?
? !
5 photos
Hydrotherm
4.6 from 164 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (82)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (84)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (72)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (82)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.7 (83)
  • Heating Speed
    4.5 (81)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Brett Doig
Brett DoigSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews

I am really enjoying the Hydrothermal as I really enjoyed the consistency of hot water and cheeper power bill.

published

The power bill has dropped as well from my previous hot water system and the water is Always hot and I can’t complain.

The cost of it was reasonable as well.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad
Rob
RobMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

So far very happy!

published

Energy bill is down about 150 bucks per quarter. So it should pay off itself within a few years time. Works very well so far! I would recommend this unit.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Overall an energy efficient unit

published

Very noisy. Take hours to get to set temperture once you have utelized hot water.
e.g. A bath takes in excess of 3 hours. Overall seems very energy efficient. Priced well.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue Brown
Sue BrownRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Practical, efficient energy user,

published

Copes well with demand, had to adjust timer only once, Regulates water temperature well, we are very happy with the Hydrotherm’s functionality, does need an external position due to operational noise

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Paul Hamilton
Paul HamiltonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Works well...mild hum, screws rusting.

published

Works well, not sure about any improvements in power consumption as yet. Installed 6 months ago and external screws have rusted quite a lot. Not sure if this reflects the quality inside the unit. We are 200m from the beach.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
ChristineCrozier
ChristineCrozierSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Will never buy any other hot water system! Hydrotherm is the best!

published

Since September, 2014, I have had 3 Hydrotherm heat pumps installed at 3 different properties. They have outperformed two other well known brands which I will never have to use again and which I had ongoing problems with which could not be rectified, After researching, I found Hydrotherm and so glad I did - great cost savings and still working a treat. The other systems had numerous problems from the outset. Hydrotherm has not skipped a beat - perfect! When I need to replace other hot water systems, I will immediately go to Hydrotherm and recommend them without any reservations or hesitation! Cost savings in the capital outlay, the running costs and electricity savings.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad
Braj Raj Pande
Braj Raj PandeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good system

published

On economy mode hot water runs out by evening
Should have timer system to switch on and off unit according to need
We have have to run it on Non Economy mode, then continuous hot water is available
Overall very satisfied

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Kate Gleeson
Kate GleesonSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great for our family

published

We are a family of four and never run out of hot water. The system is working well with our solar to keep our home as energy efficient as possible.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Martin P.
Martin P.South East Queensland, QLD

Nice product... But

published

The plastic lugs that make the insulation hidden within the tank popped out, and it doesn't look great. I suspect this would have a simple solution, but I think it spoils an otherwise good product thus far. Still need yet to see if it is more efficient than off peak meter, or if it can be used on that meter. That information would be good to know based on tests.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Elaine
ElaineSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Very reliable system

published

Have not had any problems with this heater , and we do not have solar so it does not cost a lot to run.
Only thing I found it is a bit loud when it comes on at night.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Great system

published

We have never had any issues with this system or shortage of hot water. Looks great too. This was by far the best value for money we could find. Highly recommend it.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Scottsworld
ScottsworldSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews

Runs on the smell of an oily rag

published

Cannot believe how good this hot water system turned out to be. In the first quarter after (winter) installation my electricity bill went down by over $250. Household of 4 adults.
I don’t have solar power, just full-tariff regular QLD electricity. I also haven’t bothered to fiddle with settings yet to make it only run in daytime (when more heat is in air). Tweaking winter run times would probably cost me even less!?
Noise of fan running isn’t as loud as people made out. Fist few nights I could faintly notice it. Now, I never do.

Only downside is how expensive tradies are - plumber to install. Around $1300.

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad
joe man
joe manSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Efficient hot water system Thornlands QLD

published

Cheap Hot Water

published
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Happy with the product

published

Unit works well and temperature doesnt fluctuwaite. Only complaint i have is noise and the time it takes to get up to temperature. The salesman was informative and reliable regarding delivery time

1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 4 of 11

Questions & Answers

Zoe Byron
Zoe Byronasked
Hydrotherm

Just got a Dynamic X8 hot water system. Great Machine. Is it possible to set timers so it runs from 6am-8am, then later on, say 11.30pm-4pm.
That way, we have hot water in the morning ready for peak demand. But majority of heating still happens when ambient air temperatures are at their highest, later in the day.

Question 1. Is it possible to have two timer settings?
Question 2. Would this make a difference to power usage? Or are best best just leaving the settings the way they are (7am - 5pm)

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Zoe,

Great questions there, please see the following:

Q1. Yes, you can set up to three different periods with our in-built timers.

Q2. Your power usage is really dependent on how much hot water you are using. Unless you have a high hot water demand, you should be able to get away with just one timer period, between 11:30 and 16:00. This is a good period as you said, because it’s the hottest times of the day. One thing to note is that because there is little heat loss of the stored hot water, heating the 260L of hot water should be sufficient until the next day. Obviously this won’t be the case if you’ve used up the hot water.

If you need assistance with setting the timers, please give us a call on 1300 769 904 or see the following link:
https://www.hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Dynamic-X8-Setting-Timers.pdf

Kind Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

Min
Minasked
Hydrotherm

Hello,
Do you provide Hydrotherm hot water unit and installation in Sydney area?
I am living in Sydney , but what I heard is you only provide this heat pump unit in QLD.
Please let me know which company provides this unit in Sydney. Many thanks.

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi MIn,

Thanks for getting in touch. We certainly do provide heat pumps in Sydney. Please can you give us a call on 1300 769 904 or email to info@hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au with your details so we can follow this up for you.

Kind regards,
The Hydrotherm Team.

Lachy
Lachyasked
Hydrotherm

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone can tell me exactly (or even approximately) how much power the Hydrotherm pulls?
I know it must be connected to 240V mains.
But looking to run it through a solar system.

Any help is much appreciated.
Cheers

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Lachy,

The DYNAMIC/X8 draws a max of 0.9kWh, it depends on the stage of the heating cycle. In the majority of households, we'd recommend using the factory default timers of 09:00 to 17:00.

Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

See all Hydrotherm questions

Get an answer from our members and Hydrotherm representatives

Hydrotherm

Details

Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP

4.6
(115)
Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C

4.0
(6)
Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP

4.8
(5)
CategoryElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage Systems
Price (RRP) $1,495.00$1,795.00$1,795.00$1,795.00
Release dateApr 2020June 2011Mar 2012Sept 2014
Discontinuation dateMar 2020Aug 2014July 2016
Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad