3 photos
Hyundai Excel X3

Hyundai Excel X3 (1995-2000)

4.0 from 37 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Hyundai Owner
Hyundai OwnerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worthy, Curvy Shape, Cheap, Economical & Iconic But Not Without Their Faults.

published

Purchased for $1,000.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob Smith
Bob Smithcentral coast nsw
  • 3 reviews

great little get about car

published

Very great little car, basic transport and very handy.

Hyundais engines are very reliable and good on fuel. The only time I have seen people have problems they neglected basic maintenance.

If you are in need of a basic get around car this is a great choice for the budget concious.

BodyHatch
BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alibongo
AlibongoBrisbane

Best pile of cr@p ever.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex
AlexAdelaide
  • 8 reviews

Excellent small car

published

Super cheap to run, $40 to fill up the tank. Has enough power to navigate around town, overtake safely etc.
Never had any reliability problems and is at 220k km.
Used to carry heavy loads, flat tow cars and never complained. Won't find another car as capable or as reliable at the price these are being offered.

BodyHatch
BadgeSprint Twin Cam
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Excel X3 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
astrogen
astrogenBrisbane
  • 2 reviews

Great little car and inexpensive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTwin Cam both models
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Solid little beast and cheap as chips

published

I have had excellent service out of manual excel -purchased 8 years ago and it ticks along just fine.
It has never had but the minimum of servicing and apart from a dodgy window mechanism -driver's side-
has never failed.
Plenty of power from a gutsy little motor and lots of boot space.

BodySedan
BadgeLS
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

great car at a great price

published

I have a 1995 excel x3 it has done 330000 kilometers with original motor still going strong the handling is great it has a pokie motor, cheap on fuel and insurance i would recommend one to anyone, fantastic car, i would buy another one in a heart beat, they are great learner cars easy to drive quick little motors, i chipped mine and added induction and exhaust upgraded combined with 98 octane and it keeps up with a vtec all day

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Peter G
Peter G
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap and reliable

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSprint
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ross D
Ross DSalisbury Heights
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

I had my 1996 Hyundai Excel for 17 years

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSprint
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 1998
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Excel X3 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

ive got the 95 exel 5 door

published

The only problems ive had are normal ware and tare have the auto it generally runs awesome never had problems with gearbox hard to work on for home mechanic but generally a greay little car yes the window regulator stuffs up but simple to fix the door latches break but 30 buks get new one outside ones but hey its an old car they run well cheep on gas spare parts are regularly avaliable but check ive buying one check cv joints they dam expencive

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Franksy90
Franksy90Newcastle Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Excellent first car. I'd had my excel for 2 years before I actually got my license. It sat in the driveway never being moved only had the engine turned on roughly once a month. Was still perfectly fine when I started driving it every day. It's a fantastic car never had any major problems only had a broken piece of my break which cost only $4 so I wasn't worried. Back seat is just large enough for a baby seat. Therefore lots of room and a large boot. Perfect first car.
Reliable.

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pinutzi92
pinutzi92sydney

cannot complain:)

published

i absolutely adore my excel:)
i have a 1999 excel twin cam sprint , manual drive:) it is very economical e.g $50 to fill my tank with Premium 98 octane fuel.
parts aren't very expensive,
very very reliable, iv had mine for 4 years and (fingers crossed) has not left me stranded,
its got a very zippy engine and quite quick for a small engine:) especially taking off at the lights,

a fantastic first time car, very easy to learn in, would recommend it to anyone and everyone :)
easy drive, non expensive, quick for a small car

BadgeSprint Twin Cam
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Excel X3 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pecky
PeckyWarrawong

Very good car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Keep on stalling while driving

published

My daughter bought her first car Hyundai Excel Sprint about 8 mths ago and since about 5 mths ago, its started to stall while you driving, at traffic light etc. Waited for about 15 mins to start again, changed crank sensor, coil pack and still having problem. We are at our wits end. She had enough of it and bought new Suzuki Swift.
easy to park
keeping on stalling, breaking down, things fall apart

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great car

published
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
BadgeSprint Twin Cam
Happy Owner
Happy Owner
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Hyundai Excel reviews

Questions & Answers

michael g
michael gasked
Excel X3 (1995-2000)

have replaced roters/ capliers master cylinder back brake shoes drumes and cylinders. the systerm is air free been bled several times. when the peddle is pumped up it is nice nice and hard. the problem is when you start the car the peddle goes soft it doesent come back hard .their isnt any leaks.

No answers
Kym
Kymasked
Excel X3 (1995-2000)

Hi when my interior of my car heats up from the sun.my left side indictors stop working instead my temperature gauge goes up and down.then I'm not sure iff car is over heating or not.

No answers
Tony
Tonyasked
Excel X3 (1995-2000)

I've got a 98 x3 single can motor and I got a double ohc power steering set up but it doesn't seem to be able to be bolted to the single can in the same spot there's no casting holes for one except at the back of the block lower down. Did single cam motors ever have power steering?

No answers
See all Hyundai Excel X3 (1995-2000) questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Hyundai Excel X3 (1995-2000)

Details

Compare both Hyundai Excel
CategoryHatchbacks
Starting Price $18,748.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels13" Steel
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque134nNm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Release dateJan 1995
Discontinuation dateDec 2000
Compare both Hyundai Excel

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.