??!
3 photos
Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac

Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac

2.9 from 62 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (9)
  • Pet OwnerYes (7) · No (2)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (8)
Previous
Next
Jo H.

Jo H.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not Hoover’s finest appliance

published

Looks great poor suction sent as replacement for much loved Ultra Performer.
Hand vac hard to use nozzle at the back of unit so doesn’t get into corners.
Very disappointed.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bad product

Bad productGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

No good.

published

I am sorry to give such a bad review of this but this thing would not pull the skin off a rice pudding. If you want this for dog or cat hair don't buy it. And the hand held part. Totally useless for anything. It may be ok for small jobs but I don't think so. Worst purchase I have ever made. Thankfully I still have the old vac. It may be old and falling apart but it is still 1000% better than this thing.

Purchased in September 2020 at Godfreys for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ChrisL

ChrisLMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Very poor design. Don’t waste your money !!!!

published

Am on my third machine. Very poorly designed. Initially purchased 2017. Died soon after purchase. Took many weeks to get assessed received new machine. Then April 2108 roller stopped working. Received new power head. Now will only work If going straight not to the right. Saw review Carl wrote which indicated wiring can get worn out. This seems to be the case in my experience with this machine. Have barely used over the past year as I purchased LG upright vacuum. So have definitely NOT over used machine. Only redeeming feature is the light.
Wiring needs to be better protected. But would definitely NOT recommend this machine. Really annoyed that I wasted $300.

Purchased in January 2017 at Godfreys for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Prashant D.

Prashant D.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst StickVac in the market. Replaced Motorhead

published

I have been using this for just over an year and believe me I have replaced motorised Power head 2 times (1 Original and 1 more) and its broken again. So I have been asked to replace the power head again as there is no warranty. Unbelievable!!
Faulty design.

Battery life is good! Easy to use and does the job. But can't spend %50 after every 3 months on $200 vaccumm

Regards,
Prashant

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Carl

CarlGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

From good to inconveniently bad

published

I've had this vac for over 2 years and in that time, the head has been replaced twice! It's a faulty design. The wires that travel to the head become severed after a lot of use. Now that's it's out of warranty, the only solution i could find to prevent this from happening again is to tape the head to the stick in order to stop it from rotating..this is not ideal.
Secondly, the battery life becomes depleted to the point where it's no longer usable. Godfreys suggest replacing the entire motorised vac! Ridiculous and a waste.
I suggest you buy one like the ryobi or bosch that has a removable battery.

Purchased in October 2017 at Godfreys for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Carl
Carl
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill P.

Bill P.Sydney, NSW

Dont buy one.

published

Using on 2 x small low profile carpeted rooms. 2 x wooden floors and 1 x tiled section. 6 mths old and roller stopped again. Would be happy for a refund. Flimsy product and poor performance.

Purchased in November 2019 at Godfrey Blacktown for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
I.H-C

I.H-CPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Junk after 6 months

published

When I first bought the Hoover it was fantastic. Lightweight, easy to use, and it did a good job. I was very happy with my purchase.

Fast forward 6 months, and it is completely useless and won't pick up anything. $300 waste of money.

I bought it in July 2019, it's now March of 2020 and it's been junk for a while.

If you buy it, it'll start off well and then progressively get worse to the point of being unserviceable. Save your money and get something that'll last

Purchased at Godfreys Physical Stores for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SMcB

SMcBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Waste of money

published

Poor suction
Hard to empty
Can't get into corners
Just pushes dirt around
Dumps what it has sucked up somewhere else in house

It is infuriating to use because it is so bad
Used mostly on wood and some carpet.

Purchased in July 2018 at Electrolux dealer for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christine S

Christine SMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrible. Pushes the dirt around instead of cleaning

published

This product can't even clean hardwood floors - would hate to try and vacuum carpet with it. Very disappointing! I previously owned a different brand of stick vacuum which lasted several years. Big mistake trying Hoover this time

Purchased in June 2018 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible - waste of time

published

Have had to replace the head unit 3 times in 9 months. Brush stops spinning. Build quality is suspect. Not particularly good a vacuuming either. The brush system gets filled with hair very quickly and it seems to push dirt about instead of vaccuming. Looking forward to throwing it out.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jessica

JessicaBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Shocking waste of time

published

I bought this about 1 year ago, after 10 months it would just switch off after 5 mins. It had been cleaned and was well taken care of. I took it back and the store sent it to be repaired. 2 weeks later they gave me a brand new one because the other one couldn’t be repaired. After 10 months! - it couldn’t be repaired. I have been using the new one about 1-2 times per week and today while vacuuming the light switched of the suction stopped, brushes in the head stopped rotating- but it was still on! I have only had this new one for about 2 months, if that! I will be asking for a refund. I will now have to go 2 weeks without a vac, it’s a waste of time. Not happy at all.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ruth B

Ruth BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Totally useless

published

Not happy. After paying $300 for this stick vacuum its suction is hopeless and just pushes the dirt around the carpet on any selection. I've emptied it, cleaned it all out in every part and it still doesnt suck properly. Taken it back to shop twice in 4 mths. A total waste of money.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified purchase

No suction at all after a month.

published

When i bought it worked okay for almost a month and now it has no suction at all. Container is so small, u have to clean it after 5 min of vacuum everytime. Hairs gets stucked in its brush so have to clean it like after every use. But now i have no use of it because no suction after a month of use like literally used it 5 times in a month.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Hoover should be called sweeper that does not suck!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lamar

LamarSouth Australia

  • 13 reviews
  • 17 likes

Very disappointed

published

Our floors are all tiled and when the cleaner was new it was great but after just 16 months it went to 2 minutes of use. I would suggest to anybody thinking of getting one to be sure of the warranty. If it doesn't last for at least 2 years then think again. This is the second Hoover stick vac' that I have bought and would not recommend to anyone.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Billyboy36

Billyboy36deewhy

  • 2 reviews

Totally useless.

published

Suction Sucks !!..useless on carpets,also the revolving brush continually jams if there is anyone will long hair in your home..very difficult to untangle, same problems to empty the dust container. really wish I had not bought this product, what a waste of money. Wish I'd bought a Dyson, or ANYTHING..

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mallymuff

mallymuffMelbourne, Vic

  • 51 reviews
  • 29 likes

Hopeless vacuum

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
mallymuff
mallymuff
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Doesn't perform.

published

Same as other review. Dirt falls out when going over uneven surfaces and when switched off. Doest clean anywhere near walls. Disappointed as I paid 299.00 from Godfreys who advertised another brand however they didnt have in stock so was sold this dud. Wouldn't recommend it at all, ineffective plus.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
cleo

cleoAdelaide

Poor performance

published

A big disappointment after using a Dyson. Poor suction, it would have been much faster to get out a broom to sweep my small laundry which has crystal cat litters on the floor. It would not suck up crystals along the cupboard. Need to hold the vacuum over the bin to switch it off as dirt & crystals fall back out of the machine when it is switched off. It's difficult to empty & re-assemble the machine.
The detachable handheld vacuum is heavy to hold, the attachments are flimsy & do not fit well. Tried to vacuum my car once and gave up.
Completely frustrated as it was not cheap.
Positive: Has a good light & long battery life and looks good.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac reviews

Questions & Answers

D.D

D.Dasked

Where can I buy the PCB for this vacuum and how much is it?

2 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi,
Unfortunately the PCB's for this machine are not available as a separate part, this comes as part of the handvac assembly.
Part Number: 14120117
Price: $59.95
This can be ordered through your nearest Godfreys store or over the phone by calling 1300 360 845.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

D.D
D.D

Rippoff....!

Gabrielle M.

Gabrielle M.asked

Why has light and brush stopped working? Hand vac still working

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Gabrielle,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your machine.
There may be a connection issue in the head, to check this, the machine will need to be taken into your nearest Godfreys store and booked in for inspection.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Raj M.

Raj M.asked

The light in my Hoover Ultra Power does not blink while charging on station,

Does the battery need changing? it is 3 years old,

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Raj,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your machine.
There may be an issues with the battery, charger or PCB, we would recommend taking the machine and charger into your nearest Godfreys store for further inspection.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

See all Hoover Ultra Power 21.6V 2-in-1 StickVac questions

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners and Handheld Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $299.00
Bin Capacity0.25 L
HEPA FilterNo
TypeCordless
Running Time 45 min
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9326491596695

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.