?
? !
22 photos
Hyundai Elantra

Hyundai Elantra

MD, XD, HD, etc...
4.2 from 100 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
  • Braking
    3.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (3)
  • Handling
    3.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not a reliable car

published

I bought my Hyundai Elantra in 2017 and used it for 2 years. It broke down twice in that time period. One with fuel injection issue and other with engine coolant leakage. Both the time it had to be in service centre for almost 2 weeks. I had to sell it as it was not reliable to my expectation.

Loved the features in Elantra, auto headlights, auto wiper and Apple CarPlay.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2017 for $30,150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 40 reviews
  • 20 likes

Almost perfect car let down by head restraint

published

I test drove this car overnight, but when I got it home, I never took it out as the head restraint had given me a migraine. It slants forward in a way that is very uncomfortable and it pushes your head forward too much. I loved everything else about the car. That one simple thing - uncomfortable head restraint - meant I wouldn't buy it as why would I willingly by a car that caused me pain?

The head restraint needs to be able to move back. It thrust my head down and made me sit in a hunched way.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob

RobDarling Downs, QLD

Crankshaft Sensor Malfunction

published

My 2013 Elantra has been diagnosed with a failed Crankshaft Sensor and faulty ESC Module, It only just out of warranty and Hyundai refuse to do anything about it. Also its under Dealer Warranty but they wont cover it under their warranty. No more Hyundai for me. My daughter has an i30 and is also unhappy.

Purchased in October 2015 at Zooper Cars, Toowoomba for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Hyundai Elantra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sh1984

Sh1984South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mundane small car for the masses

published

Purchased in February 2016 for $21,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not a bad car but service will drive you nuts. The radio is garbage

published
BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Truman York

Truman YorkHobart, TAS

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unreliable

published

11/11/2014 purchased with 153,633 k’s
7/3/2015 needs a new radiator. $380.00
17/11/2015 (173,192 k’s) Handbrake cable needs replacing $226.81
25/8/2016 Rocker cover gasket needs replacing $163.85
23/3/2017 Needs another radiator $340.00
Sold vehicle in April 2017 approx 187,000 k’s

Top of radiator is plastic and it is crimped to the metal radiator core. Radiator heats up and cools down and after a while plastic top can separate from core and allow coolant to run out.
Performance was good and fuel wise it was cheap to run.

BodySedan
BadgeGLS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suhail Anu

Suhail AnuSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

descent car

published

needs repairs from time to time, although has been a good car .. space seems to be less at the back boot is big and nice but the blue tooth dies very often twice replaced.. :( that was painful...three times replaced is too much broken now I have decided not pay any more on that.. as they told 150 for defect detection...

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen

KarenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Some finishing and comfort issues

published
BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eli

EliSydney

  • 8 reviews

Not powerful engine

published

I am not satisfied with the performance. The engine is not as powerful as what should be. It's very noisy when you want to accelerate however, In terms of Physical Appearance, I could say , It could be in luxury and beautiful cars category. 5 years Manufactory warranty is another positive thing about this car

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Hyundai Elantra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Gets the job done automatically with less financial shock.

published

10000Ks . Plusses; Standard unleaded.Very comfortable seats.acceptable highway performance with auto transmission, fuel consumption OK,Good interior space up front.big boot terrific,(but a long reach to the back).Looks very sporty in white (she loves its swoopy lines..)Faults;-Sun makes legs hot through very angled front window,even with air conditioning.Air conditioner noisy.Suspension/ride could be better. Better tyres than the hankooks would be nice.Full size spare tyre should be easier to put air into,(valve on boot bottom).Boot cover just bare minimum .Average interior hard plastic Appearance , but easy to wash.So, good value for not big money , $21000.

Engine Size1,8 litre.
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lio

LioAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2010 Elantra - Good initially, get rid of it after 4 years

published
Engine Size1.8
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sasha_Randall

Sasha_RandallAU

  • 3 reviews

Has given us troubles

published

We have had this car for over a year that we bought second hand. We travelled from brisbane to melbourne which took 22 hrs over 2 days and it got us here with no problems or difficulties however have since had mechanical problems which have been expensive to repair and are close to spending more on repairs than we paid for the car. However we do still like it as it is our only car and gets my husband to work every day and me to work every night
Family car
Expensive, ongoing problems

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sag46

sag46Australia

OK

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
b_b

b_b

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK

published

Love the Car, my first car and its fantastic!!
Quiet, love the dashboard lights
Loses power when you turn the aircon on.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Hyundai Elantra reviews

Questions & Answers

Cooranite

Cooraniteasked

AD.2 (Sedan) Sport Premium DCT (2018-2021)

There are three colors available for the screen background. How do I find the appropriate control screen to do this. I would like to change color just for the fun of it.

No answers
Janelle E

Janelle Easked

Elantra

Hi,

I'm looking at getting another car and have narrowed it down to an Elantra. Could anyone please tell me if there is much of a difference between a 2014 Hyundai Elantra SE Auto and a 2015 Hyundai Elantra Elite Auto?

Thanks so much
Janelle

No answers
Mark C

Mark Casked

Elantra XD (2000-2006)

Hi I really am happy with this 04 elantra 2hvt. I have a need to replace the pollen ac filter. Any tips help in taking the glove box out? And advice? Bushfires here in NSW Australia. Thanks Mark

No answers
See all Hyundai Elantra questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Elantra

Details

Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $25,990$21,490$23,790$28,990
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm150kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque192Nm @ 4700rpm192Nm @ 4700rpm192Nm @ 4700rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2018Feb 2018Feb 2018Feb 2018
Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.