Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (62)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (64)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (55)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (61)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.9 (62)
  • Heating Speed
    4.7 (61)
Previous
Next

This is a excellent product, our family bought 3 units in two month all units are working very good.

published

We choice Hydrotherm Dynamic/X8 because it can help us safe our electricity bill a lot once we changed it.
Dynamic/X8 is the lowest price within so many other heat pump type hot water systems we had checked in the market and it is so nice with a stanless steel cover. It is user friendy to control with the detail instructions together with their staff.

Purchased in May 2021 at Aquatech Heat Pumps for $2,445.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
Giselle
GiselleSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent-lots and lots of beautiful hot water!!

published

We never run out of hot water. As a family of five, including the teenage boys and sometimes their girlfriends.. We always have enough, and this is even after a day of laundry and the the dishwasher being run!

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Really happy with it so far!

published

Works just as they said it would and we have never had any issues with running out of hot water. The metal grill at the top could be a bit more solid as we had to do some work above it and it got easily dented.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul L.
Paul L.Cooranbong
  • 2 reviews

Free hot water!

published

This unit, coupled with our rooftop solar power, effectively gives us free hot water.
Our home has three adults who typically shower twice daily and we have never run out of hot water. We are very happy with this unit.

Purchased in October 2020 for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Alastair I.
Alastair I.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Awesome upgrade

published

After looking into all the energy efficiency upgrades I could make to my home, replacing our 15 year old electric resistive unit with a Hydrotherm heat pump was a no brainer. I was able to take advantage of state and federal rebates and paid under $800 to have the new system installed. I've set it up to heat off of my solar at 9am but the water is still hot earlier in the morning.

We're very happy with the unit, it's going to save us a lot on energy bills and we're taking advantage of the power my solar is generating. I've already been asking friends if they have old electric resistive units that could be upgraded, as it's a great time to take advantage of these rebates and install a much more energy efficient hot water unit.

Purchased in December 2020 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

works great

published

We haven't run out of hot water yet. have programed the built in timer so the unit only woks reheating water during the day due to we have solar power and save on running costs.

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Brian

Thanks for the feedback. Great to hear you have optimised the timers for your Solar PV. You should see significant reduction in your hot water costs over the coming years.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad

No more gas.

published

Very happy to have an efficient heat pump electric hot water system for our family of five. No more gas in our Melbourne home and solar pv will be next on our list of improvements.

Purchased in October 2020 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Best investment ever

published

This is a very efficient and quiet unit that easily copes with our above average usage. We effectively get all our hot water for free now due to having solar panels (6KW) and this unit.

I was more than impressed with the quality and build of the HWS as were my neighbours' and friends.

Purchased in August 2020 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Victoria Aitken
Victoria AitkenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great system, easy to install & easy to use.

published

Very easy to use, we're a family of six, so require a lot of hot water.
We've needed to make some adjustments along the way to the temperature control & timer.
This has been very easy to adjust.
Hydrotherm have been a great company to deal with & offer great after sales service.
Very happy!

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Impressive

published

Perfect replacement system for our family of five. Always enough water. Super quiet and efficient. The digital temperature control makes adjusting the temperature very simple. Ordering was easy and delivery to regional SA was taken care of.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Jon
Jon
  • 2 reviews

So good I got 2!

published

Such a great heat pump I now have them on two properties. I have it on a timer in order to use the power from my solar system and I now no longer get any electricity bill. The first unit is now 4 years old and still works like new

Purchased in January 2018 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Paul C.
Paul C.South-East, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy, efficient and reliable

published

Very easy to set up and ever since it’s commissioned, it has been absolutely efficiently heating water to the the specified temperature and reliably supplying hot water for a small family.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
Liz G
Liz GTweed Heads
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Performance top marks!

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Hydrotherm .

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Liz G
Liz G
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Sounds as though you’ve got things sorted! If you do need assistance with setting any of the timers, please give us a call on 1300 769 904. Once again, appreciate the feedback.

This system has saved us $100's over the past few months!

published

The unit has provided us with the hot water needs required for a family of four.
We are delighted with the performance of this unit. It is a true energy saver.

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Excellent unit - does everything it claims even in Victoria

published

I use it in conjunction with PV Solar. Set the timer for 9am until 5pm andwe have never run out of water. I also set an additional timer in winter 1am to 3am (low cost electricity) to guarantee hot water for the morning shower. 3 adults and 4 teenagers with multiple sports. Pretty much 'free' to use for 9 moths of the year. Compared to solar hot water (roof top) this is hands down better, cheaper to run and most importantly never run out of water.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Hydrotherm

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Hydrotherm compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 9
See all Hydrotherm reviews

Questions & Answers

Zoe Byron
Zoe Byronasked
Hydrotherm

Just got a Dynamic X8 hot water system. Great Machine. Is it possible to set timers so it runs from 6am-8am, then later on, say 11.30pm-4pm.
That way, we have hot water in the morning ready for peak demand. But majority of heating still happens when ambient air temperatures are at their highest, later in the day.

Question 1. Is it possible to have two timer settings?
Question 2. Would this make a difference to power usage? Or are best best just leaving the settings the way they are (7am - 5pm)

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Zoe,

Great questions there, please see the following:

Q1. Yes, you can set up to three different periods with our in-built timers.

Q2. Your power usage is really dependent on how much hot water you are using. Unless you have a high hot water demand, you should be able to get away with just one timer period, between 11:30 and 16:00. This is a good period as you said, because it’s the hottest times of the day. One thing to note is that because there is little heat loss of the stored hot water, heating the 260L of hot water should be sufficient until the next day. Obviously this won’t be the case if you’ve used up the hot water.

If you need assistance with setting the timers, please give us a call on 1300 769 904 or see the following link:
https://www.hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Dynamic-X8-Setting-Timers.pdf

Kind Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

Min
Minasked
Hydrotherm

Hello,
Do you provide Hydrotherm hot water unit and installation in Sydney area?
I am living in Sydney , but what I heard is you only provide this heat pump unit in QLD.
Please let me know which company provides this unit in Sydney. Many thanks.

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi MIn,

Thanks for getting in touch. We certainly do provide heat pumps in Sydney. Please can you give us a call on 1300 769 904 or email to info@hydrothermhotwatersystems.com.au with your details so we can follow this up for you.

Kind regards,
The Hydrotherm Team.

Lachy
Lachyasked
Hydrotherm

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone can tell me exactly (or even approximately) how much power the Hydrotherm pulls?
I know it must be connected to 240V mains.
But looking to run it through a solar system.

Any help is much appreciated.
Cheers

1 answer
Hydrotherm
HydrothermHydrotherm

Hi Lachy,

The DYNAMIC/X8 draws a max of 0.9kWh, it depends on the stage of the heating cycle. In the majority of households, we'd recommend using the factory default timers of 09:00 to 17:00.

Regards,
The Hydrotherm Team

See all Hydrotherm questions

Get an answer from our members and Hydrotherm representatives

Hydrotherm

Details

Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Dynamic-SS/X8/OP

4.6
(115)
Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Volt-SS/X6/C

4.0
(6)
Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP
  • Discontinued

Hydrotherm Rapid-SS/X4/OP

4.8
(5)
CategoryElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage Systems
Price (RRP) $1,495.00$1,795.00$1,795.00$1,795.00
Release dateApr 2020June 2011Mar 2012Sept 2014
Discontinuation dateMar 2020Aug 2014July 2016
Compare all 4 Hydrotherm
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad