?
? !

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (15)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.5 (15)
  • Heating Speed
    3.9 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Seamless transition to a much more efficient hot water service. Seems to be quality

published

Has been stable temperature.
Plumber installed a regulator on our mains which has assisted.
Now can use our solar more effectively with the timer.
Haven’t run out of hot water yet- perfect

Purchased in March 2021 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad
Grandad
GrandadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great looking system, free to run with solar and has longest warranty period

published

Purchased in December 2020 at INSTALLER from HYDROTHERM.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
James
JamesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Looks great, works well.

published

Just had the heatpump HWS installed a week ago so too early to comment on durability, however the unit looks great and works well. It is also pretty quiet when operating so won't upset any neighbours. The good pressure hot water is great as we have moved from an old gravity pressure system and there have been no problems with running out/water temperature etc. Very pleased and my plumber also impressed and thinks he may get one.

Purchased in February 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

the is ok, bit expensive

published

instructions for settings could be a lot clearer and more informative, installer left it to me to set up.He left it on auto.bottom valve leaks all the time otherwise I'm happy ,only 2 of us

Purchased in July 2020 at plumber.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Overall an energy efficient unit

published

Very noisy. Take hours to get to set temperture once you have utelized hot water.
e.g. A bath takes in excess of 3 hours. Overall seems very energy efficient. Priced well.

Purchased in October 2019 for $1,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Braj Raj Pande
Braj Raj PandeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good system

published

On economy mode hot water runs out by evening
Should have timer system to switch on and off unit according to need
We have have to run it on Non Economy mode, then continuous hot water is available
Overall very satisfied

Purchased in May 2019 at Hydrotherm for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad
Martin P.
Martin P.South East Queensland, QLD

Nice product... But

published

The plastic lugs that make the insulation hidden within the tank popped out, and it doesn't look great. I suspect this would have a simple solution, but I think it spoils an otherwise good product thus far. Still need yet to see if it is more efficient than off peak meter, or if it can be used on that meter. That information would be good to know based on tests.

Purchased in August 2019 at Plumber for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Elaine
ElaineSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Very reliable system

published

Have not had any problems with this heater , and we do not have solar so it does not cost a lot to run.
Only thing I found it is a bit loud when it comes on at night.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Happy with the product

published

Unit works well and temperature doesnt fluctuwaite. Only complaint i have is noise and the time it takes to get up to temperature. The salesman was informative and reliable regarding delivery time

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Happy Hydrotherm customer!

published

Our house came with a Hydrotherm Heat Pump when we purchased it, which lasted many years. We had the Dynamic system installed in late June and this is our bill for the 3 months since. Huge reduction of 33% less than same time last year and is clearly reducing energy consumption as the weather is heating up. This is great proof of Hydrotherms efficiency. The larger 275L tank is suitable for our family of 4 and we havent had any issues with with hot water supply or temperatures during peak usage times. If it was a little less noisy during pump times it would be a 5 star rating.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
webmate
webmate
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

I am impressed

published

The HydroTherm unit successfully reduced our power bills by a significant margin (despite having teenage children). We have had the system for 6 years and in that time there have been three issues requiring repair. However they were quickly handled by HydroTherm under warranty. This week we had another issue (we are out of warranty). While it took HydroTherm a week to respond (the system was working just leaking water) but they came out, repaired the system and performed a service free of charge. Very pleased with their support.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Marty
MartyPort Macquarie
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Singing in the shower Hydrotherm

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad
Ken Nicholls
Ken NichollsCentral Queensland, QLD

Fit for purpose.

published

The old hot water system died and had to be replaced and moved to the outside. The unit has been reliable and has been saving us money on the Electricity bill. We have 2 people normally and up to 8 with visitors - no problem with temp so far.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Chris Doig
Chris DoigCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Efficient and effective if a bit noisy

published

The unit has worked very well for the past five months in both hot and very cold conditions - down to zero deg. Our only reservation is that if all else inside and outside is quiet, the unit is a more audible than we expected.

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Helen Hurwood
Helen HurwoodGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Still getting use to it

published

Not sure of the benefits of daytime heating with 8 solar panels in the Victorian winter! Also with occasional high demand and how to adjust things if it's not on automatic.

Purchased in February 2019 at on line.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Hydrotherm reviews

Questions & Answers

Zoe Byron
Zoe Byronasked
Hydrotherm

Just got a Dynamic X8 hot water system. Great Machine. Is it possible to set timers so it runs from 6am-8am, then later on, say 11.30pm-4pm.
That way, we have hot water in the morning ready for peak demand. But majority of heating still happens when ambient air temperatures are at their highest, later in the day.

Question 1. Is it possible to have two timer settings?
Question 2. Would this make a difference to power usage? Or are best best just leaving the settings the way they are (7am - 5pm)

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Zoe,

Great questions there, please see the following:

Q1. Yes, you can set up to three different periods with our in-built timers.

Q2. Your power usage is really dependent on how much hot water you are using. Unless you have a high hot water demand, you should be able to get away with just one timer period, between 11:30 and 16:00. This is a good period as you said, because it’s the hottest times of the day. One thing to note is that because there is little heat loss of the stored hot water, heating the 260L of hot water should be sufficient until the next day. Obviously this won’t be the case if you’ve used up the hot water.

If you need assistance with setting the timers, please give us a call on 1300 769 904 or see the following link:
https://www.hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Dynamic-X8-Setting-Timers.pdf

Kind Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

Min
Minasked
Hydrotherm

Hello,
Do you provide Hydrotherm hot water unit and installation in Sydney area?
I am living in Sydney , but what I heard is you only provide this heat pump unit in QLD.
Please let me know which company provides this unit in Sydney. Many thanks.

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi MIn,

Thanks for getting in touch. We certainly do provide heat pumps in Sydney. Please can you give us a call on 1300 769 904 or email to info@hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au with your details so we can follow this up for you.

Kind regards,
The Hydrotherm Team.

Lachy
Lachyasked
Hydrotherm

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone can tell me exactly (or even approximately) how much power the Hydrotherm pulls?
I know it must be connected to 240V mains.
But looking to run it through a solar system.

Any help is much appreciated.
Cheers

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Lachy,

The DYNAMIC/X8 draws a max of 0.9kWh, it depends on the stage of the heating cycle. In the majority of households, we'd recommend using the factory default timers of 09:00 to 17:00.

Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

See all Hydrotherm questions

Get an answer from our members and Hydrotherm representatives

Hydrotherm

Details

Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP

4.6
(115)
Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C

4.0
(6)
Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP

4.8
(5)
CategoryElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage Systems
Price (RRP) $1,495.00$1,795.00$1,795.00$1,795.00
Release dateApr 2020June 2011Mar 2012Sept 2014
Discontinuation dateMar 2020Aug 2014July 2016
Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

380 reviews
Ad