy to turn on and comes with handy attachments. The downside is that the battery life is very short and after every use it has to be recharged.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Davey

DaveyTasmania

  • 2 reviews

Designed For Failure

published
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

paul

paulasked

HandiVac HH5010WD

where can i buy the bettery to replace ln new zealand auckland

2 answers
Jill
Jill

Hi Paul, I found the following Battery on Ebay (Australia) http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Battery-For-Hoover-14-4V-HH5010WD-HandiVac-Wet-Dry-Handheld-Vacuum-Cleaner-OZ-/151370857625. They want $63 for it and personally I wouldn't spend that money on a battery for that item. You may be able to buy one of Ebay NZ??
Other than Ebay I would have no idea where to buy the battery.

Jill

Will W
Will W

Hi Paul, the only place I found is eBay but I think it doesn't worth it. I bought a Dyson v6 instead for $300, using it for 18 months and it works flawless.

Dods-Brooks

Dods-Brooksasked

HandiVac 14.4V Wet and Dry

Can one buy the heap filter and where?

1 answer
Beaky
Beaky

Hi Dods-Brooks I'm so sorry for the delay in replying but you would not believe the last couple of months I've had. I'm unable to answer your question because as yet I haven't needed to replace anything on my HandiVac. I take it that you have been back to your point of purchase? Perhaps go online and check out the Website for addresses for replacement parts etc.
I must reiterate though, that it has to be one of the best little HandiVacs I've ever purchased and the power has not diminished one little bit since owning it. A little hint for people - With my HandiVac and my normal household Vacuum Cleaner, I always put some of my Body Shop, White Musk Oil Perfume on my filters so that as I vacuum, I also get a nice fresh smell left behind. Once again, I'm sorry I couldn't be of more help.

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.