??!
1 photo
Hoover Smart R1 T4012

Hoover Smart R1 T4012

2.8 from 69 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(17)
(10)
(6)
(25)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (2)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (2)


Suzi

SuziWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great value

published

We have a home with several dogs and a cat on a farm. We have old linoleum and old carpet surfaces. My new Hoover Smart Vacuum has great suction and is easy to use. I was surprised how well it works while such a low price! Why spend more for things you don't need?

Purchased in June 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Tuesday U.

Tuesday U.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Sold a dud by salesman

published

Was sold at Godfreys by salesman. I needed vacuum for big dusty house with lot of dog hair. I have to empty and clean everytime use. Major flaw no handle.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Tristan Evans

Tristan Evans

  • 3 reviews

Great vacuum for the price

published

Great little vacuum for the price, light and mobile with a good strong hose. The bagless chamber is a little small but I've had no issues with my vacuum cleaner and it's good for the car or getting under beds.

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfrey's for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Raymond

RaymondMount Morgan Queensland Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hoover smart R1 bagged vacuum? Be smart Don't buy it

published

To date, this is the Worst vacuum cleaner I ever bought I am replacing bags when they are barely 20% full I have 3 dogs 1 large mixed breed 1 Chihuahua 1 Yorkshire terrier and suction is Bad, full suction is barely half of an old Volta I had for years. It takes far longer to clean house and now the wife has started Dialysis has a Pacemaker/Defibrillator and waiting for another Shoulder and Knee replacement so is unable to much so I am to Clean house, Washing etc look after gardens, Mow the Yard and do Renovations on top of it all. I'm on disability So I need things to work properly though unfortunately not the Hoover Smart R1 Bagged Vacuum cleaner I'll never buy another Hoover

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Jay

Jay

  • 10 reviews

Value for Money

published

Went to Godfreys to purchase a vacuum cleaner within the under $100 budget. The staff recommended Hoover Smart. It worked well for the first month. After that there seems to be some problem with the suction.

Editing my review, after the suction stopped working, I opened the machine and removed all the dirt.
I reckon something was stuck. Working well again.

Purchased in December 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers

travelmate37

travelmate37Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Time will tell

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

I love it

published

Best vacuum ever, had to turn it down as it sucked too hard. 6 yrs old so far and gets used daily.
Only needs to be cleaned out once a fortnight.

I think the people who complain it fills up before they complete the job might need to consider using it more often or making less mess. Seriously if the thing is full that's a lot of dust to have on your floor before deciding to clean up..

Date PurchasedMar 2012

Lil K

Lil KBallarat

  • 6 reviews

Compact

published

Handy compact vac for a small home or unit. Not suited to a huge house. Had for 4 weeks now, suction very good so far. Portable and light but doesn’t like to follow and tips very easy. If patient and take time this will not occur. Overall good value for money.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Mandy

MandyMittagong

  • 2 reviews

Great robust vacuum

published

No objective given for this great vacuum. Lightweight, easy to store and very impressed with the suction. Happy also with the costing and with 2 year guarantee. Highly recommended for houses.... its a great unit. Have no problems with tipping over...easy to clean including the filter not worried about doing it. Mx

Date PurchasedJul 2018
malcolm

malcolmGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

it sucks

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Boo

Boo

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

High maintainance filters

published

Just purchased this vac and happy with the performance and easy to use but wish I had known the filters need cleaning after each use, the sales person did not mention that, our old vacuum was a dyson that only needed filters to be washed periodically, power lead could be longer too

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Liam J

Liam JSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap vacuum, but doesn't last.

published

This vacuum is great for small homeowners who don't want to spend large amounts on vacuums. However, I don't think it is suited for large homes. It is annoying having to walk around unplugging and plugging back in again. The vacuum also loses suction after a while. Otherwise, it is a good vacuum.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Steph

StephPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vacuum

published

Purchased it a couple of weeks ago and it works extremely well. It sucks up all of our dogs hair that our previous vacuum cleaner couldn't deal with. It's quite loud, but what can you expect from a vacuum. Our house is reasonably big and the Hoover, deals with it well.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

