1 photo
Hoover Smart R1 T4012

Hoover Smart R1 T4012

2.7 from 76 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Hoover

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Pet OwnerYes (0) · No (2)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (1)
Previous
Next
Tristan Evans
Tristan Evans
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vacuum for the price

published

Great little vacuum for the price, light and mobile with a good strong hose. The bagless chamber is a little small but I've had no issues with my vacuum cleaner and it's good for the car or getting under beds.

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfrey's for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jay
Jay
  • 10 reviews

Value for Money

published

Went to Godfreys to purchase a vacuum cleaner within the under $100 budget. The staff recommended Hoover Smart. It worked well for the first month. After that there seems to be some problem with the suction.

Editing my review, after the suction stopped working, I opened the machine and removed all the dirt.
I reckon something was stuck. Working well again.

Purchased in December 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lil K
Lil KBallarat
  • 6 reviews

Compact

published

Handy compact vac for a small home or unit. Not suited to a huge house. Had for 4 weeks now, suction very good so far. Portable and light but doesn’t like to follow and tips very easy. If patient and take time this will not occur. Overall good value for money.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Smart R1 T4012 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steph
StephPerth
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vacuum

published

Purchased it a couple of weeks ago and it works extremely well. It sucks up all of our dogs hair that our previous vacuum cleaner couldn't deal with. It's quite loud, but what can you expect from a vacuum. Our house is reasonably big and the Hoover, deals with it well.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
RGC
RGCadelaide
  • 5 reviews

Good Vacuum cleaner

published

This is a well priced vacuum cleaner which I have found to be quite suitable for all domestic cleaning activities. It has plenty of suction and performs well on all surfaces. It is fairly light to move around the house and comes with plenty of attachments for all of the different cleaning jobs required.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
KD
KD
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Vacuum Cleaner

published

Purchased this from Godfreys and have been reasonably satisfied with the performance of this vacuum cleaner. It has powerful suction and works equally well on carpet as well as on timber or tiles. What is missing is a handle which sometimes makes the navigation of the unit little bothersome. Replacement bags are readily available at Godfreys too.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Sonjalive
SonjaliveSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

good hoover

published

i do love my hoover. it has a turbo head which i higly recommend $50. its light ,handels rough treatment and cathairs. not as strong as the dearer vacums but quite addequate easy to grab. does great on all floors. if i dont win a better vacum i will get another hoover and turbo head

Date PurchasedJan 2012
val
valIngleburn
  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Its Good!

published

When I bought it I am about to return it because it has a bad review, but after using it for 6 months now, it is a good vacuum. Suction is very good comparable to dyson. It cleans very well, we use it on our living room, bed rooms and on my car, the results are nice, very clean and when I bought it is less than 300 bucks. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Muriel B
Muriel B
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hoovering along

published

The vaccum gets the job done,it is reasonably light,I wouldn't call any vacuum quiet, I have carpet through my two bedroom unit ,tiled floors in other areas.I was not happy with the suction head so took it back was charged another fifty dollars.That was from Godfrey's 18 months ago. It gets the job done

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Smart R1 T4012 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SamC
SamCMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Value for Money

published

I'm quite happy with the performance of this vacuum. I think for the price, it does the job well. I have black carpet and can see everything on it. This vacuum cleans it up well and gets rid of short dog hairs too. I did have trouble at one point and thought I would have to replace it. However, after reading some reviews I realised that I hadn't cleaned it properly when pulling it apart and noticed that a piece of plastic I had vacuumed up was blocking a part of the suction. I now make sure that I empty it after each full house vacuum and pull it apart to make sure there aren't any blockages.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
giles
gilesIpswich
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Quality Hoover at a cost of takeaway!!

published

If you need a functioning Hoover that has powerful suction and not noisy then try the Smart Hoover that has speedy wheels for quickness but yet compact with high suction. Decided to buy for the car because it was so small and cheap but now use it in the house as our old one that was very expensive was too heavy and the suction didn't appear to be so fantastic as this little speedy!!

Hoover Smart Bagged

published

Recently purchased a bagged Hoover Smart, my complaint is that where the nozzle goes into the metal part there is no clip to hold it in and after using for a while it just slips out!!! Why no locking in device ?????? It would make things so much easier and quicker if i didn't have to keep stopping and pushing it back in !!

Tenille
TenillePerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Needs regular cleaning but great suction

published

I have had this bagless vacuum for nearly 2 years and it still works perfectly. The filter does need regular cleaning and if you have pets you need to empty the cone at least once during use. It fills up quickly. But for a vacuum that still has great suction for such a small price, I am so impressed. I will definitely buy another one when the time comes.
Inexpensive, great suction, easy maneuverability
Needs very regular cleaning

Tenille
Tenille

Just checking in a year later to say that the vacuum cleaner is still working just as well as ever!

tariq
tariqadelaide

good for the price

published

We didnt want to spend too much money on Dyson. Salesman recommended us mid range hoover bag vaccum cleaner with its turbo head. Its almost 2 years suction is still pretty good. Need to change the bag regularly as it could decrease the suction. I use the acessory for my car , does the decent job cleaning it. Turbo head is ok for cleaning but very hard to clean the turbo head as hair gets entangled in the roll brush, its a nightmare cleaning it.Original Hoover head is not worth it. the need to modify the design to have a handle for carryng it. Overall happy with it.
good for midrange cost vaccum cleaner. Does descent job
Turbo brush definitely needs modification in desgn as its a night mare to clean it. No handle for carrying.

avidinator
avidinatorGold Coast
  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good Vac

published

I was "sold" this vac about 9 months ago by Godfreys. I did check the reviews after buying and I was really scared! But so far so good! The suction is great.It is light and compact! My problems with this machine are: loose handles, and noise! and recently the engine makes a funny noise it's like something is broken inside!!
Strong suction, light, easy move around and change bags
Noise, loose handles

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Smart R1 T4012 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Eddie C.
Eddie C.asked

how to connect crevice tool and upholstery brush

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Eddie,
The tooling for this machine can be attached to the handle on the hose or the end of the rod.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

David
Davidasked

Please suppy dimentions of Hoover smart vacuum cleaner.
Cheers David

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi David,
The dimensions of the barrel of this machine are: H 25cm, W 35cm, L 45cm and weight 9.2kg.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Carolyn P
Carolyn Pasked

Could you please let me know what year this model was first manufactured?

2 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Carolyn,
Is this a machine you have? If so, can you please let me know your serial number of your machine?
If not, please advise and we can follow up.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Carolyn,
This machine was first released 06/2012.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

See all Hoover Smart R1 T4012 questions

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $199.00
Bin Capacity2 L
HEPA FilterYes
TypeBagless
Cord Length6.5 m
Power1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJune 2012
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.