5 photos
Hydrotherm
4.6 from 164 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (82)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (84)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (72)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (82)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.7 (83)
  • Heating Speed
    4.5 (81)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Excellent unit - does everything it claims even in Victoria

published

I use it in conjunction with PV Solar. Set the timer for 9am until 5pm andwe have never run out of water. I also set an additional timer in winter 1am to 3am (low cost electricity) to guarantee hot water for the morning shower. 3 adults and 4 teenagers with multiple sports. Pretty much 'free' to use for 9 moths of the year. Compared to solar hot water (roof top) this is hands down better, cheaper to run and most importantly never run out of water.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

383 reviews
Ad

Low running cost hot water

published

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

A fantastic product saving me heaps on my electricity bill.

published

I am not a high demand user so I cannot comment on high hot water usage. However I have monitored the water temperature and the unit's temperature control works well. I have also monitored the power usage and the unit is incredibly efficient.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grandad
GrandadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great looking system, free to run with solar and has longest warranty period

published

Purchased in December 2020 at INSTALLER from HYDROTHERM.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Tereza P.
Tereza P.South East Queensland, QLD

Amazing product, water is always hot

published

This product does everything it says it will. The hot water is very consistent and our power bills have been reduced considerably since installing this product. Great Product would definitely recommend.

Purchased in September 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Martyn
MartynSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Couldn't be happier

published

We moved from a solar system that wasn't boosting properly to this Hydrotherm and I really couldn't be happier. The unit looks good and is quiet, we immediately noticed that our hot water was hotter, the pressure was better and we no longer run out. The service was excellent from ordering through delivery. The biggest thing was the drop in our power bills, so the Hydrotherm will pay for itself eventually.

Purchased in August 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

383 reviews
Ad
Jamie
JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent Hot Water System

published

We have had no problems with the Hydrotherm system since installation about 3-4 months ago. Our demand isn't the highest but this thing doesn't skip a beat. Duvet from Hydrotherm hot water systems was super helpful and answered all of our questions. 10/10 would recommend this system.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Dan
DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

An excellent product !

published

No issues with hot water for a family of 4, no issues with fluctuations , and looking forward to compare my next electricity bill . Installation was prompt ,runs silently , and will definitely recommend the unit to friends

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Water leak issue. Irreparable...

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
ajith4u
ajith4u

How would you like me to send the details?
I have previously emailed everything through to warranty@hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au.

Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Please check your private messages for a response from us.

Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
spig
spigSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

A little noise but very efficient so far after two years

published

I’ve had the Hydrotherm now for about 2 years. My daily heating of water cost is 31 cents. Yep 31 cents. I have old fella discount rate on an off peak option. It is not as quiet as some reviewers say but I do have it close to my kitchen. However it’s not objectionable at all.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
James
JamesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Looks great, works well.

published

Just had the heatpump HWS installed a week ago so too early to comment on durability, however the unit looks great and works well. It is also pretty quiet when operating so won't upset any neighbours. The good pressure hot water is great as we have moved from an old gravity pressure system and there have been no problems with running out/water temperature etc. Very pleased and my plumber also impressed and thinks he may get one.

Purchased in February 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

It's a great system for our need.

published

We are absolutely pleased with the unit, and it provides the right heat for our usage. There is no issues with water temperature, steady and satisfying. It is a quite unit when it runs.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

383 reviews
Ad

Immediate Hot Water Bathroom 1, Kitchen 3 M away long time and Bathroom 2 forever

published

Just two in the house and Washing machine is Cold Water design.
Therefore we do not really have any experience of fluctuations or high demand.
Fluctuations have not been noticed at this time.

Purchased for $5,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Bernie
BernieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Expensive? Not as much as Solar H2O but well worth it.

published

My Hydrotherm Dynamic X8 was heavy to unload from the truck on delivery but went into position nicely, after the plumber and electrician had finished the installation the hot water has been great.
I actually replaced a Solar Hot Water system that was about to fail and would have cost me a lot more to replace so went with this heat pump and so far I'm very happy with it. We also have solar panels and get credit on our bills so saving more money.
Expensive? Not as much as Solar H2O but well worth it.

Purchased in July 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Bernie
Bernie

The system is set to work from sun up to sun down while the PV system is producing, it starts heating at 6am and then only heats water when the temperature drops while hot water is in use.

Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Great, sounds like you're all sorted. Please feel free to contact us at any time if you need.

Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Bill H.
Bill H.South East Queensland, QLD

Very pleased with this system.

published

The Hydrotherm system was installed nearly 4 months ago, it was handy having a plug on the electricity cable as it took some time to get a sparkey to hard wire the system. We have had 3-4 people in the house and the hot water has been great. The power savings have been worthwhile saving 2/3 of the power. The Company was efficient and easy to deal with.

Purchased in July 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 11

Questions & Answers

Zoe Byron
Zoe Byronasked
Hydrotherm

Just got a Dynamic X8 hot water system. Great Machine. Is it possible to set timers so it runs from 6am-8am, then later on, say 11.30pm-4pm.
That way, we have hot water in the morning ready for peak demand. But majority of heating still happens when ambient air temperatures are at their highest, later in the day.

Question 1. Is it possible to have two timer settings?
Question 2. Would this make a difference to power usage? Or are best best just leaving the settings the way they are (7am - 5pm)

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Zoe,

Great questions there, please see the following:

Q1. Yes, you can set up to three different periods with our in-built timers.

Q2. Your power usage is really dependent on how much hot water you are using. Unless you have a high hot water demand, you should be able to get away with just one timer period, between 11:30 and 16:00. This is a good period as you said, because it’s the hottest times of the day. One thing to note is that because there is little heat loss of the stored hot water, heating the 260L of hot water should be sufficient until the next day. Obviously this won’t be the case if you’ve used up the hot water.

If you need assistance with setting the timers, please give us a call on 1300 769 904 or see the following link:
https://www.hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Dynamic-X8-Setting-Timers.pdf

Kind Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

Min
Minasked
Hydrotherm

Hello,
Do you provide Hydrotherm hot water unit and installation in Sydney area?
I am living in Sydney , but what I heard is you only provide this heat pump unit in QLD.
Please let me know which company provides this unit in Sydney. Many thanks.

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi MIn,

Thanks for getting in touch. We certainly do provide heat pumps in Sydney. Please can you give us a call on 1300 769 904 or email to info@hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au with your details so we can follow this up for you.

Kind regards,
The Hydrotherm Team.

Lachy
Lachyasked
Hydrotherm

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone can tell me exactly (or even approximately) how much power the Hydrotherm pulls?
I know it must be connected to 240V mains.
But looking to run it through a solar system.

Any help is much appreciated.
Cheers

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Lachy,

The DYNAMIC/X8 draws a max of 0.9kWh, it depends on the stage of the heating cycle. In the majority of households, we'd recommend using the factory default timers of 09:00 to 17:00.

Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

See all Hydrotherm questions

Get an answer from our members and Hydrotherm representatives

Hydrotherm

Details

Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP

4.6
(115)
Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C

4.0
(6)
Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP

4.8
(5)
CategoryElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage Systems
Price (RRP) $1,495.00$1,795.00$1,795.00$1,795.00
Release dateApr 2020June 2011Mar 2012Sept 2014
Discontinuation dateMar 2020Aug 2014July 2016
Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

383 reviews
Ad