??!
1 photo
Hoover Ultra Performer ZL1306

Hoover Ultra Performer ZL1306

MPN: 14120097
2.5 from 33 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

2.5

33 reviews
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(14)
  • Build Quality
    2.2 (11)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (7)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (12)
Previous
Next
jennifer

jenniferPerth, WA

battery will not charge

published

like others worked well for 2 years minimal work now battery will not charge , expensive to replace
worked well very disappointed about the battery was promoted a long lasting battery

Purchased in December 2017 at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Marnz

MarnzPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very annoyed and unimpressed

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfreys for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Edritas

EdritasSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hoover Ultra Performer - 2 units gone in less of 3 years

published

I have the same problem here. First unit just worked for 3 months and had to take it back to the store. Got a replacement new unit and it lasted for 18 months Battery started to low its capacity and lasted working for 10 minutes. After a month of using it like that tye battery just didn't charge anymore.
What a waist for money. Bought it with the credit card and paid heaps more of actual price for a good that didn't last not even 2 years.

Godfreys or Hoover should have the free service to collect this death equipment and dispose it correctly instead of customer taking time and more money to drop it off.

I won't bother buying any other Hoover product. Very disappointing.

Purchased in December 2018 at Godfreys for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
3 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Edritas
Edritas

The machine only has one year warranty, it means I will need to pay for any repairs which may cost more than a new one

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi,
Unfortunately we would not be able to advise of any repair costs until the machine has been inspected.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Performer ZL1306 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Beejio

Beejio

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Shame about the battery

published

1st one worked for about 9 mnths and was changed with a replacement when stopped charging. 2nd one lasted 2 years then same outcome. Did not bother returning this time.....a 22.2v battery + 6 cells which is not user replaceable would probably cost as much to replace as a new stick vacuum - OK I've learnt a lesson here...the cleaner was OK other than battery issue... really a rating of 2.5 bad->OK

Purchased in October 2017 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
3 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Beejio
Beejio

Hi Godfrey, Thanks for reply - can you tell me what Hoover recommend to do with the old product - local BMCC council don't accept... what happened to all the other items that reached end of life in this product review - hopefully not just landfill?

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Beejio,
You can take your machine to your nearest Godfreys store. They will send it to the service centre, strip it for usable parts and then dispose of the rest properly.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Great at first. Gone through 3 units in 3 years.

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Christie N.

Christie N.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Do not buy this product

published

Terrible vacuum, we brought the model down from this stick vac only to have it die on us within the 1 year warranty so Godfreys upgraded us to this model. Worked great for about a month then started just pushing dirt, rice etc around on the floor. Works for the first 10sec of use until it gets blocked up due to the very small intake then you have to empty if you want it to have any suction. Biggest waste of money will never buy a Hoover or from ever Godfreys again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Godfreys for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

average at best

published

This stick vac worked really well for the first couple of months even on long dog and cat hair! - although there are clogging issues at times due to the small intake.
We had it repaired once during warranty as the power button was sticking.
Occasionally have had issues with the charging plate - needs cleaning to ensure a good contact.
now what lets it down however is wouldn't you know once outside of warranty battery rapidly dies.
we can now get less than 3 minutes out of the vac before it dies.
replacement batteries are not available and you must buy the entire dust buster unit instead.

i'd say save your money and buy a Dyson.. sad really i have always used the hoover brand.

Purchased at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Dee

DeeSouth West, WA

Don't buy it

published

As with many reviews below, poor design lets the product down. Clogs easily and is difficult to get the head off. Average suction, on both carpet and tiles. The battery stopped working not long after it was out of warranty.

Purchased in September 2017 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Poor quality product

published

Paid $199. Godfreys praised it extravagantly. Battery failed in less than two years. Suction performance poor on most surfaces so it was rarely used. We went back to our old handheld vac.

Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Performer ZL1306 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JSS

JSS

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of Money

published

I do not recommend buying this product at all. This vacuum lasted us approximately 4 months before it completely lost its suction. We were always vigilant in emptying the Hoover every time it filled, however, this didn’t seem to stop it from dying. We paid a fair amount of money for a highly disappointing product. We have now purchased a Dyson cordless vacuum which we are absolutely loving, the quality is so much better than Hoover.

Purchased in January 2019 at Godfrey’s Tamworth for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Karl Z.

Karl Z.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Don't waste your money

published

Poorly designed. There is a very small suction hole unlike the more expensive models with a wider spinning head. Can't handle concrete and wooden floors as well as some rugs.

Purchased in June 2018 at Godfreys for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Tantoun77

Tantoun77Melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Poor Performance and Unrealiable

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Useless on timber floors

published

Very disappointed with this "vacuum". It just pushes dirt, chips,etc around on timber floor. Works better on carpet but only average. It's only saving grace is the detachble part which is handy on leather sofa and in car.

Purchased in October 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Argus

Argus

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poorly designed.

published

Bought from Godfrey's in Nov 2018 and having used it several times since on our mainly woollen carpet floors have found it doesn't pick up the fluff etc at all well due to a restricted passage between the head and storage area. This design causes blockages very easily and therefore suction is lost. Also having to remove the quite small dirt container often is a nuisance. Cannot recommend this unit and would rate it lower if possible.

Purchased in November 2018.

Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Ads4re

Ads4reGold Coast, Qld

  • Verified purchase

Excellent unit until its NOT(after 1 year 3months)

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Performer ZL1306 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Denis L

Denis LGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Waste of money

published

Don’t be fooled by the salesperson on this product. Good to zip around the house with, but found that items were spitting out from the head instead of being sucked up, resulting in going over the same spot 100 times. Constantly need to clean the head and rollers to get minimal performance out of it. Spend a bit more money and buy something that performs better.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Skyechi

SkyechiMid North Coast, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Charging issues

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
samantha

samanthast helens park

  • 5 reviews

easy using

published

this is so light weight and excellent for me to use as im in a wheelchair, the swivel head is a great idea. love the idea i can take off the handheld piece for lounges. it is wonderful for carpet and vinyl. i dont like the idea of having to empty it so often

Date PurchasedMar 2018
colc

colcAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

DONT BOTHER

published

Purchased this three weeks ago, pathetic performance, suction is very poor, on the other hand if want a cleaner that picks up dirt and deposits it a few feet further on, this product excels at that.
I have a combination of carpet and tiles, it is equally bad on both surfaces

Date PurchasedMar 2018
NRG user

NRG userBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pretty reliable, compact unit for small areas

published

We bought this for a small apartment. The floor is a mix of carpet and vinyl and we keep it pretty clean, so we've never really put the vacuum cleaner through its paces. It does a good job of picking up most dust and dirt and the groove in the rotor at the bottom makes it easy to cut loose the hair that always gets stuck.
The dust catching container fills up pretty fast and needs to be emptied frequently but being a bagless vacuum it doesn't cost anything, its just a pain.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jenny T.

Jenny T.asked

Have I accidentally lost a part of the filter? There is always dust and fluff trapped at the tip of the clear container. When I try to empty the dust from the dust compartment that bit can not come out! There is only two black parts to the filters that attaches to the clear dust compartment, correct?

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Jenny,
We would recommend taking the machine into your nearest Godfreys store to check that all the parts are there and fitting correctly.
You can also see what parts are involved with the canister and filter in the photos via the below link.
https://www.godfreys.com.au/hoover-ultra-performer-cordless-stickvac
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Judy H

Judy Hasked

I bought an ex demo model vac and it didn't have an instruction book. I did contact the store that I purchased it from and they didn't have one there, is there any way I can get one.

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Judy,
Please contact us on 1300 360 845 and we will be happy to email through a copy of the user manual for you.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Jason M.

Jason M.asked

When I turn it on the light flashes 4 times won't start up

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.