??!
1 photo
Hoover Smart R1 T4012

Hoover Smart R1 T4012 (page 2 of 4)

2.7 from 76 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (7)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (4) · No (5)
Previous
Next
RGC

RGCadelaide

  • 5 reviews

Good Vacuum cleaner

published

This is a well priced vacuum cleaner which I have found to be quite suitable for all domestic cleaning activities. It has plenty of suction and performs well on all surfaces. It is fairly light to move around the house and comes with plenty of attachments for all of the different cleaning jobs required.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
KD

KD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Vacuum Cleaner

published

Purchased this from Godfreys and have been reasonably satisfied with the performance of this vacuum cleaner. It has powerful suction and works equally well on carpet as well as on timber or tiles. What is missing is a handle which sometimes makes the navigation of the unit little bothersome. Replacement bags are readily available at Godfreys too.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Harry FoodTech

Harry FoodTechAuckland

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good, could do with a handle

published

Bought this from Godfrey's about a year ago, great suction, good effect on most surfaces, the bags are expensive but a real pain when needing to lift it to vacuum something high. The bags are also a bit expensive, and fill up quite quickly. I'm meant to write fifty words or so..

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Smart R1 T4012 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonjalive

SonjaliveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

good hoover

published

i do love my hoover. it has a turbo head which i higly recommend $50. its light ,handels rough treatment and cathairs. not as strong as the dearer vacums but quite addequate easy to grab. does great on all floors. if i dont win a better vacum i will get another hoover and turbo head

Date PurchasedJan 2012
Amzperth

AmzperthPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best vacuum we’ve had

published

Our vacuum is about 3 years old now and has never skipped a beat. We have kids, cats, dogs and a whole lotta carpet (not out of choice) so it gets used often. All the attachments work well and the clip on the hose is handy. Really good value for money.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
theresa

theresaVictoria

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Was great, but not for cleaning the vacuum itself

published

Bought this 2 years ago at GODFREYS. They were cheap and was really doing good. Great suction power and performance. They are light weight and easy to carry and manuever, but theyre a little bit noisy. I guess it is hard to find a vacuum that is quiet..lol! Everything was great with this vacuum not until we realized that it is not getting all the dust anymore and we realized because the Telescoping Wand Assembly and the Power Nozzle Assembly are full of hair and dust. We managed to clean the Power Nozzle Assembly but not the Telescoping Wand Assembly. We send them to GODFREYS but they didnt really clean it. From then, it is not suctioning well anymore. I hope the Telescoping Wand Assembly is easy to clean as well so it can last long.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Missy R

Missy R

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

A great little vacuum!

published

It's light and easy to manouvre. Very happy with it's capabilities, I use on carpet and wood floors and it does a great job. We have a lot of sand at our place and there is no issues with the vacuum sucking it up. Bags are great and easy to buy. I use it to clean the car all the time and the little tools are great. Only wish is that tools could be attached to the vacuum cleaner - as i always lose them!!

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Jess

JessMargaret River

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love It

published

Perfect lightweight model and great for getting right into the carpet to get the dog hair and dirt/dust out! Absolutely love it! I use mine up to 3 times a week. Make sure you keep on top of keeping the filters clean! I wash mine with hot soapy water once a month to get a good clean.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Mez

MezHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

A great little cleaner

published

My old vacuum cleaner motor burned out, so I went to Godfrey at east maitland. They recommended the Hoover Smart, so I bought it. It's got great suction power, got heaps of grit and dust the old Dyson missed. It's bagless, which I prefer, I take the removable dust canister outside to empty, no problems. I much prefer it to my old one, half the price, and Hoover has been making vacuum cleaners for a very long time, so they should know how to build one. I'm very pleased I bought it and I phoned Godfreys to say thank you

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Smart R1 T4012 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cristian Serban

Cristian Serban

  • 3 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great Product!

published

We have bought this vacuum 2 years ago from Godfreys .We wanted to get the Miele but the lady there convinced us to get this one instead, the price was similar but apparently that model of Miele vacuums were made in China so we went for the Hoover , and to be honest we do not regret it at all, it is a great Vacuum, suction is great and there are no problems with it!!

Date PurchasedSept 2015
val

valIngleburn

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Its Good!

published

When I bought it I am about to return it because it has a bad review, but after using it for 6 months now, it is a good vacuum. Suction is very good comparable to dyson. It cleans very well, we use it on our living room, bed rooms and on my car, the results are nice, very clean and when I bought it is less than 300 bucks. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Sarah Smith

Sarah SmithMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product under $300!

published

Good product under $300 dollars from godfreys it vacuums well down side is sfter every use almost i have to pull out all the stuff that gets stuck inside and it can get loud at times other than that its good if you have a small place to clean up.

