?
? !
22 photos
Hyundai Elantra

Hyundai Elantra

MD, XD, HD, etc...
4.2 from 100 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Sarah

SarahCentral West, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Cheap But Very Reliable

published

Four years ago, I found myself sick with recently-diagnosed chronic leukaemia and unable to work. As an added whammy, my Astra died and I had to find a reliable and cheap car ASAP. My 2004 Hyundai Elantra hasnt skipped a beat. Gets me from A to B, very fuel efficient and (touch wood) no major issues in that tiime. For an older model, it has been more than worth what I paid...

Purchased in December 2016 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Deep

DeepMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car with a decent price tag

published

I have used this car for over 5 years now. You will love the power steering and is still better than many new cars in the current market. Both exterior and the interiors stand-out. Never had any issues apart from wear and tear for the first 5 years. Cruise control seems to be a common issue with these models as it ages.

Purchased in July 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I love it

published

I love my Hyundai. I dive it every day. Only thing I’d say it it’s not what I’d call a family car. I have a baby seat in the middle and it’s impossible to get the other two rear seatbelts done up. Had to buy extender straps. Also noisy on start up. For about the first 10 mins it taps loudly. Like the oil is not circulating properly. The dealer assured me this is “ normal” and everything is fine. Beautiful to drive tho and smooth. Good fuel economy. Don’t be fooled by “free” paint protection. I have to pay every year to have it touched up to maintain warranty.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Hyundai Elantra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angela H

Angela H

  • 3 reviews

Works okay

published

We bought this car in Year 2016. It is easy to drive on the highway and city. We love this car’s body shape and leather seats, but the seats are very hot in the summer season if I park the car without shades. It’s radio signal and Bluetooth speaker quality are terrible. More than 50% of time, another person cannot hear my voice. Hyundai could not probably solve the problems.

BodySedan
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GMAN

GMAN

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Cheap but good

published

Bought as a cheap run-around car. Although it is ageing the trim, carpets, engine, seats are all like new. No engine faults at all and very reliable. Dash is cracking though, due to heat and it has/had some electrical issues such as the central locking and interior lighting failing but I'm not concerned about these as long as the reliability is there.

BodySedan
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alfreddo

AlfreddoHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A cheap, small car, with few problems and good air con.

published

Handles well,and is easy on the pocket, do hear some tyre noise.
When moving from stop say at roundabout it is not as smooth as I would like. The interior is well fitted, but having lower back problem, I find it hard to get out, especially in a parking area where door can't be fully opened.
I have had a few problems in the early days, one being after putting my shopping in the boot on an extremely hot day, the car wouldn't start. Called road service, but they thought I was in N.T. and didn't dispatch to my locality.
On taking the car to the dealer, they couldn't find anything wrong. Then in the winter there was black smoke from the exhaust, again dealer couldn't find any problem.

BodySedan
BadgeSE
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Culprit

CulpritGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bang for Buck the Elantra Elite is Great Value

published
BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andy

AndyAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car , hard to fault

published

I have owned my Elantra since new ( bought in 2012) and the only problem I've had is brakes grinding under very hard braking which went away after changing pads to Bendix, I changed the original 15 inch wheels to 17 inch alloys which really improved the handling, overall very impressed

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
alyssa

alyssaPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great FamilyCar

published

The driving experience is great but the engine isn't as powerful as it should be. This makes driving up hills quite difficult at times, large ones especially. The car isn't that noise but I haven't had it for long so it may be. The steering wheel at times can jerk a little as well. These are all little things after all with overall the driving experience being okay to great. The interior is very slick, there's lots of leg room for me and I'm quite tall. The back seats also provide lots of room which is why this car is great for families. Lastly, it's very cheap to run and can stand the test of time.

