??!
2 photos
Hoover Tornado VCM43B1

Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 (page 2 of 3)

3.6 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Emj

EmjDugandan qld

  • 9 reviews

Not to bad

published

The suction on this little vacuum is unbelievable its great but in saying that the head on it it is so light when you are vacuuming you push forward and it lifts up off the floor its really annoying ive got a 2 bedroom apartment so it does the job i like the idea of it being bagless makes it easier i wish the power cord was abit longer on it but for $100 you get what you pay for.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Clicky

ClickyBrighton

  • 4 reviews

Powerful Little Vac

published

This is just basic vacuum and pretty cheap on special too ($99) I think they have given it an appropriate name in "Tornado" because when you tun it on it really screams and it creates a spinning dust effect as the bowl fills up. It is easy to quickly empty but you need to wash the filter out from time to time or it loses effectiveness and then you need to thoroughly dry it. The whole process took over 24 hours last time before it felt dry enough to put back in.
This is a good cheap vacuum, not the best ever but a good machine

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Tejume

TejumeGreenway

  • 6 reviews

Good for the price on sale

published

I bought this last year , with price in mind , it was a impulse buy when a sale was going on in Godfreys .
they are good for the sale price, but not sure how long would they last , do not clean as good as dyson but good enough for 1 bed apartment .

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wal

WalRedcliffe

Fair price at $99

published

First impression is that it's quieter than a $49 model from K-Mart but only time will tell how long that lasts.
However, the hose and the cord are too short and the cord gets worryingly warm with just 20 mins use !
But the more annoying gripe is the brush attachment which is little more than a throw away toy. Pathetic.
This is no $299 machine reduced to $99. It's a $99 machine at most.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Dianne

Diannemaroochydore

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Little Tornado

published

Purchased the Hoover Tornado last week as a spare vacuum for upstairs, we have a dyson downstairs, we are so impressed by this vacuum I could even go as far as saying better than our dyson. We purchased this 1800w Motor vac for $99 from Godfreys it was reduced by $200, the suction is fantastic, not even as noisy as our dyson, picks up dirt it doesn't push it away like the dyson does sometimes, the brush head is long enough for our hard floors so it wont scratch, the only issue I would have is the lead isn't as long as the dyson I have to keep moving it to another socket. 1 years warranty and Godfreys deal with the warranty. Very impressive for the price. Recommend.

Ash

AshCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Does what it says it will

published

When I moved into an apartment with carpet instead of wood floors, I needed a vacuum but I was pretty broke after paying bond etc on the new rental. So I grabbed this for $99 from Godfrey's. It's quite easy to manoeuvre around, has good suction, and is easy to empty. All in all, it does what it says it would do! Also works well on the kitchen tiles in lieu of sweeping. I've only had it for three months so can't comment on lifespan, I hope it lasts, but overall it's a good affordable machine.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Waterwelon

Waterwelonmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

mediocre

published

bought this on special (as advertised - 99aud). it's very loud, suction is fair? find that i have to run over the same spot twice to pick up fluff. I have long hair and noticed the hair gets caught in the "mini" wheels in the rectangular suction part...I find the wheels unnecessary they serve no function and it's a pain getting the hair out (can't remove all of it). does better on tiles.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
LisaP68

LisaP68Illawarra, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Quite powerful

published

The suction of this vacuum is so powerful I have to drag it along the carpet! There's no need to buy dust collection bags, you just empty & clean the barrel. My only complaint is that if it gets too hot with prolonged use or it's a really hot day, it shuts off!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Arun

ArunSchofields, New South Wales

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Surprisingly the best one in its range i have owned thus far!

published

This hoover was a blind buy from Godfreys whilst on a sale. This one replaced an Electrolux that we had and which costed more than 2-3 times the price. it has been more than a year now and the Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 has never failed. The suction is amazing with the adjustable knob, and very sturdy build. I have used this quiet roughly to be honest and is still is excellent condition. Definitely recommend one of these buys. You simply cannot go wrong for the value, and you'll be surprised how better they are than the larger brands.

One downside: It only comes with 2 fitting heads.
Again remember, for the price, its great value

My next one would definitely be one of these again.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christie

ChristiePerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Great Vacuum

published

I bought the Hoover vacuum aboyt 18 months ago i must say ut has served its purpose well. The power head is a bit clumsy and very heavy so that is a bit of a problem other than that it leaves my floor clean and dust free. It is very easy to empty and clean out.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Alana

Alana

  • 4 reviews

Ok

published

Ok so when I first brought it was great had good suction no issues at all but about say nearly 2 months after I brought it decide to run poor auction four on vacuum got stuck don't know how or why need to get a new phone me and the rotator park is crap. Very very very bad sickroom without normal foot don't even use it any more as dint clean tiles at all.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
TrentApK

TrentApKGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 62 reviews
  • 18 likes

Crap

published

So a friend had this vacuum and I went to use it. No suction what so ever. It was loud too. I was told or it may need emptying looked at the barrel and it was empty. Looked for blockages there were non. Turned it on again same result no suction. Went and got my did on vac from home and used that instead.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Rachel

RachelBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic

published

I'm so gald my daughter showed me this. Our floors have never looked any cleaner. We have carpet and tiles it working so good on both every time I use it I'm amazed by how much is in there. Easy to use quite and as different sets I would tell people to get this it was a good price I saved $200 as it was on sale

Date PurchasedSept 2017
1shot

1shotSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good unit for under $100

published

The build feels quality and the unit clips together quite nicely, compared to our last $99 unit. The variable suction was a bonus. Great on carpet and hard floors, one button to get the storage off and another to empty. Have not cleaned filters yet but with any bagless you need to keep them in good condition or the vacuum will lose suction. 1 week in and it is a good unit, impressed, and happy with purchase. Have ordered a tubo head so will update when that arrives ($25 off ebay) compared to $90 from Godfreys. ☆UPDATE: Been using the machine with turbo head now for a month and could not be happier. Easy to empty, suction is excellent, machine is solid.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Alex K

Alex KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good price for an outstanding vacuum!!!

published

This vacuum was bought as an extra for downstairs since being pregnant it was getting hard to lo the Dyson up and down so we bought this on a special and cannot believe how great it works! The suction is incredible the same if not better than our Dyson! I was really surprised as we had bought Hoover’s in the past that weren’t so great but this one is amazing! And it’s also very light to move around!
Just wish the cord for the power point was a bit longer so I don’t need an extension but other than that 100% happiness!

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vono

Vono

  • 3 reviews

The best thing ever

published

I am happy with the performance as the suction is excellent. I find it cleans good and picks up most of the dust from the carpet or floor. I find it to be the best thing for cleaning a house. It's easy to move and with the turbo plus swivel head it's so good. Can't live without it. Just perfect for our household.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
kylie

kyliePink, Ohio

  • 23 reviews
  • 7 likes

Loving my Vac

published

I luv my Vac it's light n easy to pull around and allergy free It has a strong power head and runs over my carpet so easy and even on the wet eariers and picks up everything I can't believe how much dirt came out of my carpets !! ZoomZoom

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Keith

KeithSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Good value

published

Bought this for my daughter as a reasonable quality replacement for her previous one. It is definitely value for money. So much so that I'm going to be buying another for myself for our holiday home. It is easy (aka light and convenient) to use and definitely does the job.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
MJ and Tom

MJ and Tom

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing Cleaning

published

Great performance in suction, and performance.
It is quite easy to maneuver, but on the other hand is not that silent (like many VCs)
I would recommend having a powered brush head, it helped !!!
The Bagless is great and the powerful motor provides great suction, again I used a power turbo head which helped a lot.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
ZES

ZES

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good value for money

published

This is a great vacuum cleaner. I got it on special from Godfrey's for $99 (save $199). It has good suction and works well on tiles and carpet. It's a little noisy and the other negative is that it's quite hard to move on carpet as it feels a bit heavy due to the suction. It's light to carry and overall q great buy. It suits my 3 bedroom home.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Page 2 of 3
See all Hoover Tornado VCM43B1 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharon D

Sharon Dasked

Hi, I was cleaning the cone filter and the silver part came away from the rest of the cone filter. Is this suppose to detach from the filter? Tried to put it back together, but it won't stay on. Can see that theres little lugs that match up? Any help would be appreciated, Thanks Sharon

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Sharon,
We have spoken to our service team who have advised that you should be able to reattach and that you will need to follow/match marked interactions on dust container to assemble it properly. If you are having issues, please take it into your nearest Godfreys store for assistance.
Good luck!
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Geoff

Geoffasked

Hello good afternoon. I purchased a Hoover Toronto 1800W in June 2019 . Today being the 1st of November 2020 the vacuum has blown up and has stopped working - is this product faulty ? I did think this would last longer - my email is geoffvlaar@outlook.com

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Geoff,
We are sorry to hear of what has happened with your machine.
The machine will need to be booked in through your nearest store, with proof of purchase, to be inspected further an to determine the cause.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Omer

Omerasked

Hi!
What are the rate vacuum performance by airflow and suction?
Regards

2 answers
Alex K
Alex K

I’d rate a 4/5, it is very powerful but could always be better!

kylie
kylie

Hi I rate it 100% the suction is so good and airflow is great to Its allergy free so no sneezing ect and really easy to clean. I hope this helps you with your question

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $299.00
Bin Capacity1.6 L
HEPA FilterYes
TypeBagless
Cord Length4.6 m
Power1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9326491590860

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.