Date PurchasedJune 2014
Muriel B

Muriel B

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hoovering along

published

The vaccum gets the job done,it is reasonably light,I wouldn't call any vacuum quiet, I have carpet through my two bedroom unit ,tiled floors in other areas.I was not happy with the suction head so took it back was charged another fifty dollars.That was from Godfrey's 18 months ago. It gets the job done

Date PurchasedJan 2016
SamC

SamCMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Value for Money

published

I'm quite happy with the performance of this vacuum. I think for the price, it does the job well. I have black carpet and can see everything on it. This vacuum cleans it up well and gets rid of short dog hairs too. I did have trouble at one point and thought I would have to replace it. However, after reading some reviews I realised that I hadn't cleaned it properly when pulling it apart and noticed that a piece of plastic I had vacuumed up was blocking a part of the suction. I now make sure that I empty it after each full house vacuum and pull it apart to make sure there aren't any blockages.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
giles

gilesIpswich

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Quality Hoover at a cost of takeaway!!

published

If you need a functioning Hoover that has powerful suction and not noisy then try the Smart Hoover that has speedy wheels for quickness but yet compact with high suction. Decided to buy for the car because it was so small and cheap but now use it in the house as our old one that was very expensive was too heavy and the suction didn't appear to be so fantastic as this little speedy!!

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Smart R1 T4012 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rubbish!!

published

We got this from Godfreys saying it was a rely good product, it has done the work but only after 2 year's the motor has burnt out and that was only using it for 18 of those 24 months ,using it once a week! I would not recommend this vacuum cleaner to any one, I thought that Hoover was suppose to be a top brand.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Jtrain

JtrainAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Wouldnt give it away USELESS

published

This thing needs a disassemble & all filters & parts thoroughly cleaned for every use. Did the whole thorough clean of it yesterday, I then vacuumed the tiled floor for 5 mins & it wasnt picking anything up so i put my hand over end of pipe & on max there was zero suction. Should be recalled because its total junk. Had a bagged hoover once before that wasnt great, but this thing is pure garbage.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Deano

DeanoPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rubbish

published

Had this vacuum cleaner for 3 month. Absolutely bucket of rubbish. Does not pick up fluff, cotton or my girls hair from carpet. Really got conned by the salesman at Godfreys stating it was one of their best sellers!!!!!! What a joke.... Under any circumstances do not buy. Don't even accept if free it will do your head in.......

Date PurchasedMay 2016

I agree with all the other reviews, this cleaner does not pick up dust, I can see the dust

published

I fully agree with all the problems other customers have had with this machine, very disappointed with it, respectfully; Hoover you should not sell bagless cleaners if you know they don't do the job they are meant to do. I only have a small unit to vacuum; I would hate to try to clean a large house with it.

Date PurchasedJune 2015

Worst vacuum ever

published

Everything said about this vacuum is true, does not pick up anything, tube constantly falls out, extension cord is very short. Its almost like you vacuum and then have to turn around and do it again. It picks up very little and its not like I even have carpet. All wood floors with one rug. Trying to complain to Godfreys is pointless...a generic response from their homepage and then your comment is deleted. Awful awful cleaner, do not buy this or anything from Godfreys.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Page 2 of 4
See all Hoover Smart R1 T4012 reviews

Questions & Answers

Carolyn P

Carolyn Pasked

Could you please let me know what year this model was first manufactured?

2 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Carolyn,
Is this a machine you have? If so, can you please let me know your serial number of your machine?
If not, please advise and we can follow up.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Carolyn,
This machine was first released 06/2012.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Cathy A.

Cathy A.asked

My parents have a Hoover All Rounder T4012. They didnt know about the filters and collection chamber in the main barrel. Long story, short - I discovered this and emptied it and cleaned the grey sponge filter. They dont have the manual. I need to know how to put it back together properly. Thanks

No answers
Ronnie A.

Ronnie A.asked

The red light keeps flickering on when vacuuming and the motoring very hot.

1 answer
travelmate37
travelmate37

Without knowing how long you've had the unit, I would suggest cleaning the filter pad near the motor unit. If it becomes blocked, the engine will overheat and can surge (power). Also ensure the main chamber is empty and clean.

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $199.00
Bin Capacity2 L
HEPA FilterYes
TypeBagless
Cord Length6.5 m
Power1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJune 2012
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.