RGC

RGCadelaide

  • 5 reviews

Good Vacuum cleaner

published

This is a well priced vacuum cleaner which I have found to be quite suitable for all domestic cleaning activities. It has plenty of suction and performs well on all surfaces. It is fairly light to move around the house and comes with plenty of attachments for all of the different cleaning jobs required.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
KD

KD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Vacuum Cleaner

published

Purchased this from Godfreys and have been reasonably satisfied with the performance of this vacuum cleaner. It has powerful suction and works equally well on carpet as well as on timber or tiles. What is missing is a handle which sometimes makes the navigation of the unit little bothersome. Replacement bags are readily available at Godfreys too.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Harry FoodTech

Harry FoodTechAuckland

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good, could do with a handle

published

Bought this from Godfrey's about a year ago, great suction, good effect on most surfaces, the bags are expensive but a real pain when needing to lift it to vacuum something high. The bags are also a bit expensive, and fill up quite quickly. I'm meant to write fifty words or so..

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Sonjalive

SonjaliveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

good hoover

published

i do love my hoover. it has a turbo head which i higly recommend $50. its light ,handels rough treatment and cathairs. not as strong as the dearer vacums but quite addequate easy to grab. does great on all floors. if i dont win a better vacum i will get another hoover and turbo head

Date PurchasedJan 2012

Amzperth

AmzperthPerth

  • 6 reviews

Best vacuum we’ve had

published

Our vacuum is about 3 years old now and has never skipped a beat. We have kids, cats, dogs and a whole lotta carpet (not out of choice) so it gets used often. All the attachments work well and the clip on the hose is handy. Really good value for money.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

theresa

theresaVictoria

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Was great, but not for cleaning the vacuum itself

published

Bought this 2 years ago at GODFREYS. They were cheap and was really doing good. Great suction power and performance. They are light weight and easy to carry and manuever, but theyre a little bit noisy. I guess it is hard to find a vacuum that is quiet..lol! Everything was great with this vacuum not until we realized that it is not getting all the dust anymore and we realized because the Telescoping Wand Assembly and the Power Nozzle Assembly are full of hair and dust. We managed to clean the Power Nozzle Assembly but not the Telescoping Wand Assembly. We send them to GODFREYS but they didnt really clean it. From then, it is not suctioning well anymore. I hope the Telescoping Wand Assembly is easy to clean as well so it can last long.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Missy R

Missy R

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

A great little vacuum!

published

It's light and easy to manouvre. Very happy with it's capabilities, I use on carpet and wood floors and it does a great job. We have a lot of sand at our place and there is no issues with the vacuum sucking it up. Bags are great and easy to buy. I use it to clean the car all the time and the little tools are great. Only wish is that tools could be attached to the vacuum cleaner - as i always lose them!!

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Cathy A.

Cathy A.asked

My parents have a Hoover All Rounder T4012. They didnt know about the filters and collection chamber in the main barrel. Long story, short - I discovered this and emptied it and cleaned the grey sponge filter. They dont have the manual. I need to know how to put it back together properly. Thanks

No answers

Ronnie A.

Ronnie A.asked

The red light keeps flickering on when vacuuming and the motoring very hot.

1 answer
travelmate37
travelmate37

Without knowing how long you've had the unit, I would suggest cleaning the filter pad near the motor unit. If it becomes blocked, the engine will overheat and can surge (power). Also ensure the main chamber is empty and clean.


Julie

Julieasked

How do I get the plastic cone out?

2 answers
Doesn't Suck
Doesn't Suck

If it is the one inside where the dust/dirt goes, you rotate the cone and pull it out. It does run up against the grey sponge filter. Make sure you keep that dust free also. If you wash the grey sponge make sure it is dry before it you put it back in. Hope this help!

Julie
Julie

Thank you sooooo much! : ))) A "friend" sold it to me (without the instruction manual) and worked OK for a while but ended up not sucking up a thing. All I had been doing was emptying the basic part and wondered why not much stuff came out. I had no idea about that cone thing, and when I read of it, I wasn't game to get it out in case it broke. I got it out and was gob-smacked by the amount of dust/fluff that was embedded into it! Can't wait to try it when the grey sponge is dry by tomorrow I hope. BTW There's another thing that looks like a filter with white fabric looking stuff, behind a black plastic frame thingy. Do I need to clean this too? If so, how do I get it out?


Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.