BodySedan
BadgeFX
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Hyundai Elantra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin

MartinPerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Spacious and efficient

published

Wanted a larger car than our little hatch for a family of four but without the gas guzzling reputation of the larger sedans. The Elantra has plenty of space, a very large boot and is kind at the bowser. It's comfortable, quiet and styling is great. The sun roof stopped working though that may be more to do with the kids playing with it. A good all round car for those who want space in a mid-sized car.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter A Smith

Peter A SmithGoonellabah 2480 NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car to drive but has a couple of faults.

published

Very smooth car to drive and to be a passenger.It has a couple of faults with the first being, my wife is about 5ft 2inches and when she is driving she can't see the front bonnet so if she has to park it is hard for her to judge any vehicle in front of her. The other fault is it has a terrible radio to pick up stations and hear them. We can't listen to our local station if we are more than 30 minutes away.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

AlexVictoria, 3977

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Car

published

I purchased a 2015 MD3 Hyundai Elantra Premium.
The car is great and handles well particularly cornering when steering is set to sport mode. Flex steer is a great feature!
Car is roomy for a small sized sedan and the boot space is massive!
The car looks the part, drives well and has a great amount of features. For a 1.8 engine it goes pretty good and overtaking on the freeway is effortless for the car of its class. It would be good to see a higher spec engine model but never the less it's a great car.
Full size alloy spare included, non of this space saver or crappy tool kit.

BodySedan
BadgePremium
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kait

KaitMelbourne

  • 22 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Family Car

published
BodySedan
BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob C

Rob C

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hyundai catching up

published
BodySedan
BadgeActive
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mcmonte

mcmonteTasmania, 7248

  • 22 reviews
  • 35 likes

Better than expected

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Hyundai Elantra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love it!

published

My parents bought the car in 2004, brand new. Since then, it's done 90,000 km with out a single fault. Since then I have learnt to drive in it (Manual) and it has been passed to me. Surprisingly punchy, with decent power coming from the 2.0L engine.
Honestly, I couldn't survive without it.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
woodunn

woodunnSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

So far so good

published

Bought with 120,000KMs on the clock. Had no issues. Great engine reasonable economy. Had a sluggish engine when purchased but found the timing belt was out by a tooth when it was changed (before I bought it) which was fixed under warranty The only complaint is the height of the clutch bite point and how light the clutch pedal is. There is no feel which takes some getting used to but a great little car
Roomy, reasonablty built
clutch action took some getting used to

Engine Size2.0 HVVT
Transmissionmanual
BadgeFX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great car, surprising power and good economy.

published
Engine Size2.0 HVT
TransmissionManual
BadgeFX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fired up

Fired upMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

2011 Elantra great before fire

published
2 comments
Mihasaurus
Mihasaurus

So this was a hotted up car !!

Fired up
Fired up

No help from Hyundai when it burst into flames.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Wishing I Still Had Her.

published
Engine Size2 litre
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai Elantra reviews

Questions & Answers

Cooranite

Cooraniteasked

AD.2 (Sedan) Sport Premium DCT (2018-2021)

There are three colors available for the screen background. How do I find the appropriate control screen to do this. I would like to change color just for the fun of it.

No answers
Janelle E

Janelle Easked

Elantra

Hi,

I'm looking at getting another car and have narrowed it down to an Elantra. Could anyone please tell me if there is much of a difference between a 2014 Hyundai Elantra SE Auto and a 2015 Hyundai Elantra Elite Auto?

Thanks so much
Janelle

No answers
Mark C

Mark Casked

Elantra XD (2000-2006)

Hi I really am happy with this 04 elantra 2hvt. I have a need to replace the pollen ac filter. Any tips help in taking the glove box out? And advice? Bushfires here in NSW Australia. Thanks Mark

No answers
See all Hyundai Elantra questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Elantra

Details

Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $25,990$21,490$23,790$28,990
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm150kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque192Nm @ 4700rpm192Nm @ 4700rpm192Nm @ 4700rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2018Feb 2018Feb 2018Feb 2018
Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.